We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, pretty and close to the beach”
Review of Billy's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Billy's House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Vasiliki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2011

You transfer to the beach via a small forest, this is nature! So please let your high-heels at home. We liked it because we are windsurfers, mountainbikers, runners - sportive outdoor people - 60 years but still running!. The rooms are easy but proper, laundry is changed 2times/week and the sitting places in the shadow of big trees with barbecue are really nice. The small kitchen outside we use to prepare breakfast or pasta. For lunch and dinner you will find a lot of bars and restaurants at the beach or in the village (10min). So i will go there in July again like i did in the last 8 years.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boarder99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2011

We have been staying at Billy's house two years in a row, for two weeks, in August(09/10). We are a family of four with two small boys. I have never been in a place with more hospitality and good service. The apartments are surrounded by a garden and trees and gives a relaxing atmosphere and also a very big place for the children to play safe. There are also a big kitchen outside to use if you would like to barbeque and drink some wine.
Everything is easy as the beach is very near, just follow a path and it takes 2 minutes, and a supermarket is also just 2 minutes away.
The rooms are practical and clean and we have never seen any animals near the house at all. We where also asked several times if everything was fine.
We do a lot of Windsurfing when we stay there and this is very easy accessible at the near by beach with several shops that rent out both windsurf equipment and catamarans.
I really like Vassiliki and Billy's house because of the good service, the friendliness and a good price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I have been to Billy's house during the first week of June 2010 with my girlfriend and 2 more couples.
In the beginning we stayed decently but in the end we had a very bad surprise, please read below...
LOCATION
The place is quiete close to the beach but to reach it you have to pass through a kind of "forest" so we preferred to reach the sea through an other way.
A market is just in front of the house and it's easy if you have to buy something.
The harbour of vasiliki is 5min walking distance.

ROOMS
Rooms are simple but equipped with TV and refrigerator (too old and noisy).
The bathrooms are very old and small and need a complete restyling.
The mattress was not comfortable to me and the first night we slept with only one single bed sheet as the housekeeping forgot to give us a double bed sheet.

KITCHEN
The kitchen is located outside the rooms and it's very small (1,5 square meters more or less) and has some camping stove to cook. Anyway we used the kitchen only once as restaurants' prices in Vasiliki are very low.

GARDEN
The garden outside the rooms is pretty, there are some seats and tables and a nice bbq.

WINDSURF STORAGE
WS storage is 5 min walking from Billy's house. It's simple but safe and on the beach.

THE BAD SURPRISE
During our next to last night I heard some noises coming from the toilet but I did not care about them. In the morning as I went to the toilet I found a dead rat inside, drowned in the wc. In the beginning I thought that such rat tried to rise outside from the sewer but the I discovered that such rat left a lot of excrement all over my room and on my dresses (even in the closet...).
So I decided to go away from Billy's house even if I had one more booked night to spend, and my friend staying in two rooms beside mine's decided to follow me.

PAYMENT AND PRICE
The price is in line with Vasiliki's prices (30€ at night) but we found out that for the same price there are nicer studios, even closer to the sea.
We had some discussions with the owner as she wanted us to pay also the night we did not stayed there (the night after the rat discover) but we replied that we were forced to go away due to the fact that we did not feel comfortable in a place with rats. They replied us that when you are in nature is normal to have rats, I replied that in nature is normal, in the house is not.
Due to our anticipated departure they wanted us to pay also one day of windsurf storage (2€) but we told them that as we were 6 persons and we had only 3 boards (and not 6...) for 5 days ot was not fair to make us pay. Finally we agreed on that.

IN THE END
Excluding the "rat meeting" I think that there are better places in Vasilik at the same price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fedestampacchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honest41Lefkada, Owner at Billy's House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

I would like to appologise(on behalf of the rat) as this was an unfortunate occurrence that has happened twice at our property since 1986 that this business has been running.The first time was three seasons ago and the guest regarded it with humour.Of course I understand the inconvenience it caused both times and treated my guests with kindness.I also compensated for a damage that the rat caused.We take all possible precautions against mice and of course there are no holes in the rooms so the only way for them is through the balcony door.Note that the rooms are all ground floor and surrounded by trees and greenery.Besides this is their beauty.So that's how the story goes...These Italian people booked 5 double rooms and received a price of 28eur. per night ,not 30.In the end only 3 rooms appeared but still received the discount.We keep asking our guests if everything is fine and they declared satisfied .The rooms & bed linen were very clean and the WC(3sq.m) was clean and there was no scratches or broken tiles despite the old and simple style.The matresses have been used only for 21 months and I wonder if anyone would change a matress after so little time.There is a path through trees to the beach not a forest!After the incident with the rat I suggested they changed room and offered to wash their clothes.When they decided to go away I asked only the two rooms to pay half for their last night (as the law says) as there was no reason for them to go.Of course they didn't.They concidered that the place is full of rats-something which is completely untrue- and my guests that keep coming for years and years know that.This was only a mishap!!So I would like to tell my friend from Rome that the title of his review is exaggerative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violetta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank tasoskarvelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank studionoceradamiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank catwalk1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrissaVas, Owner at Billy's House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasiliki
0.3 mi away
Grand Theoni Hotel
Grand Theoni Hotel
#2 of 12 in Vasiliki
82 reviews
13.1 mi away
Villa Olga Lounge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#5 of 12 in Vasiliki
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Enodia Hotel
Enodia Hotel
#3 of 12 in Vasiliki
318 reviews
0 mi away
Kalias Hotel
Kalias Hotel
#7 of 12 in Vasiliki
30 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maistrali
Maistrali
#10 of 12 in Vasiliki
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billy's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billy's House

Address: Eparchiaki Odos, Vasiliki 31082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Vasiliki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vasiliki
Price Range: £22 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Billy's house consists of 4 studios,and 4 2-room apartments ,all ground floor , that are surrounded by a well maintained, large garden and sheltered by mature plane trees.There are two barbeques in the garden as well as wooden tables under the shade of the trees where you can enjoy your meals or drinks and relax. There is a sheltered garage to park your car ,a children's playground and a brand new swimming pool!There is free Wi-Fi everywhere in the building and premises.The place is popular with regular guests who come back year after year as the atmosphere is very friendly and ideal for families. AND! Most important...we smile at people!!The owner (Chrissa) speaks English fluently and a little Italian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Billy's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billy's House Lefkada/Vasiliki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing