We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall excellent but let down by rooms and some attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kontokali
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Kontokali Bay has many good things going for it. The beach and pool are lovely and it was always possible to find sunbeds even though the hotel was full. We particularly liked the beach area to the right as you came out of the hotel as it was smaller, less busy and more relaxing.

The pool was also lovely with a great view out to see but was overrun with small kids with no area for a more relaxing swim, so you need to be prepared for getting bombed or a wayward ball hitting you on the head.

The main disappointment was the rooms which were not of the standard one would expect in terms of size, quality or comfort. The beds are extremely hard giving both my wife and I sore backs and not a good nights sleep. Toiletries were also pretty poor quality. Fortunately we had brought our own, but this does not reflect well on their attention to quality and detail. Also, the water was seldom hot enough for a bath.

I had emailed ahead to request a double and twin room next to one another which they said should be okay. However having checked in we had 2 doubles which were 3 rooms apart which was somewhat disappointing.

Free wifi is advertised as being available throughout the hotel but the signal and speed in our room made it almost unusable.

Breakfast was chaos and not of the quality you would expect. At busy times there were just far to many people trying to access too small a buffet area so you have to be prepared for a struggle to negotiate the buffet area. A five star hotel should serve fresh fruit juice, but these were pretty undrinkable postmix. There was a pretty wide variety of food but again quality was not always great and by the end of our stay it had become pretty monotonous.

Service at breakfast was extremely friendly as was the case throughout the hotel creating a good atmosphere.

We had hoping there would be some nightlife walkable from the hotel to keep our teenage children entertained in the evening, but unfortunately this was limited to a few restaurants which was fine for eating but hardly buzzing.

We hired a car which I would recommend as there are so many nice places to visit. We also rented a boat for the day and had a great time, finding some beautiful bays and coves.

Corfu town is well worth a visit with some fantastic buildings and streets and is lovely to wander around but can be pretty oacked in the evenings and the shops in the old town just sell the same tat everywhere.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are good if you want the evening sun but noisier as over the car park and access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank PAS_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

“Dear PASS_Surrey,

Kalimera!!

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.

Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and any comments that help us to maintain the high standards for which Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa is known, are warmly welcomed.

I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for us,
regardless of whether it is good or bad, and it helps us monitor the service we provide. I made careful notes of all your remarks to discuss it with team.

We hope that we may welcome you back in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact me directly at manager@kontokalibay.gr so I may take personal care of your booking.”

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived on July 22nd and we're. Delighted with our upgrade, we were really delighted with our suite!
It was fabulous, choice of food at breakfast and dinner and also lunch was lovely I ate a lot!

The staff were so so friendly and couldn't be more helpful, especially Stamatis in the dining room, he was so sweet. I had my 10 month old and 5 year old and both girls were made such a fuss of. It was an answer to all our prayers. This hotel and holiday will be one we will remember for a long long time.

Thanks so much to all of you at Kontokali Bay resort

Best wishes Brayley Family from Ayrshire Scotland

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Iheartrodospalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

“Dear Iheartrodospalace,

Kalimera!!

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and I am thrilled that you felt your holiday was exceptional.

I am happy to see that we managed to surprise you with the upgrade, and delighted to hear that you had the most wonderful holiday at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Beautiful located hotel with friendly staff specifically asked for sea view accomadation but only supplied garden view asked to be changed but was only offered similar room with garden view in other end of location and declined ,very undermanned front desk and did not really seem concerned . Room out dated and lacked normal 5 star facilities. Staff biggest plus and food of good standard . Wi Fi reception very average

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room if you want to get advantage of this location .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

“Dear Peter F,

Kalimera!!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments although disappointed to hear that you found the service from our reception to be inadequate.

Regarding you heading, I would say that “a hotel is what the guest thinks it is” and I don’t mind with that as long as his/her experience(s) justify it. In your case you requested a sea view room that we couldn’t provide and your reservation was eventually made for a garden view.

It’s our policy always to provide to our guest(s) the reserved room type. In rare case(s) (sold out periods) that we don’t have it, we inform the guest that we will change his room next day or upgrade him; we never give a less expensive room as you imply in your review.

Furthermore, most of our rooms in the main building are a bit dated, but they are very clean and of good standards and this winter we will renovate all of them along with the WIFI.

Thank you for your compliments about our personnel who appreciates any feedback they receive and I hope to welcome you back to Corfu at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa in a future holiday.”

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was our 1st visit to Corfu and we had a great time. The hotel is fantastic and only about a 20 minute drive from the airport. We had a room with a sea view which was lovely. The room was older in style than those shown in the photos on their website (I guess those are the more expensive ones), but it was very clean and well appointed, the bed was really comfortable and it had air conditioning which is essential. We cannot fault the hotel in any way, the staff are all really friendly/helpful.

We stayed B&B and the breakfast is excellent. You can have lunch at the beach tavern (buffet) which has many different options including meat and fish barbecued to order or the Albatros A La Carte restaurant which is excellent.

For dinner we ate several times in the Asterias A La Carte restaurant which serves amazing food and the service is superb. Captain Luakas and his team are all lovely and they made dinner a very enjoyable experience.

We stayed for a week and spent most of the time relaxing on one of the 2 beaches. We also hired a boat from the hotel one afternoon which was great fun. You can also do water skiing, paragliding, fun rings, etc (see hotel website for more details). There is also a tennis court which is free for guests to use, a table tennis table and games room.

We would definitely like to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room on the 3rd floor and the view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

“Dear David L,

Kalimera!!

Congratulation on discovering us at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa!

Thank you for the positive comments on our property. Great customer service, unique holiday experience (quality food and accommodation) are our #1 goal and we are so pleased that you gave us the opportunity to serve you.

Your lovely comments about Captain Lucas (A la Carte) are greatly appreciated and have been shared with the team members who are delighted to read that they were able to add value to your stay.

We're delighted that you have been so pleased with the level of service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you many more times in the future.”

With kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I have now stayed at this hotel 3 times & have never been disappointed with the service or facilities that are offered. It is exactly what we need to help us relax & unwind from our busy lives. All the staff are extremely friendly & professional in everything they do. It is lovely to see some staff that were working at the hotel the first time we stayed are still there. To us is means that it must be a good place to work. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again probably in 2016 to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Thank you again for a wonderful holiday.

Liz & Chris Reay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

“Dear Liz R,

Kalimera!!

Thank you for your excellent comments posted on TripAdvisor. It is very rewarding to read such comments from a valued repeat-guest like you that you thoroughly enjoyed you holiday and that we are …still able to fulfill your needs.

The Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa culture has been created over decades and it is the culmination of shared values, assumptions and beliefs and determines how people behave and work gets done. This has as a result - consistent personalized guest service and paying attention to detail – EVERY TIME.

I will pass on the compliments to all associates and I am certain your kind words will encourage them to continue their hard work to provide unique experiences to all of our guests at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.

Thank you once more for your exquisite review and we look forward to welcoming you back sooner than 2016.”

With kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great hotel and staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Stayed on a b&b basis and quality and abundance of food at breakfast was exceptional.
Room was very comfortable - only issue was that the shower leaked onto the floor but otherwise very good. Facilities excellent - from the infinity pool to the beach areas - all well kept, clean and well managed. Didn't use the spa but friends said it was very good. Prices a little bit high in the bar (to be expected) but there are good local tavernas and bars within a 20min walk (close to the marina) which mean you can eat and drink relatively cheaply.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

“Dear Chris W,

Kalimera,

Thank you for the wonderful comments of our property. I'm so pleased we were able to meet your expectations.

Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and the high percentage of repeat guests we have at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa is because of our personnel, which is the ‘heart and soul’ of our values.

It makes us particularly happy when our guests explore Corfu and see how pretty this green-island is and how many attractions it offers.

We look forward to having you as our guest again; all the best from Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa management and staff.”

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for 1 week at this hotel at beginning of July on a bed & breakfast deal. when I booked, I paid for a bay view room after reading reviews from other travellers. On arrival, I was upgraded to a sea view room which was amazing. The breakfast was really good, plenty of choice for everyone, and the staff were very pleasant and very hard working. The pool and beach areas were also very well kept and plenty of sunbeds at both were always available. All in all this rates as one of the very best hotels I have stayed at and would certainly go back in the future.

Room Tip: Sea view room, amazing views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ASpeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

“Dear ASpeller,

Kalimera!!

Lovely review ….

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent holiday with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted you found our facilities very accommodating and our staff very pleasant and friendly. We want our guest to experience many different things which can be retained as a pleasant memory to be recounted amongst friends and family when they stay with us.

I will pass on your compliments to all associates and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort next summer for another wonderful holiday-experience.”

Warm regards,

A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kontokali
10.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,433 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,435 reviews
1.1 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
2.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Address: Iridos Street, Kontokali 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kontokali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kontokali
Price Range: £82 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KONTOKALI BAY RESORT & SPA is a Hotel-Bungalow complex on the central eastern shoreline of the emerald Isle of Corfu, situated only 6 kms. from the island’s capital, Corfu Town. Built on a densely wooded peninsula and on a natural incline, the main building of the Kontokali Bay overlooks both the sparkling blue waters of the Ionian Sea that separates Corfu from the taupe, coastal mountains of the Greek mainland and the Gouvia Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontokali Bay Hotel Kontokali
Kontokali Bay Hotel Corfu
Kontokali Bay Resort And Spa Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing