We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good starter to explore island”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Erato Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erato Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
leicester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“good starter to explore island”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

hotel has easy access to view the island only twenty minutes from airport to hotel. the hotel is very clean but small and friendley,rooms cleaned daily,as is towels and sheets tv is limted for english programs.nico and maria plus vangellis very helpfull for your needs,but the hotel is not for any disabled people,or anybody with mobility problems.

Room Tip: first floor rooms from no 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bladerunnerleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    42
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
93
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

When booking my recent holiday I wanted a family run establishment, with traditional Greek food. I made the right choice with the Hotel Erato. My room was really nice, the family are lovely and always find time to chat, nothing was too much trouble, the food was amazing and I made some great new friends. The Greek dancing etc. was great fun too.

There are sandy beaches about a 10 minute stroll where there are free sun beds / parasols (as there are at the hotel), I enjoyed walking down to Kokkini Chani for a bit of jewellery shopping (there are many other shops too :o) It is a short transfer time to the hotel and there are buses to pretty much anywhere, which make it easy to get around the island.

A great holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seaharmonious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We traveled outside the session and enjoy tranquility, hospitality and individual way on every holiday specifically a go! It was a dream and today we are happy to remember back :) its 2 years ago...
The perfect hotel for individual! Who want to explore the island by car! For a hotel vacation might be too small, but for us it was perfect!
We will definitely come back! , Look Maybe in two years but we do we are already :)
Nikos is the best man for all ;) ask him what ever you want, he know the best places to be and his Cocktails are dreamfull!! Iam looking forward to see him and his family again!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry13583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Me and my friends have spent one week at Hotel Erato this summer. From the moment we arrived until the moment we went back home we felt welcome. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Our rooms were always clean and in a very good state. There was nothing to complain about. For breakfast and dinner we had a buffet, which served many different and delicious dished. There was something for every taste.

The hotel is next to a bus station, so it is very easy to make day trips, even without a car. There is also a beach quite close by, so it is possible to walk there.

The atmosphere in Hotel Erato was very friendly, especially the greek evening was a night to remember! Hotel Erato has many returning customers. My friends and me would also love to spend more time there. Overall I can recommend this Hotel, it made our stay in Greece even better!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KathiNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Since I was a child my parents and my sisters went with me to this hotel. I really enjoy this time in the hotel because the family leaded business is friendly and you can easily get to know new people.
My favorite days were tuesday and thursday because on tuesday were a pool party. As a child I often dreamed of go swimming in the night and this year was the first time I could do that.
On thursdays there is a greek evening where you can learn Sirtaki, the most famous dance from greek, and have some fun with live music.
The food is always typical greek and it tastes very well.
The sand beach is only a fifteen-minutes walk away where you can get sun beds for small prises. I think about 8 Euro per day for two bed plus umbrella. (Sometimes we payed more than 20 Euro)

I've been to many different countries and different hotel (also on Crete) and I only can recommend this hotel because it's one of the best hotels I've ever been. If my parents asks me where to go my first answer is Erato because I just enjoy these days in this very familiar hotel and with the persons I know for ages.

Thanks for all over the years. Thanks to Maria who was always like a second mum for me!
See you next year,
Maria's little catastophe :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We very enjoyed the time at hotel erato in gournes. Especially the greek evening every thursday has been a great experience for us. We learned to dance the sirtaki and learned to know the rest of the people in the hotel. The service (mainly this is maria and nikos) was available all over the time and was everytime very nice to us. The rooms were clean to 100%.all in all it was a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carry1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We like to remind you the wonderful days in the Erato. The friendly and family atmosphere of the hotel was very good and we had nice contacts. The food was delicious and also service very very good. We had everything, which we needed, in order to recover, the rental car, the excursion destination, the nuts for glass of beer, new towels every two days the, umbrella or book can you take it for the beach. About 750 m long way is very good beach!!! Especially recommendable was the competence. Adam, his family and especially all the staff. We want repeat this holiday!

Room Tip: Room 30- family room on garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabrina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gournes Pediados
1.4 mi away
Marilisa Hotel
Marilisa Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kokkini Hani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#8 of 14 in Kokkini Hani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
6.6 mi away
Central Hersonissos Hotel
Central Hersonissos Hotel
#34 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kri Kri Village Holiday Apartments
Kri Kri Village Holiday Apartmen...
#3 of 8 in Gournes Pediados
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
11.7 mi away
MariRena Hotel
MariRena Hotel
#13 of 32 in Amoudara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erato Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erato Hotel

Property: Erato Hotel
Address: Gournes pediados | 71500 - Heraklion - Crete, Gournes Pediados, Crete 715 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gournes Pediados
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gournes Pediados
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Erato Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Erato is built in traditional Cretan style, recently renovated and offers the Cretan hospitality and warmth, quality of service and food. Double: bathroom with shower, telephone, radio, hairdryer, Air-Condition, Sat-TV & safety-box(extra-supplement), balcony or veranda. Single: same as double but with window or terrace. Facilities-services: Restaurant, bar, pool-veranta, swimming-pool, roofgarden, playground, internet-station, table-tennis, Pets not allowed, sandy-beach in 800m, Aquarium in 500m. Credit-cards: AMEX-VISA-MASTER. Rates on halfboard basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erato Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erato Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing