We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful! Never Ever 5 Stars, maybe 2”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corfu Holiday Palace
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kanoni
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awful! Never Ever 5 Stars, maybe 2”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

General Impression:

Nothing changed since the opening in 1976! Maybe it was a nice Hotel back then, but today not any more. The staff is not friendly, the food horrible and the same every day. Based on other reviews, some people seem to like the Hotel. I hated it and never have had worse ever for that price. But the worst of all is the outrageous noise all the time.

Location:

Its very far from the city and everything you wanna see. The area is more the slum/living area for the workers. It is super close to the airport which means you can see and HEAR every plane starting, almost every 15 min from the morning till late at night.

Cleanliness:

Pretty dirty rooms. Garbage from previous guests and the mold are unacceptable. The bungalow we booked stinked, literally stinked and was very damp and without light. The dirty cushions even spoiled sitting outside in the tiny "garden". We got a new room (worse category) but it smelled a little too and was very noisy. There was even mold in some darker areas of the hotel. The pool was not clean 3 out of 4 days.

Beach:

The hotel beach is a joke. Pretty small and dirty water. I almost screamed at someone when I saw that I should pay 8€ for a sub bed. Better go to one of the great beaches of corfu like Agios Georgios/Gordis.

Sound:

The noise in the hotel is unbearable. Based on the location on a hill next to the airport you hear and see every plane that starts or lands, and believe me it is SUPER LOUD and every 15 minutes Day AND Night. I even heard it with earplugs. I never really slept well. Also the hotel is also very loud, old doors have to get slammed shut by the guests and with the thin walls you here everything. And as if that is not enough, there is very loud live music every day.

Pool:

Is nice and the only thing I liked. BUT it was only clean one day, the others I would have liked it much more without the leaves.

Photos:

Please do not be fooled by the nice photos of that place. There is always a reason why they are made from very far or with a cocktail that's super close with blurry background (I never saw a cocktail that nice as well in the hotel).

Staff:

I found them not very nice an rather unhelpful. I seemed not the only one, every time I was at the counter I overheard someone else complaining as well. The absolute highlight of the trip was me asking for a better room, which was answered with "I have to ask". The guy took up a phone, waited, didnt say anything to anyone, lay down the phone and said: "Sorry we are completely booked". I was so shocked I couldn't even return anything. Some other things "Can you refer to a good restaurant? She: No sorry, I just work here for a week" "How much is a cap to the city? She: Around 15€" Every cap we took was 10€. How can a staff be so uninformed.

Internet:

There are around 30 different Wireless networks. Almost none of them work. If you get connection it is frustratingly slow, after a few minutes you are probably dropped. The last two days we had no internet at all. Informing the staff changed nothing.

Room Tip: At another hotel. If it has to be that one, them definitive beach side. The other side overviews the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N0rman_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    578
    273
    132
    83
See reviews for
385
670
49
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We went to Corfu on June 5 to June 10 4 couples , the hotel is conveniently situated within 20 minutes from the airport, if you book at this hotel I STRONGLY suggest to book an ocean view room to avoid the airplane noise from landing and taking off every few minutes. The hotel needs upgrade specially the TV and the room amenities like shower gel, shampoo and towels. The food was the same every day for breakfast, dinner was acceptable. The pool was nice. The hotel had free internet but the signal was weak a lot of times. The night entertainment was good. Overhaul the hotel is not 5 stars, the website is misleading I would give it 3.5 Stars

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dkhedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a large hotel with many amenities. Large pool well positioned with great views down to the beach and a cablecar type lift taking guests down to the sea. Rooms are large, our bathroom was very modern and huge marble tub. They even have a bowling alley in the basement! The actual rooms were a touch old fashioned and the ones at the front are over the airport and you can hear planes taking off and landing. Still, I am picky about hotels, and I have no reservations recommending this one. The location means you have to take a taxi or rent a car and the hill on which Kanoni sits is quite complicated to figure out with a strange one way system for access.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the opposite side from the airport to minimize noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelwriterBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A very tired, dated and stuffy hotel which purports to be a 5 star hotel. The decor, carpets, curtains, beds and television sets desperately need updating. I would rate it as an average 3 star at best. Would not have booked it if the lake view description had mentioned the airport runway just across the lake. Had to wait in the lounge on arrival for the room to be cleaned, when it should have been ready. This did not create a great first impression.

On paper the hotel facilities sounded plentiful but in reality the gym equipment was rusty and poorly maintained for which there was a charge for the treadmill and cross trainer.

Food was good, but the restaurant felt like a "free for all" at meal times, with varying degrees of meal time etiquette from other holiday makers. The restaurant staff were efficient, friendly, helpful and always seemed cheery and obliging.

The "private" beach linked to the hotel charged for umbrellas and sun loungers, which should have been free as a matter of course. No chance of getting a sun lounger around the hotel pool, as the territorial practice of securing chairs with towels before breakfast still persists.

Overall, highly disappointed with the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family.

If you are looking for a quiet, laid back area then Kanoni is the perfect sunny and picturesque area. Buses were frequent, reliable and reasonably priced.

In summary, do not go to this hotel - unless you want to be disappointed, mislead and let down.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kanoni hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Location, food, pool and beach are just amazing! A little bit dated and in need of some modern improvements but good anyway. It was the perfect place for an amazing holiday break. Going back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luis_Alves_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfuholidaypalace, Manager at Corfu Holiday Palace, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Luis_Alves_89,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and positive review on tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at corfu Holiday Palace Hotel.

We certainly do our utmost to make your holiday as comfortable – memorable and pleasant as possible, so we are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to write such positive feedback on your stay.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me should you wish to book again in order to personally take care of your accommodation and assist you with your reservation.

Yours sincerely,
Maria Ioannidou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It looks like something out of 1970s Eastern Germany as you walk up to the front, but appearances are a little deceptive. Inside you get a rather glamorous (if slightly dated) lobby that once clearly was the cream of the crop.

Rooms are basic, but roomy and well kept/maintained, and the staff extremely helpful.

Food was, without fail, excellent on each of the 7 nights we stayed there - considering how bad buffet food can be sometimes in these sorts of places, the choice and quality was consistently good.

The (semi) private beach is what really sets this place apart - a fabulous little hideaway, which you reach via a Tardis-like lift that is quite a bit of fun to ride.

Facilities are excellent, and are really geared up towards families with young kids - loads to do, including bowling, table tennis, swimming etc. Plus a good gym and spa/sauna for the oldies.

Recommended for families, not so much if you're a couple looking for a quiet getaway - by the end of the week, I was longing for a meal without the sound of kids screaming every 5mins!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David_Hawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Enjoyed my holiday immensely! Can't really believe all these negative reviews but people do complain, lovely setting beautiful scenery helpful staff and clean rooms. Couldn't fault the hotel, wide selection of items at breakfast from
Hot food to yoghurt and fruit handy location a minute walk to the bus stop straight to town, levels 6 and 7 have beautiful sea views. If you're looking for an enjoyable relaxing holiday with nice clientel, I highly recommend. Also free wifi on the rooms and also at reception and reaches down to pool very handy :) don't let the bad reviews put you off !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monahanholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfuholidaypalace, Manager at Corfu Holiday Palace, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Monahanholly,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and positive review on tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at corfu Holiday Palace Hotel.

We certainly do our utmost to make your holiday as comfortable – memorable and pleasant as possible, so we are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to write such positive feedback on your stay.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me should you wish to book again in order to personally take care of your accommodation and assist you with your reservation.

Yours sincerely,
Maria Ioannidou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanoni
5.8 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
478 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Corfu Town
652 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
15.7 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corfu Holiday Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corfu Holiday Palace

Property: Corfu Holiday Palace
Address: Nafsikas Street 2, Kanoni 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kanoni
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kanoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corfu Holiday Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first luxury hotels in Corfu, this hotel is the only one in the island with a direct view to the famous ‘Mouse Island’’ the trademark of Corfu Island. Set in magnificent landscaped gardens /45000 sq. m./ with an abundance of pine- eucalyptus and cypress trees, well maintains its prominent position amongst Corfu’s top hotels. The hotel is very close to Corfu town and also nearby the major archaeological sites offering the perfect base for those seeking to explore the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Corfu Holiday Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Corfu Holiday Palace Hotel Kanoni
Aquis Corfu Holiday Palace Kanoni
Corfu Holiday Palace Kanoni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing