We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-furbished but still the same.”

Penguins Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 32 Restaurants in Vasiliki
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Re-furbished but still the same.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The restaurant has been refurbished since our last visit, however food & service remain the same, god only knows why we ventured into this place again. Seems Gary & Mary still own this place and have only one thing in mind, Your Money! Our meals were bland, small portions and I would think frozen and microwaved.Again, as soon as we said we wanted nothing else the bill arrived without asking, a not very subtle hint that they wanted us to leave and free up the table for the next unsuspecting tourists. Food/Drink is far from cheap and we certainly not give this place a third chance.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKGUY12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    23
    13
    10
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better stay hungry”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We ordered a greek salad, 2 starters and 2 pork souvlaki/kebab. The salad came without oil and lemon/vinegar. The oil that was on the table was certainly not olive oil. We tasted it before we put it in the salad and it tasted like used fried oil. We really couldnt tell what kind of oil it was. The starters (lefkada sausage and fried vegetables) were average. The pork kebab had more fat than meat and the french fries that was served with were undercooked and didnt taste well. The bread that was served in the beginning was also not fresh. We also ordered 2 cokes, which were not cold enough. For all the above we paid 50 euros, which is much higher that the value of the dinner served. Finally, sitting on the chairs and tables is the least to say uncomfortable since the space has a much lower capacity than what its owners believe.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ioannis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very rude staff, don't eat here”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We chose to eat here because we just wanted a light snack. Half way through our meal when we were waiting for our dessert we were asked by Mary the waitress if we could move to another table to finish off our meal as a large party of 12+ people had arrived and they wanted our table to make one long one. Being British and polite we did as we were asked but how rude was that! Dont order the Chefs Special Salad unless you enjoy eating a huge plateful of tomatoes! Overpriced and food not great. Would never go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Holidayqueen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best toilets in the area”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great welcome from mary and gary.....and fab toilets.....not like usual greek ones...meal great too next to sea

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“lovely”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

had a nice lunch right by the harbour..bought some ouzo from the man..haggled over the price..good fun.rich

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rich r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penguins Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Penguins Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing