We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to the essential” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koutsounari Traditional Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Koutsounari Traditional Cottages
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Koutsounari
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Back to the essential”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

For the 2nd time in 2 years for a 1 week stay at the Koutsounari traditional cottages, I'm already looking forward being back there soon...Having travelled the whole world professionally I can just say... If you want to be back to the essential in life, escape a while from our crazy civilisation, avoid the overcrowded places full of lowcost people, in fact just ressource yourself in a peaceful surroundings, Koutsounari traditional cottages is the right answer to your wishes ! Let be surprised by the real greek hospitality of Ioanna and her parents, go and discover the beautiful places and beaches of the area, spend unforgettable times eating the delicious greek specialities in the many tavernas frequented mostly by local greek people and you'll be back to your real life full of positive energy !!! The only must is to have a rent car, the rest is just full freedom to wonderful vacations ! Enjoy your holidays

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank roland p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NakouTradition, Owner at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Google Translation
Dear Rolland,
c'est toujours un plaisir de vous avoir parmi nous. Merci d'avoir partage ton avis sur TripAdvisor.
A tres bientot,
P.S tes lunettes ne veulent pas retourner en Suisse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    28
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
61
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend had the pleasure to stay one week at the Koutsounari
Traditional cottage in July. We got a unit with 2 beds – 1 in the bedroom and 1 in the living room-. The cottage is beautifully designed with nice traditional furniture and comes with a complete kitchen.

The location is great to discover the eastern part of the island. It’s
about 10-15 min by car to Ierapetra and just a few minutes from many gorgeous beaches facing the Libyan sea. Our favourite was Galini Beach.
There are so many options in the area. There are also 2 supermarkets just down the street of the cottages. (maybe 20 min walk or 2 min drive). It was very convenient for our groceries and basics. Although we had our own
kitchen, there are so many Tavernas around that offer great –and very affordable- Greek food that we ended eating out almost all the time besides breakfast.

The cottages are owned by a family. The father takes care of all the reservations, the mother oversees a really nice/delicious restaurant at the pool deck of the Nakou village (the sister complex) and the daughter Ioanna handles general operations. They were all so hospitable and helpful, showing us which sites to visit and where to eat. Ioanna is also the designer of the beautiful interiors of the cottage we stayed in. It’s completely a family business and they really take care of their guests and take pride in their wonderful property.

Our unit and probably all units have a beautiful terrace overlooking the sea. We spent all our mornings having breakfast there watching the ocean. Pure relaxation.

Overall the place is classy, stylish and sophisticated. Maybe a little
pricey (compared to other cheaper options) in high season but it was
totally worth it! Will definitely stay there again next time I am in
Crete.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thientatrung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NakouTradition, Owner at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Thien,
thank you so much for your nice review. It was a pleasure meeting you. As you have noticed, it s a family run property and each one of us cater for our guests in his own way. Thank you for your kind words on the interior design. Coming from you, i am flattered!
Hope to see you soon!

Ioanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

After spending one week at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages I have to say one thing: it was not enough. That place is truly magical. The rooms, terraces and bathrooms are so well designed to the smaller details that one can easily feel like at home. The service was awesome, the staff was almost invisible but there when needed. Pristine beaches, fantastic restaurants and supermarkets are so close that was easy to feel the abundance. Can't wait to be back.
Zoran P.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zasclepius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NakouTradition, Owner at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Zoran,
Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to share these on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay and would give us the pleasure of coming back to Koutsounari Traditional Cottages.

We hope that that we will be welcoming you back very soon.
The whole team sends you their best regards.
Ioanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent 10 days in Koutsounari traditional cottages, and these were amazing. The cottages are spacious, very well furnished, very beautiful and private, in a very quiet place with amazing see view. We spent wonderful holidays, and the region is great, with nice beaches and picturesque villages. The owners are very welcoming, happily provide great advices and services (such as amazing relaxing massages that we enjoyed a lot). We highly recommend this hotel, and hope to come again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madi2011, Owner at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages. We hope to see you again in the near future.
the whole team sends you its best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

These delightful cottages are simply furnished but adequately provisioned so its possible to cook your own food, which is often good as a break from the taverna. Our cottage had great views down over the coast, but be warned - you do need your own transport to stay here. While there is a taverna down on the corner, and the hotel with pool and a surprisingly good poolside cafe is just up the road, the area is quite isolated and a good couple of kilometres back (and up!) from the beach and nearest shop. The place was clean and well presented, beds perhaps a bit hard (which seems common on the islands - maybe because the bed-base is concrete! - Cretan style) but it was fun to stay at and the multi lingual hosts are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank sajehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madi2011, Owner at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to share these on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay.

We hope that that we will be welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Ioanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Just back from 2 wonderful weeks at the Koutsounari Traditional Cottages.Great weather,good restaurants and quiet beaches within easy reach.There are a couple of mid sized supermarkets at the bottom of the town,and Ierapetra is about a 10-15 minute drive where there are larger shops,banks and other facilities.
This is a very quiet little part of Crete,with a few larger towns within easy reach,Myrtos and the beach at Makrygialos being 2 of our personal favourites.
The cottages themselves have been lovingly restored by the owners,and are spacious,well maintained and equipped.There has obviously been a lot of thought and care gone into their restoration,with a keen eye for comfort and the use of colourful fabrics and soft furnishings contrasting nicely with the white washed walls,wooden beam ceilings and interiors.
The cottage was immaculate on our arrival and cleaned several times during our stay.
The owner Joanna was very welcoming and friendly,with great advice on which beaches to go to and restaurants to try.
The town itself has a several nice restaurants in walking distance which seemed to attract as many locals as visitors,with the Taverna Osteria being a particular favourite of ours.
The sister property is the Nakou Village,which is a steep but short walk away and has a great pool and patio area.

In short, the Traditional Cottages are a perfect base for a relaxing self catering holiday,away from the crowds but with a car,perfectly placed for exploring the rest of the Island.We were shown round some of the other cottages by the owner and they had all been restored to the same high standard as ours.

We would highly recommend these cottages as a great place to holiday on Crete.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madi2011, Owner at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay at ours. Emmanuel Mantalas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

we have spent two lovely weeks with my significant other. Away from crowded touristic places but still offering all that you may need on your holidays, Koutsounari Traditional Cottages is the ideal place to relax and enjoy. The cottages are beautiful and little details make the difference here. Waking up in the morning, we were having breakfast at our terrace, enjoying the view and after a long day of swimming, walking around we wanted to return "home" and enjoy a glass of wine watching the sunset....what a nice place to rremember! Sure we will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NakouTradition, Owner at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding Koutsounari Traditional Cottages and also for sharing them on Tripadvisor.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards
Ioanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutsounari
0.6 mi away
Coriva Beach Hotel
Coriva Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Koutsounari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nakou Village
Nakou Village
#2 of 6 in Koutsounari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Belissario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aroma Creta Hotel Apartments & Spa
13.2 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
48.3 mi away
MariRena Hotel
MariRena Hotel
#11 of 32 in Amoudara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koutsounari Traditional Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koutsounari Traditional Cottages

Property: Koutsounari Traditional Cottages
Address: Off Main Road Koutsounari | Eparx. Odos Agiou Ioanni, Koutsounari, Ierapetra, Crete 722 00, Greece (Formerly Nakou Village)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Ierapetra > Koutsounari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Koutsounari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Koutsounari Traditional Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be charmed by these authentic Cretan cottages. Koutsounari Traditional Cottages combine modern comfort and tradition, facilities and artistic creativity of the past. It is an A class settlement, authorised and rated by the Greek Tourism Organisation. The cottages were constructed in 1976 and in 1978 have won the “Europa Nostra” Diploma for the fine restoration of abandoned buildings and their conversion into a touristic resort. In 2005 the cottages have been renovated and in 2011 they have been redecorated. All cottages have a private entrance and secluded terrace. Kitchenettes are well- equipped to allow you pre-pair your breakfast and a light meal. Guests of the Koutsounari Traditional Cottages can relax in the garden, surrounded by olive groves, bougainvilleas and herbs. Free access to a swimming pool and a pool bar in a sister property is offered, 800 metres away. Located on Koutsounari hill overlooking the Sea, Koutsounari Traditional Cottages are 1 km from Long Beach awarded with Blue Flag 2011. Koutsounari Village has shops and traditional taverns. A car rental is highly recommended in order to explore the south of Crete. Ierapetra with the 17th-century castle is only 9 km away. Chrissi Island with its exotic beaches can be reached by boat within 30 minutes. Heraklion Airport at 110kms, Agios Nikolaos at 50kms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Koutsounari Traditional Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koutsounari Traditional Cottages Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing