We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delfini - 'a ha'peth of tar'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Delfini Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Stegna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We booked the Delfini as we felt it offered a simple base for sight-seeing in Rhodes but mainly because we were seduced by the selling point of it being a traditional Greek seafront Seafood restaurant.
Our room was small but clean and recently refurbished. We had a lovely view over the sea and it was a delight to sit on the balcony in the mornings. As it was early in the season, sitting out in the evenings was a little chilly but there were lovely big woolly blankets to wrap up in. The beds were firm, with a decent pillow and linen was changed once or twice during the week. The bathroom was incredibly small but clean, with a typical Greek hand-shower. Water was not always hot but usually there was enough for a pre-dinner shower. Towels were fluffy and white and changed once in the week. There was a hairdryer in the drawer, if needed. The room was kept spotlessly clean, with daily cleaning. We were concerned on a few security issues - our balcony door would not lock - and reported this but it was not fixed during our stay. We didn't worry too much but others might, especially during high season.
The communal areas were kept clean and although there were several small dogs about the place, there was no evidence of any 'mess' or smells. However, one could be put off by animals in the restaurant, perhaps.
The beach at Stegna is, potentially, quite lovely, however, when we were there (early season) it was covered in debris from last season, with littler, cans, bottles, and broken glass running the length of the bay. Litter bins were full to brimming over and clearly had not been emptied for months. The pavements were cracked and broken, with a variety of obstacles, ripe for tripping over, making it a risk to stroll along at any time but particularly after dark. Needless to say, we didn't set foot on the beach but went in search of other bays. On our last day a tractor came to clean the beach and it was looking spotless by the time we left. (Bad timing?) I am surprised the community in Stegna do not value their environment more - after all, they have to live in it over winter, when there are no guests. And by the time they are welcoming guests, one would think they might bother to clean up - even just in front of their own property!
Breakfasts were served on the patio, with typical Greek fare of fresh bread, Lurpack butter, jam, Greek yoghurt and honey. There were also eggs - freshly boiled or fried, cheese & ham, and plates of fresh fruit. Juice (of varying quality) was served every morning and jugs of coffee or tea (??). So far, so lovely!
The starter courses at dinner were also very good with a variety of salads, soups and traditional Greek items being served with a basket of bread. House wine was very reasonable at 5 Euros for a half litre of house red, white or rose, which although undistinguished, was drinkable. However, the only seafood we were offered all week was mussels with spaghetti (I had told them I don't like mussels at the beginning of our stay) and whitebait appeared as a starter on the day we had finally given up and gone elsewhere for a fish lunch! (More bad timing?) The rest of the main meals were mostly of a low grade, leaving us feeling disappointed and wishing we had chosen different hotel.
The owners and staff were delightful and made us feel welcome. Our stay was wonderfully peaceful but lacked atmosphere and attention to detail.
If you know the expressions - 'Sinking the ship for a ha'peth of tar' or 'a curate's egg' - you will know what is intended here. It could be great - but left us feeling disappointed.

Room Tip: Only book Seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LainyNorthWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed there in April for 6 nights. We rented a car at the airport to get around the island.
The rooms at Delfini hotel are comfortable. The bathroom is small but clean. Fridge is available in the room. Loved the balcony with seaview. Maria is a great cook and spoiled us with her lovely greek dishes. We definitely recommend a visit to the Delfini hotel in Stegna. A&M from Belgium

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My friend and I stayed at Delini hotel for 3 nights end of April, so still low season. We were lucky to have the place nearly to ourselves, peace and quiet, total serenity. And to add to this wonderful experience the owners Mr Loukas and his wife Maria, and their daughter Harula were so hospitable and kind.
Our evening meals were delicious, seafood and other lovely Greek specialities. And for breakfast we enjoyed It sitting outside watching the blue sea and enjoying the company of their little dog Xenia.

All in all I would highly recommend Delfini Hotel at Stegna Beach. If you can, rent a car so you can then drive around the island and discover other beautiful spots.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kulatanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We booked this place on the basis that it was a fair bit more expensive but it had the facilities of a hotel. These were advertised clearly on the booking.com website. The room should have had a view of the area, a minibar, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, toiletries, etc. It had none of these things and turned out to be a very spartan room at the back of a restaurant past the smelly dogs, bins, laundry room and where the food was prepared. The entrance was dirty dusty, and stank of dog urine and faeces. The view from the balcony looked down on the dogs and their domain, and up to very tall bamboo obscuring all the surrounding area. The room itself was functional in that it had a bed and air conditioning, a tiny bathroom ( it would have been possible to clean my teeth and defecate at the same time), and some of the electric sockets worked. There was no fridge. NO FRIDGE it's 35C! I've stayed in some bad places but I could always put some beers or a bottle of wine in the fridge for heaven's sake.The breakfast deserves special attention for its utter shamelessness and shamefulness (does that make sense?). On a small table by the bar lurked some weakened coffee, sometimes cold boiled eggs, a filthy bread bin that sometimes contained a few slices of cheap bread, a jug of iced 'happy shopper' orange squash, jam in large lidless containers buzzing with wasps and flies, a few sealed pats of margarine ( and if you were lucky butter) left to fester in the heat of the sun which you could pour onto your bread like oil. There was watermelon available if you dared, it was sitting on the hatch of the kitchen getting nicely warm and the focus of the rapidly breeding flies. I my love breakfast like a brother, so we quickly decided to go out to a local taverna for breakfast each morning. For about 5 euros each we could have a perfect breakfast, bacon & eggs, croissant, cappuccino, no flies, etc.
The room was well cleaned daily, but bed linen was not changed often, and the same towels rehung. The mattresses were old and uncomfortable.
Look in the vicinity of this hotel, where there are lots and lots of better places to stay for half the price. Stegna is worth visiting as the local beach is beautiful, quiet, and the sea is warm and usually calm.

Room Tip: if you must stay get a sea view over the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank brett b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank salianer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: scegliete le stanze vista mare a tutti costi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank istvanromano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank marcelloricotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delfini9, Ιδιοκτήτης at Delfini Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stegna hotels
0.3 mi away
Porto Angeli Beach Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alpha Stegna Sun
Alpha Stegna Sun
#1 of 5 in Stegna
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blugreen Stegna
Blugreen Stegna
#2 of 5 in Stegna
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aroma Stegna
Aroma Stegna
#4 of 5 in Stegna
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stegna Sea and Sun Studios
0.4 mi away
Agnanti Beach Studios
Agnanti Beach Studios
#3 of 12 in Stegna
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delfini Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfini Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Stegna Beach, Stegna 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Stegna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Stegna
Price Range: £56 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Delfini Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach of Stegna bay in Rhodes, Delfini Beach hotel offers a seafood restaurant and a bar. Rooms feature furnished balcony with views of the Aegean Sea or the surrounding area. A satellite TV, fridge and air conditioning are included in all rooms at the Delfini.A buffet breakfast is offered daily in the dining area with sea views.Fresh fish, seafood and local specialties are served at the restaurant.Guests can relax in the sun loungers on the beach or have a drink from the bar on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Delfini Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfini Hotel & Restaurant Stegna, Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing