We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent once more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kontokali
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent once more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed here in June (sorry for delay in posting) second visit to hotel in last 2 years, i think it was even better this year. Excellent position for visiting rest id Island and Corfu town. Staff were lovely as were all facilities. We had a garden bungalow room which at first i wasn't too impressed with but it was lovely and quiet and the cleaner was a star! Food and drinks in hotel high standard although we were only B&B couldn't resits trying the Lunch time meals in Beach Tavern.Will be back thats for sure! Thanks all

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackyandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
“Dear jackyandy,

Kalimera!!

Thank you very much indeed for your frank and candid comments posted on Tripadvisor. It is always nice to receive positive comments about our services and facilities, but more important for the friendliness of our personnel, especially from a repeat guest like you

It’s wonderful to know that your holiday with us was a great experience and that our location was convenient to within the island of Corfu.

Thank you for your continuing support and we will be looking forward to your future reservations!

With kind regards,”

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    322
    84
    22
    9
See reviews for
419
618
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

A really nice hotel with friendly courteous service. Great food and fantastic pools. The beach is clean and sea lovely. Have had a great relaxing week, especially liked the multi national feel with no one nationality dominating the hotel. If I was going to criticise anything, it would bethat the room we had was a little tired, and the orange juice at breakfast was not fresh.
Dont expect 5* as compared to perhaps other european countries, but if like us, you love Greece , you will understand and have a lovely time.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeandp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
“Dear janeandp,

Kalimera!!

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on the site.

We appreciate your kind comments recognizing our friendly and helpful staff and that you found our food great and the pools / beach-setting to your liking. We are glad to hear that you love Greece.

We hope to be able to welcome you back for another holiday to Corfu!

Warm regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Just back from a week here. Depends on your perspective. We spent 350 per night for a superior seaview room. For that price, it's not value for money. The hotel is not a five star - think Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton etc - they are 5 starts, Kontokali is just not comparable to a 5 star property. The grounds are very well maintained but even though we were in a renovated room, the standard was pretty basic and again not comparable to 5 star. I appreciate that it's peak time but this is very overpriced. Drinks at the hotel are very expensive too - €3.30 for a coke is just too expensive. I heard a few other couples complaining about the older rooms in the hotel which I know they are refurbishing. One really annoying thing is that the hotel insists on calling taxis for guests which will not use the meter. The taxis have fixed prices which as we all know means rip off for tourists. For example Gouvia which is the nearest town costs €10 (5 min drive), Corfu Town is €17 which is 10-15 minutes away. When we mentioned it to reception they said there was nothing they could do and that we could complain to the police!
Other annoyances - some staff were friendly, others a bit gruff. The towel policy of 1 per guest seems a little strange at a "5 star". Towels smelly at times. Not a great selection at the lunch buffet- food generally the same each day...although it was very tasty. Breakfast area a bit manic as all the food is served in one area and the dining room is huge. So lots of people rushing around each other.
The hotel was full but the bars seemed pretty empty particularly at 5.30 - 6.30 when you'd expect people to be having a couple of drinks after the day in the sun!

Good mix at the hotel of couples, older couples and families. Guests seemed to be from Russia, France, Germany and England.

The good:

Clean hotel, grounds very well maintained
Beautiful views across the sea
Pool area very clean
No issues getting sunbeds
Most staff polite and welcoming
Food always excellent quality

The bad:

Very expensive for what you're getting
Drinks overpriced
Taxi company problem
Rated 5 star but clearly not
Towel police
Selection at lunch restaurant doesnt really change


In a nutshell - would I return - probably not, it was a pleasant stay but I would try out somewhere else the next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iggamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
“Dear iggamania,

Kalimera!!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments of your recent experience with us on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for us, regardless of whether it is good or bad, as it helps us monitor the service we provide.

I regret to hear that your stay at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa was not fully to your satisfaction. We have developed your own unique culture, hospitality and style and we are not trying to emulate or compete with any other hotel brand name. We believe that guests will return with us when they like us. Thus, we are what we repeatedly do, and friendliness + quality service is not an act, but a habit for all of us here.

Most guests aren’t seeking perfection, they’re seeking a combination of quality and value, and that can be achieved by any caliber of property. Thus, we set realistic expectations and then trying to exceed them. The gap between expectations and results is the sweet spot where positive reviews are incubated. Apparently, we failed to do this very well in your case and for that I am truly sorry. Perhaps it's the peak of season.....

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corfu at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa to enable us to create a better experience for you.”

With kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Växjö, Kronobergs Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Kontokali Bay Resort is just a perfect place to visit during a vacation. You have splended views from the rooms out over the sea, very nice beach, restaurants with really really good food and service, comfortable and well cleaned room, good spa and staff who knows what they are doing and really take care of everything smoothly. Only poor thing was bad wifi inside rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms at sea side has nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
“Dear Peter E

Kalimera!!

Thank you for taking time to share your experience.

We are delighted to hear you loved our hotel setting / facilities and service. It gives us great pleasure to know you found our rooms clean and comfortable.

We appreciate your lovely comments recognizing our attentive and friendly personnel.

We do hope to welcome you back at Kontokali Bay resort and Spa very soon.

Warm regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our family had a rest in this hotel in August, 2014. It was the fourth visit of the island, but in this hotel we were in the first. It was really magnificent hotel. It is suitable as well as for rest with children, and to young pairs and married couples. The service from staff and the facilities at the hotel met with our expectations. First of all, ideally thought over planning of the territory: a set of footpaths which will always quickly bring into the right place. The hotel consists of the main building and complexes of a bungalow which are located in the territory of a fine garden. Here you can see a set of flowers and trees, among which palm trees, pines and even baobabs. We lived in Family Bungalow Sea View – in only two minutes from the sea. We there were with the child (16 months), and it was very convenient to us as the child having come to a terrace could walk on a lawn. Especially we want to note food at the restaurant. The food for a breakfast, lunch and dinner were delicious, also there was a children's menu. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and careful. We want to many thanks Maitre D’Hotel Kostas Doukas for his assistance in creation of the special menu and care of our child. In the room there was a beautiful and convenient children's bed. Cleaning in rooms was ideal, almost every day changed bed linen. The charming sandy beaches, the purest blue warm sea, the amazing sea landscapes - all this caused our admiration. Beautiful animation programs were remembered. They were pleasant as for children and adults. And one more of advantages –the hotel was not far to the Kerkira, capital of Corfu– by car about 10 minutes. Considering our bigger experience of trips on the island Corfu we surely can tell that Kontokali Bay Resort&Spa the best hotel on the island! Thanks from the deep of our hearts to Mr. Margonis. Natalia, Victor and our family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalist2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
“Dear natalist2007,

Kalimera!!!

Congratulations on discovering us at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa!

Thank you so much for your kind comments and feedback following your recent holiday with us.

It is always good to hear that our service and attention to detail have been noticed as these are the cornerstones of great guest care for us. We are lucky to have a team of individuals who simply love looking after our guests.

I will pass on the compliments to all associates and I am certain your kind words will encourage them to continue their hard work to provide unique experiences to all of our guests at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

I am so pleased that your overall experience was once again very memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future holiday to your home away from home in Greece.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.”

Warm regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Fantastic hotel beach, great infinity pool, no sun bed problem, good beach bar and great views from your room.

The beaches are pure sand, great for swimming in as shallow and in a bay with fab views. The 2 beaches are situated directly in font of the hotel with a good beach bar separating them. Sun beds free and bar service available.

The hotel itself is extremely well presented at all times and the staff very helpfull and pleasant.

The bars are a little expensive but there are other options around the hotel.

The hotel pool is great as well.

We had rooms 615, 617 and 626 all with beach views and across the bay to Corfu Town. All very large, well furnished, modern and kept immaculately clean.

Never a problem with sun beds never put a towell out before 9.30... No stress!

The Area is unusual. At first glance you would expect to dine out at the nearby Marina which is very nice but the street that is Kontokali village on the way to the Marina looks tired but you must look again. Harry's Taverna, The Zobra and the amazing Hotel pool bar Telesila are a must for food, service and atmosphere, much better than anything on the Marina or in Gouvia. Also, at the top of the lane, 200 yards from the hotel, is a great little taverna for lunch, half the price of the hotel.

The hotel pool bar Telesilla is an amazing restaurant in Kontokali village, the first time you pass it you may turn your nose up at it, especially if it is Elvis night but go in, eat and enjoy some of the best food, service at such a good price it is a must. Great cocktails for 6 euros.

A great family holiday in a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TyP1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
“Dear TyP1964,

Kalimera!!

Thank you very much indeed for your frank and candid comments posted on Tripadvisor. It is always nice to receive positive comments about our services and facilities, but more important for the friendliness of our personnel, especially from an appreciative guest like you.

Our team has the best interests of our guests at heart and we are always available for assistance whenever it is required.

Thank you once more for your very positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming back soon.”

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was such a wonderful holiday! I loved the beach, the pool, the spa, everything. The Spa treatments are amazing, there is free WiFi which is a bonus, all the staff are wonderful and so helpful!

I stayed in a Superior Sea View room which was so clean when we arrived, and they had a complimentary bottle of wine and water waiting for us which was such a nice touch. We were also half board, which was nice because you could choose lunch or dinner to accompany your breakfast, and they have places on site which are available for which ever meal you didn't have on your board basis. Breakfast and Dinner was wonderful in the buffet, everything was fresh and really delicious. There was so much to choose from too!

The waiters and waitresses were all so helpful and if you struggled with carrying your plate they didn't hesitate to help you! We asked to sit in specific places because of my Grandad's illness and they were more than attentive.

The resort itself was so close to the town centre, only a 10 minute taxi drive away and they called taxi's at the reception for you. The spa was absolutely amazing, I had a massage in there which was fairly priced and was so relaxing. You also get use of the sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, indoor pool and gym included in your room price which is lovely! All the staff in the spa were lovely too, so welcoming.

There was your usual run for sunbeds in the morning but that is expected at peak times during the summer holidays, but we didn't have to rush to secure them too early which was nice. There was also a little shop 5 minutes walk down the road which sold big packs of water which we bought and used because it was cheaper, but everything there was amazing!

One of the best holidays I have ever had, I can't find anything wrong with the week I spent there. I will definitely be going back, such a beautiful place and such wonderful people who help with everything and anything to ensure you have a wonderful time, definitely recommended!!

Room Tip: Superior Sea View, beautiful views and quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie_Crest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
“Dear Annie_Crest,

Kalimera!!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you’ve provided. Your thorough description of our property makes all of us feel very proud. It also encourages us to strive to improve even further our facilities and services to meet the expectations of appreciative guest like you.

I was absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We pride ourselves on the service and facilities we provide our guests and this is only made possible by the great team we have at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.

I am personally going to pass on your kind words to the team and I am certain your kind words will encourage them to continue their hard work to provide unique experiences to all of our guests at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa in the future.”

With kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kontokali
10.3 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
13.7 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
6.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Property: Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Address: Iridos Street, Kontokali 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kontokali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kontokali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KONTOKALI BAY RESORT & SPA is a Hotel-Bungalow complex on the central eastern shoreline of the emerald Isle of Corfu, situated only 6 kms. from the island’s capital, Corfu Town. Built on a densely wooded peninsula and on a natural incline, the main building of the Kontokali Bay overlooks both the sparkling blue waters of the Ionian Sea that separates Corfu from the taupe, coastal mountains of the Greek mainland and the Gouvia Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontokali Bay Hotel Kontokali
Kontokali Bay Hotel Corfu
Kontokali Bay Resort And Spa Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing