We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a fantastic location on a beautiful island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kontokali
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a fantastic location on a beautiful island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Well designed, low impact property just outside the beautiful and historic town of Corfu, and also great for touring - up the coast to Nissaki or across the Island for sunset. Very friendly and helpful team. Great buffet breakfasts. Fantastic beachfront amenities to suit either couples (out on the decking) or families (on the beach).

Room Tip: Don't get worked up about a seaview room. We had a beautiful family room facing the Marina and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eoin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
“Dear Eoin D,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you for your frank and candid comments posted on the site. We are delighted you enjoyed our services, facilities and our lovely green island-Corfu in general.

We appreciate your kind words about the team and we all look forward to seeing you back soon for another delightful holiday with us.”

With warm regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    322
    84
    22
    9
See reviews for
419
618
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful hotel. Amazing views with lovely beach, decking and pool areas during the day. We had a bungalow which was lovely. we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and had a bottle of wine, roses and a basket of fruit in our room which was wonderful.

Downside which we think is due to going at the beginning of the season as there was only one restaurant open in the evening - this was a buffet with fabulous cold options and lots of hot options but for sadly we found them lacking seasoning. Having said that the lunch beach bar options were fabulous.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenFellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
“Dear KarenFellows,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday (30th wedding anniversary) at KONTOKALI BAY RESORT AND SPA and for your kind words posted on Tripadvisor site.

Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your holiday with us was a pleasant and enjoyable one.

Once again, allow us to express our appreciation for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort on your next Holiday to Corfu.

With kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

During our stay of a week, we were pleasantly surprised of the hotel!

More specific:
The staff was incredibly friendly and always of assistance, in many languages. We travel a lot but never witnessed this high standard of service.

It's the first stop from the airport with the tour operator bus. Important if you travel with a baby like we did. Meaning very close to Corfu town as well.

Very baby friendly. They have done everything in their power to accommodate us for our baby. Thank you!

The rooms in the main building were a bit outdated but we were told they will be renewed next winter like the bungalows which are renewed already. Still, everything was in great condition and thoroughly cleaned.

For people who like great food, it's the place to be. The lunch buffet especially deserves extra mentioning!

Seaside room = morning sun. Marina side = afternoon sun
For sun & beach holidays, this must be the best place you can find in Corfu!

The only thing with room for improvement is the slow wifi. The speed is too slow throughout the hotel.

Conclusion: great value for money!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Maarten O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
“Dear Maarten O,

Kalimera!!!

It was our great pleasure taking care of you and your baby on your recent holiday at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for the lovely compliments. It is rewarding to hear that the quality and attentiveness of the service was exceptional and I have passed your kind words to all the team.

I do hope that you will visit again in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I am just home from a fabulous week in Corfu. I had been in Corfu 32 years ago and I had remembered seeing the Kontokali bay hotel and thinking, wouldn't that be a beautiful view to wake up to. I stayed in a sea view room and saw the sun rising one morning over the sea, it was stunning. The hotel is in a fantastic location with a private beach which is spotless.I was supplied with 2 beach towels and a sun lounge, the sea was cold initially but was lovely when I got used to it. I availed of the S pa facilities in the evening.The staff were very friendly throughout the complex. I was booked half board and while the breakfast was good, Iwas disappointed with the main courses for dinner, all the meats tasted the same and the meat was generally tough. I had problems with the wifi but it was sorted at reception. My room was serviced every day but it was really only a makeover, the floor was not cleaned and some items such as coffee or milk was not restocked which was annoying.
I hired a car form Topcar and I was delighted with the service offered, I had researched car hire and Topcar came well recommended and I can vouch for them plus they have the most reasonable prices. It takes a little while to get used to the driving, a tip would be to drive to Sidari early on as the road is good and once you get back to Kontokali you will be very comfortable driving, use your map and explore the countryside, the views will stay with you. If you are going into Corfu town, drive towards the port area, there is plenty of parking.
Don't forget to bring your plug adapters, they are difficult to buy out there. There is a Lidl supermarket as you enter Corfu from Kontokali and the prices are reasonable, get your fruit and water here, there is also a bakery in store.
I had a most relaxing week and will return.

Room Tip: Sea view on the 4th floor, I saw the sun rising one morning and it was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FOurOFus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
“Dear FOurOFus09,

Kalimera!!

Congratulation on discovering us at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa!

It is rewarding to hear that after 32 years of coming to Corfu your first holiday at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa was a pleasant and relaxing one.

Thank you for taking the time to describe our services and facilities. I will certainly discuss them with the team the dinner main courses and the housekeeping issues you raised, as it’s paramount for us to have constructive feedback from our guests in order to improve aspects of our services that don’t meet the standards set by the management.

We are delighted that we were able to enhance your holidays with pleasant memories and we are also grateful that your share your Corfu-experiences in public, so potential visitors can read them

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future holiday and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.”

With kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Currently staying at this hotel. Normally we do a lot of research before committing to a booking, so we were quite disappointed when we entered our room. Whilst the room has a nice view, it is in definite need of a refurbishment. To give you an idea, it's not particularly clean, the decor is in 1980s style and the bed has no duvet, but a tired looking blanket, which doesn't seem very hygienic. The sofa in the room has stains on it. The room just feels quite dirty and outdated.
The hotel grounds look nice and the staff are friendly, but the restaurant has plastic chairs and cats in the common areas. For me, it just doesn't meet 5 star standards.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank doodey35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
“Dear doodey35,

Kalimera!!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

I do feel a bit awkward replying on Tripadvisor to a guest who is still staying in our resort. I reckon it’s the age of technology, but the entire team is …available to listen and assist you.

While we cannot …refurbish the room this year (all rooms in the main building will be done by next year), we would be happy to assign you a newly refurbished bungalow-room that we renovated all this year.

Just for record, all photos and information in our web-site are actual photos of the current rooms (e-brochure /room description) in order not to mislead or disappoint our guests when they see the actual rooms. Yes, we do not have duvets, but the blankets are well maintained. Yes, the chairs in the outdoor beach Tavern have aluminum frame with quality plastic sitting (guests are sitting with their bathing suits). Yes, we also have cats, we are in nature close to Kontokali village and we try to feed them away from the guests, but when cats smell food a few of them are coming and we cannot control it properly, please forgive us, but we don’t like to mistreat small animals.

Every guest is entitled to his/her opinion and “a hotel is what the guest thinks it is” and I respect that, but a hotel is not only hardware and luckily you have …problems only with that.

Lastly, I do apologize that we did not meet with your expectations, I regret that you chosen this way to pass on ….your message and I wish you a pleasant remaining of your holiday.”

With kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Please note when reading this review, this hotel is marked as a five star.
Very impressed with the views and the outside areas of the hotel.
No real greeting of what is what in hotel apart from being told about book in room.
Staff very polite but the service could be with a smile.
Lovely flowers and breakfast left in room. The rooms are not deserving of 5 star more like 3+ as they could do with a refurbishment and the cleaning could be better for example the bath has not been cleaned. The restaurant staff probably the most friendly ie they smile. The food is very good with lots of choice but to charge for water is a bit much!
The spa is excellent and the staff are very accommodating and very friendly.
Wifi at hotel is poor and had to come to reception to get the best reception.
The jewelry store is okay if you are mega rich for example £4,000 euro for a pair of earrings!
The shop does not sell English magazines or newspapers but sells German and French!
Would we stay here again, well worth it for the views and Spa but with so much more choice on the island I guess it's a 'no'

Room Tip: Ask for Marina views. Cheaper but as you are normally in room later in day the sun is on room later...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Tonja B,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you for your recent review of Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.

Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and I am sorry to learn that some aspects of our resort did not meet with your expectations. We welcome well intentioned observation / criticism as it helps us monitor the level of service we provide.

As I commented in other reviews we are in process of refurbishing the rooms in the main building; however, our housekeeping team is keeping them very clean and tidy and I do apologize if in one occasion you found your bath not cleaned properly.

All shops at the resort run independently and the problem with the newspapers is throughout Corfu as there is a problem with the island’s main supplier.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa in person at some point in the future and to restore your faith in the hotel and us.”

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

My husband & I arrived at the hotel on sarurday 3rd May. It was pouring down with rain and pretty grey, so as expected we were dissapointed. However we found the spa had free facilities such as the jacuzzi, steam rooms & an indoor heated pool. So we made the most of them! By sunday the rain had cleared and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the hotel restaurant. We had gone for a bed & breakfast option only, though half board would have been a good option as the buffer lunch served was fantastic. We enjoyed the lunch 3 times and it cost us on average 30euros in total with no alcohol. We also tried the dinner on 2 ocassions however we were both not very impressed with it. It was 22euros per head, which was expensive for what was on offer. There was plenty of choice but we just didnt enjoy the food. So we ate out most evenings which was cheaper and we also enjoyed it too.

The staff could not have been more helpful if they tried. They were very friendly, helpful & informative.

The pool was great! Though the water was the coldest i have ever known a pool to have! But i was told this was because it was sea water, which would explain why it tasted so salty, but very refreshing!

Overall we had a great & very relaxing stay at this wonderful resort & would highly recommend it to anyone looking for some relaxtion. Being 6 months pregnant we didnt want anything to active!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
“Dear Aman S,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you for your review of the Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable holiday despite of the weather.

We will take into consideration all your comments (strengths and weakness) as it helps us to improve our facilities and services in the future.

We pride ourselves on the service and facilities we provide to our guests and this is only made possible by the great team we have at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa. I am personally going to pass on your kind words to the team.

Thank you for recommending us and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.”

PS: We wish you all the best with the baby!!

With kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kontokali
10.3 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
13.7 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
6.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Property: Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Address: Iridos Street, Kontokali 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kontokali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kontokali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KONTOKALI BAY RESORT & SPA is a Hotel-Bungalow complex on the central eastern shoreline of the emerald Isle of Corfu, situated only 6 kms. from the island’s capital, Corfu Town. Built on a densely wooded peninsula and on a natural incline, the main building of the Kontokali Bay overlooks both the sparkling blue waters of the Ionian Sea that separates Corfu from the taupe, coastal mountains of the Greek mainland and the Gouvia Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontokali Bay Hotel Kontokali
Kontokali Bay Hotel Corfu
Kontokali Bay Resort And Spa Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing