We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
McKinley Chalet Resort(McKinley Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Denali Bluffs Hotel(McKinley Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Perch Resort(McKinley Village)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grande Denali Lodge(McKinley Village)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Denali Park Village(Denali National Park and Preserve)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,638)
Filter reviews
1,638 results
Traveller rating
385
580
383
184
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
580
383
184
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking salmonacross the streetland tourprincess cruise linesthe riverlynx pizzabase campdinner theateron sitealaskan cruisebar and grillnational parkpizza placesouvenir shopstour deskmain buildingbeautiful scenery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,001 - 1,006 of 1,638 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Often, disappointment comes from expectations not being met, so realize before you go that this is a wilderness lodge, not a fancy chain hotel. Its location right at the entrance to Denali National Park is fantastic. There is so much to see and do that a lodge in this area becomes a place to crash at night and we were very happy with the accommodations that allowed us to do just that. The property is a bit spread out but mostly flat and not difficult to get around. The surrounding mountains are beautiful. There is a strip center across the street if you just have to have a Subway sandwich, but I would recommend eating at Base Camp Bar and Grill. I had the best crab cake sandwich I've ever eaten and my husband raved about the lobster macaroni and cheese! Breakfast the next morning was from the coffee bar. Allow yourself plenty of time to get breakfast before your tour leaves because the line can be long. I was very pleased with the way Princess handled our luggage and tours here (actually, on the entire trip!).

Room Tip: Bring a sleep mask if the nighttime light from the never-setting sun might bother you.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This is a vast property with not a whisker of wilderness. Rooms small and basic motel 8. Long row of useful shops opposite gave other dinning and shopping opportunities. This property is a misnomer and we were disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppydog40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Better then most hotels, lodge areas in Alaska. Has a good restaurant and bar. The staff is helpful and will go out of their way to help you. It can be crowded, many tour buses stop at this lodge, so traffic and buses are always around. You can get a nice view of Mount Denali, if the weather is clear. The lodge has hiking trails around the compound and a fire-pit area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stopped in to see if we could get a room when we realized the place where we had reservations was a awful (Crow's Nest). Andrew at the front desk was incredibly helpful as i begged for a room.He offered to bring our luggage to our room as we were in a car and he went and checked the room before he gave us the key Not only did we get a nice room, we got a room with a view of the creek/river!! It was a very nice room, very clean, very well appointed. We went to the King Salmon restaurant (within the Lodge complex) that evening and my husband's chicken was delicious as was my salad with salmon. We bought burritos the next morning before we went into the park and they were also delicious. We would definitely stay at this lodge and eat at King Salmon next time we visit Denali. Again, a big thanks to Andrew for making us feel welcome and helping us out in a pinch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I and our 4 grown kids stayed in section E of the massive Princess Wilderness lodge on June 19-21, 2014. We drove from Anchorage, so we were not on a Princess cruise. Note that the lodge is designed for cruisers, not driving customers! You have to park a couple blocks away from your room and cannot unload your car near your room. As described by previous posts the rooms are "standard" 2.5* rooms (Holiday Inn, Comfort Inn) and you can hear the guests upstairs. The Lodge is located close by the Denali National Park entrance, so it's quite convenient to catch the tour buses in the morning versus drive from Healy. Overall, we had a good experience at the Lodge, but I give it a Average rating for the Room size, noise and distant parking for $200/nt.

Room Tip: If your driving, request a lodge room "near" the parking area or you will be walking!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews