We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5*, but pretty good value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corfu Holiday Palace
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kanoni
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

So..we stayed here a year ago for a week. This year we went for two, thinking that we would only be using the hotel to sleep in, as our memories of breakfast, the pool, the beach, lack of wifi etc., were pretty dire. Reader let me tell you these things haven't changed! At breakfast there is a massive choice of pretty tasteless food, that's true. But there is practically no service at breakfast & every morning we did battle to get a table, & then get it cleaned, set etc. The pool area is clean & well maintained, but isn't sufficient in size to cope with the amount of guests, & be aware..the beach is not private, is small & sun beds aren't free. There is a chronic smell of drains throughout the pool area..not nice while having lunch there. Out room was like last year, a good size, with a good size bathroom, but was extremely 'tired' in it's decor & everything stank of stale smoke. All of the furniture in the hotel, from the dining room to the bedroom was dirty, sticky, tacky to the touch & the bathroom had quite a bit of mould. However, all this said, we hired a car & spent most of every day on a different beach around the island..which was absolutely wonderful. Don't go expecting 5*....this simply isn't true & the price you will pay should reflect that. But it is in a great location & simply needs renovation. Staff are lovely & dinner in the evening was pretty good.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Louisekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
There are newer reviews for Corfu Holiday Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

I was torn between this and other hotels, but chose this due to the simple 10 minute taxi transfer from the airport for a few euros rather than the normal rip off coach and long waits.

The hotel initially has a beautiful reception area of marble, the food was great for a buffet and breakfasts too. The entertainment was more couples than family but it was fine.

The pool was clean and very nice, and the views were probably the best I have had on a holiday for many years in europe anyway.

I would without doubt stay in this hotel again, there are many negative reviews about it being a 5*, most people are aware a 5* in Greece or Spain is not the same standard as the UK, I would rate this as a Holiday Inn for quality and comfort. It used to be a Hilton Continental and the whole crew and Roger Moore stayed there in 1981 whilst filming "For your eyes only" so it can't be that bad!

There is a bus just outside (number 2) takes you to corfu town in 15 mins, buy the tickets cheaper from the shop, then get the number 8 to Aqualand for a day out.

The car hire in the hotel was 55 euro per day for small car, but zero excess on the CDW which was good.

The lake view, yes it can be noisy but you get used to it, the problem isn't every plane landing or taking it off, it is when they reverse the runaway and take off the opposite way as the planes turn around at the end and fire up the engine speed right by the hotel, maybe this happen every 4th flight. Take some ear plugs or opt for the Sea view, I will next time probably go for the sea view... if you can pick floor 6 or 7 and a room in the middle for best views.

The rooms were more than adequate, very clean and very well built to a high standard.

My only moan would be the lifts, only 2 out of 3 were operational and 1 broke down a few times, this left long waiting times for the lift for meals and busy times.

The staff were made up of many lovely Latvian or Lithuanian girls, who were all very friendly.

I would rate my stay a 8/10 and would have no issue rebooking again here, also being near the airport is a major perk, you can get a taxi in 10 mins and be at the airport 10 mins later!

I would also note that the hotel had a good quality of people, without sounding snobby most people there were pretty decent, there wasn't the tattooed all inclusive crowd getting drunk and swearing lots.

Room Tip: Floors 6 or 7, Ocean view and go for middle of hotel. Lakeview can be noisy on planes taking of...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Connor25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Myself and My partner stayed for a 4 day stay, 4th floor with seaview. Room was really nice, plenty large enough with aircon and excellent view overlooking the pool area.
The pool gets the usual towel down to reserve madness so by the time we meandered down at 10.30/11.00 it was full! If you get down early enough you can get clean downs I hear. No worries because there is a lovely little beach area down a quirky funicular lift that takes you down from poolside to sea level. Beware though, as you have to pay for the sun loungers down there, 8 Euros a pair.
We were staying bed and breakfast. Breakfast times were a bit crazy, you walk in and find yourself a table which again, if you aren't up at the crack of dawn can be a little challenging. Breakfast was good, all the usual fair - griddle attendance making fried eggs and omelettes too.
For us the crazy sight of planes coming into land, so close, was only a benefit.
Overall a great few days - so good we've booked to go back in a couple of weeks with the kids this time. Hoping for more of the same......

Room Tip: Pool and sea view rooms are great
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank KerryK165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Even if we've booked our sea view room and paid it to the agent since mid February, the room given to us was on the 2nd floor, on the same level as the reception , only partially overlooking the sea and directly exposed to the noise coming from the bar . Since the room had no balcony but only a kind of terrace with no fence and almost everybody could have entered it , every time we left the room we had to be very careful and not leave the terrace door open which was very annoying considering the difficult locking system. One day when we returned we found the terrace door left opened by the cleaning staff .
Moreover, on Saturday evening, the hotel staff slipped a notice under the door in order to apologise for the Greek Wedding organised at the pool, just in front of our room !!!
I should add that the room had no Wi FI connection and the TV set was very old with a broken remote control .
What bothered me most is that in the moment of the check-in the receptionist didn't take into the consideration the reservation moment written on the voucher : guests from the same group as us received sea view rooms on upper floors even if they booked the rooms in May or June. The hotel should ,,encourage" the guests who reserve early and provide them with the best ones and avoid the frustration .
Of course, there were also positive aspects about this staying : the room and the bathroom were spacious and clean, the dinner was very delicious with plenty of choices, the fabulous view from the restaurant , the very convenient lift to the pebble beach, the interesting entertaining programme in the evenings , the extremely helpful staff from the restaurant .

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view on upper floors (6,7) are the best .
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nicol_Diaconu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We had read all the fab reviews about this hotel so decided to book it. The lake view picture looks great online, better than the sea view but it is not. They neglected to add the runway in the middle of the lake... although you get used to it. If you like to spend time on your balcony, pay a little extra for the sea view as if you do ask to change (as we did) it was €40 per night!

It is definitely not 5*. The only 5* aspect of this hotel are George and Efi who are the bartenders at the main bar - they really did make our holiday. George is the best cocktail makers I have ever come across and he is brilliant. Efi provided a first class genuine service. Our first night there we asked what a few phrases were and she excitedly went away and wrote down the main ones we needed. We went in every night after eating in Corfu town (don't eat at the hotel unless you like buffet food - even if you do, it is cheaper to get the bus into town and eat in town than it is at the hotel) and had a George Special! They were brilliant and made our stay very special!

The rooms were clean and they provided you with (nice) shower gel, shampoo & conditioner, although they were tiny and as a whole the hotel looked the part.

If you like lounging by the pool, it is advisable to get up before 8 to get a lounger. Certain people ruined it for others by getting up early, laying their towels out and not coming back until past 12... when I questioned the pool attendant, he just shrugged his shoulders. We didn't spend too much time there. Also the pool is a fresh water pool.

We wouldn't stay there again for the money we paid but if we were ever to go back, we would go to see our favourite bar (as long as George and Efi are still there!).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in a bungalow, and we were surprised that this was supposed to be a 4 star hotel when we arrived. There were spiderweb in every corner and dead (and alive) bugs in our room. The health club was not clean either.

The reception, the restaurant and the pool-area was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and service-minded. But I would not recommend staying in the bungalows.

Room Tip: Our bungalow was not clean.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Have stayed at this hotel three times so far, (partly because of the Swedish musicians being there in April & Sept) ....it's full of charm, with a nice adult feel, not geared up for kids which if so desired, is a big plus. Also really close to Corfu town, so giving the feeling of a two centre holiday. The hotel has a nice feeling of the past about it, so if you are not after the all too perfect, but a bit of character, then this real value for money hotel could be ideal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ValerieDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanoni
5.8 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
489 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 11 in Corfu Town
668 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corfu Holiday Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corfu Holiday Palace

Address: Nafsikas Street 2, Kanoni 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kanoni
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kanoni
Price Range: £72 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corfu Holiday Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first luxury hotels in Corfu, this hotel is the only one in the island with a direct view to the famous ‘Mouse Island’’ the trademark of Corfu Island. Set in magnificent landscaped gardens /45000 sq. m./ with an abundance of pine- eucalyptus and cypress trees, well maintains its prominent position amongst Corfu’s top hotels. The hotel is very close to Corfu town and also nearby the major archaeological sites offering the perfect base for those seeking to explore the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Corfu Holiday Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Corfu Holiday Palace Hotel Kanoni
Aquis Corfu Holiday Palace Kanoni
Corfu Holiday Palace Kanoni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing