We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect half term”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Surf Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vasiliki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Surf Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect half term”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Brought 2 teenagers for May half term. From start to finish the staff were wonderful, always smiling. Nothing was ever too much trouble, they were always happy to carry kit up and down the beach, swap sails etc if you wanted to change. We all tried the beginner windsurfing classes. Tuition was excellent, particular thanks to Abby and Barry who got us all up and sailing. I went on the evening guided bike rides, lovely trips through the olive groves.
Room was fine, cleaned well every day with a sea facing balcony where we had lunches (useful fridge to keep drinks etc). Ok, breakfast wasn't five star, but it was adequate. Next time (yes, we'd all like to come back) I'll bring a small cafetiere and brew my own coffee. Small shop stocking basic grocery requirements 2 minutes walk away - good bread and baklava. We were there for the location and activities, and they didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    32
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

For those with an interest in World War One I recommend booking a lower floor room at the resort, as the banging and scraping of furniture upstairs throughout your stay gives a fair insight into the soldiers discomfort experienced in 1914 during the battle of the Somme. I write this sitting in bed this morning whilst those upstairs are reenacting the 3rd allied attack on Passion-dale at the height of hostilities.
When you arrive, you will be asked to provide credit card numbers, expiry dates and 3 digit security code etc , these details will be written on a form and kept on a table during the initiation process, these details will then be stored in an office before being shredded at the end of your stay? The details are kept so as Ocean Elements can deduct up to 150 Euros from you, if they feel you have maliciously damaged or vandalized their equipment or property. This I feel is very strange as the company already has all your details before you left the UK. Strangely, when asked if I could present 150 Euros in cash and collect the money at the end of my stay assuming I had not ransacked the resort, I was told that that was not possible as credit card details had to be recorded, Apparently, no money has ever been deducted from anyone but one company director insists that this process on recording credit card details on paper keeping them office before destroying them, is necessary. I wonder if the said director would provide me with details of his credit cards for me to write on slips of paper and store in my office for a week?? I question the security of this process, I find having personal credit card details written on a pile of forms held down by a drinking glass on a table in a bar for the period of the collection suspect.
It is a shame that these finer details are not communicated to guests prior to their departure but merely inflicted upon then on arrival, when of course they have no choice but to comply.

For those interested in sailing, one should note that all dinghy's must be out of the water by 5.30 pm or 6 pm depending on which member of staff you talk to, Windsurfers can be out on the water for as long as it it light but not dinghys? This has something top do with the level of safety cover the limited staff can provide. It does seem strange that the safety of a a dozen windsurfers on the water after 6pm would be compromised by the addition of one dinghy but there you have it. Perhaps, the dinghy can not be fitted within the lens of the binoculars? This system/ safety procedure has been agreed with the RYA and therefore can not be changed.

Happy Holidays

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Huw P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just back from a fantastic week with Ocean Elements. We had a newly refurbished room which was small but functional. We were there for the watersports! Fridge is a bonus, tea and coffee making facilities but pack a hairdryer. Nice balcony and views. Very well cleaned each day. Breakfasts are a major let down having holidayed with Neilson previously these are normally a real highlight. Ran out of eggs on one morning. Coffee awful. Had to ask for basic things like a teaspoon!! Lunchtime food (paid for) however at the Driftwood bar is very good. Fantastic salads. Bar slightly over priced compared to other bars in the area but a lovely spot. Could have been open though in the evening when we returned from local taverna for a nightcap. Windsurfing tuition was excellent (Laura and Matt), kit was mostly 2014, extensive and varied. A bonus to have a sandy beach (once you are in the sea) stony to the shore so flip flops to waters edge. Staff could not be more helpful with carrying kit and rigging etc. Acitivites Mgr Andy was superb, brilliant last night BBQ. Sara and Ollie were a true inspiration to watch windsurfing. The staff make this place the success that it is without a doubt. Bike rides were brilliant and dinghies well maintained and smart. Carefully put away and covers on by the staff in the evening. Beach open late if wind filled in late which was a bonus. Local tavernas very good and great value. Sort breakfast out and we will be back!! :-)

Room Tip: Rooms towards the sea have slightly better views of the action in the bay but all rooms are pretty g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidgetGemT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The pictures don't do it justice! Having just returned from a week in Vas I can only say how amazing it was. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, cheerful, happy and willing to help.
Being a beginner wind surfer I couldn't have picked a better location to start.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Have just returned from half term week I Ocean Element's Surf Hotel. The instructors and beach staff were unfailingly cheerful, helpful, friendly and fun. Even when simply taking your kayak back up the beach or helping you with the sails, they were great. Nothing was too much trouble. Hats off to them- particularly Josh, Andy and Ollie B.
Hotel is just right for the type of activities - not luxurious but fine and kept clean by the nice Greek ladies who are also very friendly.
The hotel was full for half term week (surely not a surprise event for the company?) but they did struggle in two areas. Firstly, breakfast which for me was disappointing. No decent coffee and out of muesli by the second day. The departure day breakfast was laughable- no muesli, no bananas, no yoghurt, even more rubbish coffee and so on. A pity because even if this was simply a mess up on supplies it left guests with the impression that there satisfaction was not a concern as they were leaving. Secondly, waiting times for lunch orders stretched towards 45 minutes of waiting every day although food salads and burgers were good when you did eventually get them. But, we would go again. Nice, laid back resort with some nice tavernas and a lot of nice people there too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Ocean Elements seem to have got this right. All of the staff were great From the moment we landed, Abbey and Matt were waiting to greet us big smiles great information about the resort on the transfer.
Unable to fault the accomodation in any way, rooms were clean and cleaned everyday with fresh towels and bedding. Breakfast was great. Full continental and cooked every day. The bar food was great and there are a couple of organized social evenings including a quiz night and BBQ night. Both of which we did and had a good time at. Wayne and all the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful.
The watersports team were all amazing. Olly A was my instructor and he was great all week and the advice he gave seemed to make my progression easy. Mark P was my husbands instructor and again was great all week setting new challenges every day. Matt, Joe and Roxy were the junior squad instructors and both our children enjoyed all the activities they were set, including sailing, supping, windsurfing, snorkeling, and all other sorts of fun and games. All the other watersports staff. Abbey, Doug, both Matts, Sara, Ollie B were there to carry and change kit offer advice and man the safety boats nothing was too much trouble.
The bike rides were excellent with Ollie B they varied every day from family friendly rides to rocky descents with everything inbetween. We did a couple of the family rides. I did a midweek red ride up to bay view ( which had amazing views) and my husband did the black rock garden ride which he enjoyed.
If you are looking for an activity packed holiday Ocean Elements tick all the right boxes. You can be active from 8am till it gets dark or you can laze around by the pool and beach it's up to you.
Can't wait to go back



Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bostons2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

this place is terrific for sports,tuition and facilities,but it let itself down in some minor ways.I know they are re-furbishing the rooms,so i wont moan about that but stuff like...if you were a bit late for breakfast there was no greek yoghurt left,whichever way you had eggs(which could only be poached or scrambled) they were horrible..there's NOTHING for veggies...so enjoy the sports and the brilliant staff and...take your own food!!..rich

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasiliki
0.8 mi away
Grand Nefeli
Grand Nefeli
#4 of 12 in Vasiliki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
13.4 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
0.2 mi away
Grand Theoni Hotel
Grand Theoni Hotel
#2 of 12 in Vasiliki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#5 of 12 in Vasiliki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
10.2 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Enodia Hotel
Enodia Hotel
#3 of 12 in Vasiliki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Property: The Surf Hotel
Address: Vasiliki 31082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Vasiliki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Vasiliki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beach Surf Hotel offers a warm welcome for couples, families and active sports enthusiasts. Its private swimming pool and gardens which front onto the beach, offer a safe and exclusive area for family fun right on one of the best beaches in Greece for active water sports! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Surf Hotel Lefkada/Vasiliki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing