We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food friendliness and surroundings.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margarita Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Margarita Apartments
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ipsos
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food friendliness and surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

After returning to Ipsos after 29 yrs we were pleasantly surprised that the place hasn't lost its charm. The family run Margarita apartments was just what we needed. Nothing was too much trouble, and feel the restaurant should be recognised as somewhere to try, we did eat elsewhere on occasion but couldn't fault the breakfast lunch or evening meal here. Our recommendation can't come highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    46
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
37
139
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Reading other reviews, I think how much you enjoy staying here depends on what you are looking for in a holiday and if you've researched before booking~ why tripadvisor is such a good idea.
We stayed for 10 days from September 15th and had travelled from 2.30 am when we arrived so were looking to wind down. We couldn't believe that the transfer coach managed to get up the tiny, steep roads to get us there as it is on the way up the mountain and so the views are spectacular and unspoiled.
We were given a warm welcome by Tracy who showed us up to our rooms ~ there isn't a lift but you could always use the little road that runs up the side as a ramp instead of the stairs?~ we didn't mind lifting our cases as she is heavily pregnant, but Chris and Dimitris helped people with their luggage when they were on reception.
Our room was as expected~ this is Greece, who have had an economic collapse~ it was clean, with simple facilities and a bit dated, but this is exactly what we wanted~ a total break from the grind. There aren't ovens, microwaves or tv's but the bar has sky and a tv room so you could watch anything you really wanted there. The fridge was quite loud, but in a comic way, and we didn't mind heating water to make coffee or boil eggs~ there are shops up the hill after a five minute walk and we liked seeing the cats and chickens on our walks up there to get tomatoes and bread and so on. We liked the bar for snacks and only had one evening meal there~ it was like having a home-cooked dinner~ they were the only place we found that would sell you a litre of the fantastic local wines, everywhere else only does it by the 1/2 litre.
The shower was a pleasant surprise in that it was always hot with good pressure but, if you hadn't got the curtain across enough you could easily flood the little bathroom!

The towels were changed very regularly, the bins everyday ( no tissue down the toilets so necessary!) and the cleaner was very sensitive to our lie-ins!
Initially, we opted not to buy air-con and slept with the doors open with the shutters and curtain closed but this led to us being treated to the dawn chorus of dogs having a bark-off and multiple cockerels crowing~ which was quite funny~ but also being snacked on by mosquitoes, which wasn't. In the end, we bought the same mosquito-repelling burner that was burning in the bar and lit it before we went out at night then had air-con and, given how bitten some people were, this worked out as a good call; only down-side is that everything stank of smoke and had to be washed when we got home! Definitely take insect-repellent as they are sneaky and we got bitten when we were out too, even in jeans.
Overall, the whole complex was in great condition given that it's family run and that Chris and Dora are older and Tracy expecting. The pool was immaculate, the loungers are getting on a bit but are fine, the gardens are brilliant with oranges and pomegranates growing and lovely flowers. The area itself is a typical Greek mix of stunning flora and random half-finished buildings, derelict houses and rubbish but, depending on whether you mind this, this is part of it's charm! The people are generally really friendly but older men in particular can be quite dismissive of tourists ( we had a few weird experiences in shops where they made their disapproval clear) . We found that Dimitri and Tracy were really affable and chatty and it is a popular spot with the ex-pats who hotel-hop to visit friends~ there was a pleasant personal-touch to the bar service, possibly because it was quieter as nearing the season-end?, we felt that we were able to do as we pleased. If you can't stand passive-smoking this may not be ideal for you, it did irritate us a bit, but it seemed to be quite normal for people to smoke in restaurants.

Food-wise, there are some great places to eat and the hill-walk to and from Ipsos' main-strip was probably good for our waistlines! We particularly rated 'Squirrels' for their absolutely delicious traditional-Greek food, most of it home-grown, their amazing husband and wife team who run front of house and kitchen respectively, and the free dessert which you get when you ask for the bill! ( yummy apple fritters). This was just down the hill from Dominoes and Dreams who were party-central in the middle of nowhere!; one night we were able to gate-crash a Greek night at Dominoes (whose pool and grounds are gorgeous) and another we wandered into Dreams where the super-friendly barman Statis gave us free shots because he'd seen us walk by so much he felt like he knew us!
On the sea-front we really liked Phoebus because the maitre d' was really nice and was happy to talk to us about events in Athens at the time; the food was above average, the kleftiko particularly fresh tasting, and again there were freebies with the bill in the way of shots.
Moby Dicks was exceptional too~ really delicious, freshly-prepared and their pasta well worth trying~ all with a stunning view of the bay and under grape vines.

It was quite sad to see how many bars were mostly empty, the club was shut and there were quite a few completely closed bars and restaurants. It would be interesting to see how different it is earlier on in the season.
In terms of shops; There are lots of supermarkets open for food and sweets and so on and also a few for gifts. The gift shops were hit and miss and we were disappointed at how expensive it could be to buy t-shirts and local-sourced toilettries. But there is a brilliant atelier for art-lovers and some gems in the oddest of places.

The beach was disappointing~ right next to the road and only a few metres wide~ but there are water sports if you feel like mono-boarding or ringos and the view is stunning.

We did very little apart from eat, swim a bit and laze about and would go back but maybe a bit earlier, and would make more trips out, to Corfu town for example.
It was good for the money and a typical Greek holiday. If you want to switch off from the hectic 9-5 of the UK, it is a great way to unwind as it is a slower-paced, more basic way of life.
If you are not keen on walking up and down steep hills but don't want to stay in the apartments all the time, it won't suit you so it may be worth hiring a moped or a car; if you are looking to party all the time it won't suit you either because Ipsos is no longer the busy nightlife-centred place it apparently was 20 years ago~ Paliokastritsa or Kavos would be better for Corfu plus clubs.

We enjoyed our relaxing stay and really hope that things continue to go well for Chris, Dora, Dimitri and Tracey.

Room Tip: Great views, noisy fridge, no oven or tv, beds a bit uncomfortable, nice pool, back-to-basics
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Lovely little place, a little off the beaten track with a slight walk uphill back from town. Service and value is excellent and all the staff are very friendly helpful an couldn't do enough for you! Food at apartment bar was fantastic. A real hidden gem had a fantastic peaceful holiday would defiantly return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sally22_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just back from a fantastic week at the Margarita Apartments. Chris, Dora, Tracey and Dimitris made us very welcome and made our holiday just perfect. The apartments are set in fantastic scenery and are lovely and clean. The best part is Dora’s cooking, I have been visiting Greece on and off since 1980 and this was the best Greek cooking ever. There are lots of lovely walks around Ipsos although would suggest a torch if you are going to the village at night. Great apartments the best Greek family ever look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms face the mountains so all are just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lillyted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is hidden gem of a place, it has very relaxing and friendly atmosphere, the views from the rooms are stunning. I agree with all of those that say this is one of the most relaxing holidays they have ever had.

The owners seem genuinely pleased to have you stay and are welcoming without being intrusive.
The accommodation is basic, but very well maintained, very clean and I thought comfortable. The grounds and pool are immaculate.

The bar and food prices are very reasonable its around 3 euro for a pint of lager, 3.50 euro for spirit and mixer and the wine they have is very cheap and very nice and there is a nice atmosphere here at night, you get the impression nothing is too much trouble. The food is very nice didn't have one bad meal. For a couple of starters and couple of main courses, couple of beers and half carafe of wine you could expect to pay around maybe 25-30 euro, which considering the setting is excellent.

I cant really see any negative to side to the place but like to be subjective and think that if you are older or not so fit it is up hill and the shops the local shops aren't an easy walk, my advice would be hire some transport and go and enjoy it. I would certainly recommend this to anyone who wants to kick back and completely relax.

Room Tip: all I would say is if your not happy with your room and they can change am sure they will, they owne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jco01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

had our first holiday staying at the margarita apartments,had a terrific time,Tracey,Dimitris,Chris and Dora, made the holiday very special, they are very lovely people and made the holiday for us,good luck with the twins, love Steve and Jane,
from Brighton

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nonna123622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just returned from 2 lovely peaceful weeks at the Margarita apartments (27 Aug – 10 Sep 13)
A stunning location with lovely food and drink along with beautifully kept gardens and a well maintained large swimming pool made this one of the most relaxing holidays I’ve had in a long time.
Thanks to Tracy and Dimitrius for looking after us so well during our stay and a special thanks to Dora in the kitchen for the beautifully prepared food and Chris for his hard work in maintaining the apartment gardens and swimming pool to such a high standard.

Already booking for next year

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipsos
0.7 mi away
Hotel Yannis Corfu
Hotel Yannis Corfu
#2 of 7 in Ipsos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ipsos Beach
Ipsos Beach
#4 of 7 in Ipsos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jason Hotel
Jason Hotel
#3 of 7 in Ipsos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Matoula Apartments
Matoula Apartments
#1 of 20 in Acharavi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
26.8 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
11.4 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarita Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita Apartments

Property: Margarita Apartments
Address: Kato Korakalia, Ipsos 490 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Ipsos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ipsos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in a quiet area but only 900m from the beach, the hotel is surrounded by peaceful gardens and amazing mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Margarita Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita Apartments Hotel Ipsos
Margarita Apartments Corfu/Ipsos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing