We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two sides to a coin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corfu Holiday Palace
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kanoni
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Two sides to a coin”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here from 11/6/12 to 25/6/12
When we first checked in we were shown to a bungalow which we were charged extra to stay here ,it was terrible you would even put a dog there ,no view only a overgrown wilderness it was the worst room ever ,we complained but we stayed there two days we offered to pay more money and we moved to the seventh floor sea view with great sea views ,you couldnt believe you were ,staying at the same complex ,
Our conclusion when you check in they put you in crap rooms and wait for you to complain ,lucky for us we complained to the company in Corfu who get these rooms for uk company's and we didn't have to pay any extra others did.
The hotel as a 5 star location without a doubt but accomodation 1 star for the bungalows in worst spot ,2 star for the terrible rooms on -2 floor and -1 floor and three star for the rest apart from the seventh floor which are 3.5 star 
The food is just ok nothing special very boring always running out of things not good with hygiene ,waiters are very slow to respond , the swimming pools are very good and beach connection with lift is great 
Beware there are strange things in the sea I got bit with jellyfish in the first 5 mins of holiday 
They charge a extra 7euros a day for a pair a sunbeds on there own beach which is a rip off and 4 euros for a ice cream which was rubbish,the wifi is very up and down but it's free ,the air conditioning is terrible on night I recorded a temp at :35c that's with it working ,the staff are very nice and friendly ,the price of beer or wine changes in price from one floor to another ,
Overall we have had a very good holiday but it was not a 5 star only 3 star anybody who says different has not stayed at a 5 star you also need to hire a car because it takes about a hour to walk to corfu town And the buses don't always turn up ,read time tables at stops,we asked for extra time at are room because we had a late flight but there was no chance 

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mikkrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    543
    254
    121
    72
See reviews for
355
622
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed at the Corfu holiday palace for a week from 14th June and can honestly tell you it was absolutely wonderful!

Of course, as everyone has said, the rooms need updating a little with new decor and TVs but to be fair, why would you go on holiday to sit in your room all day? (Except for the air con that is!) The air con in the rooms is free, though this only works when the balcony door is closed.

The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy (they're 2 singles pushed together). The sheets were changed daily along with towels - even clean ones were changed! Every day we came back to the room we found our stuff neatly lined up which I found an added perk.

The bathroom was nice and big with a power shower over the bath which always had hot water - it also had great water pressure!

We were on the 5th floor (Rooms 520 and 522) which are the Sea View rooms - I recommend these for the view alone! The higher you are the better the view, as the trees did shield some of the view. We asked for quiet rooms on booking and so we were placed on the far side of the hotel away from the airport.

The lake view rooms overlook the airport and so I would say those would be a tad noisier. If watching planes land and take off is your thing, you might want to book one of these rooms however.

The hotel bars were great, of which there are 4 in and around the hotel but they were a little expensive (2-3 euros for a glass of coke or sprite). When ordering drinks, they were often accompanied by free tortilla chips and nuts which were awesome! Drinks were always brought to you too!

The restaurant for half board is on the floor below the reception (-1 in the lift). We found dinner food to be slightly different every day with a salad bar, hot food bar and dessert bar. Dessert was similar each day but with a slight difference in flavours. Salad had mostly the same stuff but with different pastas/rices, etc. There was always a vegetarian option but we had a fussy eater with us so he ate beans and potatoes all week!

Breakfast was a little repetitive but there was a lot of selection so if you don't eat tonnes of food each morning you can try something different each day. They had fried potato slices at this time too but also had pancakes, fruit, Greek yogurt, 5 different jams, cereal, toast and pastries along with the typical eggs (scramble, fried and boiled), sausages and bacon.

Drinks cost when you eat at dinner (2 euros for a 1.5ltr bottle of water) but you get free juice/water/tea/coffee at breakfast.

The added bonus is a random cat that comes for free food! - It's very cute :)

The staff are amazing throughout and are very friendly, genuinely so too!

The beach is great! A bit pebbly but not a massive issue. The sunbeds/parasols are 7 euros for the whole day (5 euros if you only need 1 bed) and there's a bar which plays reggae music lots. The poolside sunbeds are free to use but you generally find that people 'reserve' them with personal belongings - this annoyed us as they were doing this stupidly early then going up for food for a couple hours! You get free towels (1 each) every day at either the poolside or the beach.

If you want to escape the hotel for the day it is just 1.10 euros each to get the bus to Corfu town. We bought the tickets from the little shop at reception and caught the bus from the stop at the entrance to the hotel. Corfu town has plenty of little shops and restaurants; there is also a Mcdonalds and an M & S there which we were surprised about.

We also booked a trip via one of the tour books at reception. We went to Paxos (Island just off Greece) and Parga (little coastal town on the Greek mainland), for 34 euros per person, which was slightly expensive. I wouldn't really recommend this trip as it takes nearly 3 hours to get to the locations on the boat each way!

All in all we loved our stay, would recommend this hotel and will no doubt stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We asked for adjoining rooms which we were given. Also, the 5th floor Free Wif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We take several holidays abroad but never have we witnessed a hotel reception continually bombarded with complaints. Guests unhappy with their room not being as booked and paid for. The Manageress at this hotel fails to correct recurring issues. The accommodation offered and the meal service falls far short of any four star holiday we have EVER known. A good four star hotel should receive many many good appraisals and no bad appraisals. This hotel is rated a lowly 75th in Corfu, with empty and derelict hotels nearby, will this one be next.

Room Tip: Select a sea view room and you have only a 50% chance of a sea view. Select a lake view and you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kanoni hotels

Wiltshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here for a week over half term, wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel as we would in England but the hotel was lovely, and the service was 5 star. We were upgraded on arrival to a sea view suite, a little dated but the views were fantastic and the room cleaned and towels, sheets changed every day. Loved that they had free towels to use at the beach or pool, wish I had known before I took ours but nice to take home clean towels for once. We took the half board option and was really surprised how nice, fresh and a good choice of food there was, there was always something that the children could eat. The hotel is a little dated and not a 5 star as we would know it but we had a lovely holiday here and couldn't fault it and everyone we spoke to liked the hotel too.The staff were always friendly and helpful.Great that you are not far from the airport, just jump in a taxi and you are there within 10 mins. Bus at end of drive takes you into Corfu Town every 20 minutes. Would go back.

Room Tip: sea view rooms have a fantastic view, garden rooms over look the runway though they are not noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinmum321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, R.D. Manager at Corfu Holiday Palace, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear twinmum321,

Thank you for posting your comments and sharing your holiday experience at corfu holiday Palace Hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am very glad to hear that we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and you were well satisfied by the room , hotel’s cleanliness and that you found the food nice and fresh. I will pass all your compliments to the staff that will be happy to hear that their hard work is rewarded as they strive daily to meet guests’ expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Corfu holiday Palace on your next visit to the Corfu island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Pleased with our 7th floor lakeside room. Like others guests with rooms at the front (seaview rooms are at the back) we could clearly see the airport but we were on the righthand side so little less noise than being on the left. Others in Bungalows had mixed comments as some of these seem better equipped than others. Our room was of a good standard. Maid service was 5 star and deserved our gratuity.
The beach at the hotel was particularly nice. Small cove-like, with no waves and clearest aqua-marine water we have seen. It had one pedallo which we hired and went round Mouse Isalnd in this. You can walk round the corner and there is a cafe, ideal if you want a change from the hotel's beach bar. We also went on a boat trip to Mouse Island 2.50 Euros each (kids half price)
For buses all destinations are via Corfu Town. However, if you want to go Noth East say to Benitses you can avoid the daily trip to Corfu Town by walking across the causeway (bridge) by the aforementioned cafe and then turn left by the Taverna and the bus stop is on the left. Everywhere else, I believe you need to go via Corfu town.
We visited Mon Repos (modest stately home where Prince Philip was born), Benitses (not much there) Paleokastritas and Dassia. Be careful if you endulge in watersports at Dassia as we had a nasty accident banging heads on doughnut/giant ringo and your insurance might not cover it. Severe bruising still 10 days later.
The food at the hotel was good. I think some of the satff are not from Corfu, so on occassions it could be a little frustrating communicating and sometimes you had to be a little patient ordering drinks. We had the house white at 12 euros. You can keep for the next day but large water at 2 euros is not kept. Part of the dining area is outside and this has some lovely views.
Breakfast very good with all eggs cooked to order-Pancakes, omlettes and fried.
Hotel pool area nice with exceptional views to the sea and beach. There's lots of trees and the situation of the hotel is undoubtedly 5 star plus.
Hotel has little entertainment but if you go out and about and eat dinner around 9.00 then have a drink you do not have much time to pass.
There is a scruffy but workable pool table and ten pin bowling downstairs for 4 Euros a throw.
We had a very nice stay and Corfu was prettier than we anticipated. Corfu town is a really nice emix or Venetian and French architecture and if its not too hot is worth a trip.
Other than the head banging incident in Dassia we enjoyed our holiday. The Hotel is fine and good value if you have realistic expectations. It certainly has the credentials to be a top class hotel. However I would rather they leave it as it is, forget the tinsel and silver, but keep the prices low so those with us with champagne taste but a lemonade budget can afford a touch of class away from the union jack short brigade. We might go back again next year if price is still competitive.
The shop oppositse the entrance sells bus tickets- just double up to get returns to save queueing for tickets the other end. We bought a giant beach ball and water for our trips from the shop most days. The Father and son who run it were very helpful.

Room Tip: You might see sandier beaches on the island but the hotel beach is tranquil and very calm. You can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BrightMJJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, R.D. Manager at Corfu Holiday Palace, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear BrightMJJA,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Corfu Holiday Palace Hotel.

Your feedback about the standard and cleanliness of our rooms and the hotel as well as our friendly - professional staff is motivating. I will pass on your feedback to our team.

Kindly note that in the hotel there are various room types and there is price difference between them such as lake view room , sea view room ,suites , Bungalows and garden rooms detailed descriptions are available to our official website .

Also regarding the entertainment there are several programs daily in the hotel like Latin party every Friday, piano live music in the bar, duet live in the main bar, BBQ night every Wednesday with Greek live music and folklore dances in the main hotel’s restaurant, Italian night every Friday, Greek night in the restaurant every Sunday, Tango Argentino live dancing show every Sunday evening in the Bar etc.

Guest feedback is an important yardstick which helps us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. I am delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations on all counts.

Thank you for recommending us. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Corfu Holiday Palace Hotel soon again and i will be happy to personally take care of your reservation , please don’t hesitate to contact me directly anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Overall, my experience of this hotel is one that will stay with me for a long time. The pros far outweigh the cons. Don't believe some of the bad reviews on here - I think those people either really unlucky or very picky.
I can understand if people come away a little disappointed if they were expecting 5-star, but that can be avoided if you realise it is no longer of that standard (still very nice though).

I'll try to give a concise evaluation of each of the key features:

- Rooms: mine was fairly basic but clean and nice. I have heard stories of under-performing A/C (including while I was there), but I had no trouble. Fantastic view from balcony. Bathroom spotless.

- Food: unlike some of the reviews, I found there to be plenty of choice. Someone pointed out the lack of Greek cuisine, but I guess there are trying to cater for the multitude of international tourists. And what there was was very nice.

- Bar: the bar is quite small but comfortable, and they also let you take drinks out onto the veranda. Some of the musical acts that are hired are a little dubious but fairly harmless.

- Staff: nice and friendly. English not great, but good enough. A little too laid back for my liking, but then this is Greece!

- Pool: did not try the indoor one as the outdoor one was excellent. Slightly chilly but not freezing - just right. Need to get out there early to get decent sunbeds though (which I would expect in July/August but not necessarily June when I was there).

- Beach: a rather pleasant and quiet little private beach. However there is a charge, and they only have a limited number of sunbeds (more so than the pool area). The water is clear and there were no jellyfish, etc.

- Other: in addition, they have a bowling alley (two lanes), table tennis (obligatory!) as well as pool and snooker tables which no-one ever seemed to use which was a shame.

Final thoughts - best view I've had at a hotel. Would have been better in its heyday, but still a very good place to stay while in Corfu. Cannot recommend it enough really.

Room Tip: Sea view is good if you are high up enough (I was in floor 6 of 7). Maybe try the bungelows, as som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cityowl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, R.D. Manager at Corfu Holiday Palace, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear cityowl007,

Many thanks for posting your so positive comments on trip Advisor after your recent stay at Corfu Holiday Palace Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you had a relaxing vacation while staying with us. At Corfu Holiday Palace, guest satisfaction is paramount and I am delighted by your comments about hotel’s pool being “excellent” as well the views of the hotel “fantastic” , the rooms spotless and the food nice with “plenty of choice”.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel and should you decide to do so, please do not hesitate to contact us as we will do our utmost to fully satisfy you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Having read mixed reviews about this hotel, I went with an open mind, however I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were a little dated, but clean. The balconies were an excellent size, I had a view of the the front of the hotel which overlooked the runway, I enjoyed watching the planes take off and land. The staff, in particular the waiting staff were extremely friendly and accommodating and there was a good selection of food to choose from. Being vegetarian, I was a bit limited, but there were plenty of salad choices so I ate very healthily! The pool area was gorgeous, overlooking the private beach. The entertainment was dissapointing, the hotel singer could not hit a single note, this became very amusing, espcially after consuming many mojitos, which were fab, I asked the waiter what his secret was and apparently he brings his own mint from the garden! All in all, this is a great hotel and I would have no hesitation staying here again. The location is amazing, with great views of the monastry and Pontikisi Island. There is a bus that goes from outside the hotel into Corfu Town, which again is worth a visit, the shops are great and there are lots of sights to visit. I certainly hope to return again in the near future.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth paying a little extra for a sea view, you will never get bored of looking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ClaireBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, R.D. Manager at Corfu Holiday Palace, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear ClaireBristol,

Thank you very much for the appreciation. Your positive feedback posted on Trip advisor about your recent stay at Corfu Holiday Palace Hotel will encourage us to exceed customer expectations every time.

It greatly pleases us to know that our services were up to your expectations and that you found the staff “ extremely friendly- accommodating”, the rooms with “excellent size and clean, the food with plenty of choice, the mojitos in the bar “Fab” , the hotel of “Great Views” and that your stay was a comfortable one.

In reference to your remark regarding the food selection for Vegetarians , we have taking your remarks into consideration and we have already made the necessary implements in the Buffet as guests feedback always assist us on improving more and is valued highly as well as appreciated.

Also regarding the entertainment there are several programs daily in the hotel like Latin party every Friday, piano live music in the bar, duet live in the main bar, BBQ night every Wednesday with Greek live music and folklore dances in the main hotel’s restaurant, Italian night every Friday, Greek night in the restaurant every Sunday, Tango Argentino live dancing show every Sunday evening in the Bar etc.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Corfu island and Corfu Holiday Palace Hotel in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanoni
0.1 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
5.8 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
2.8 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corfu Holiday Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corfu Holiday Palace

Property: Corfu Holiday Palace
Address: Nausicas Street, Kanoni Beach, Kanoni 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kanoni
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kanoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Corfu Holiday Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first luxury hotels in Corfu, this hotel is the only one in the island with a direct view to the famous ‘Mouse Island’’ the trademark of Corfu Island. Set in magnificent landscaped gardens /45000 sq. m./ with an abundance of pine- eucalyptus and cypress trees, well maintains its prominent position amongst Corfu’s top hotels. The hotel is very close to Corfu town and also nearby the major archaeological sites offering the perfect base for those seeking to explore the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corfu Holiday Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Corfu Holiday Palace Hotel Kanoni
Aquis Corfu Holiday Palace Kanoni
Corfu Holiday Palace Kanoni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing