We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Hotel & Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was our first visit to Greece in 25 years and it was well worth the wait. Sunset Apartments were a brilliant find thanks to the reviews on Trip Adviser and we weren't disappointed. OK the room we stayed in was basic, but more than adequate as all we did was sleep there. We had a lovely little patio which was private and shaded. The pool area was always immaculate and never over crowded, very relaxing and peaceful. The Taverna was brilliant, we ate there almost every evening, Vasilias is a wonderful chef and nothing was too much trouble. The food was always fresh and delicious the welcome BBQ was the fantastic. Versilias (the owner) and his family were all lovely people; always happy to help and advise. Three of us stayed, our 16 year old son came with us and really enjoyed the holiday and felt secure and safe if we left him to go out for a stroll to the beach or local shops. He really enjoyed snorkelling in the beautiful clear waters off all the beaches. Mandraki beach was our favourite, a bit of a hike through the pine forest but it was worth it. We hired a jeep for a couple of days and had a great time exploring all the forest tracks that weave all over the island, we even found the fireman on top of the hills – what a magnificent view from his hut. We visited the monastery and as a complete contrast we sat a while watching the flights landing from the taverna at the end of the runway!! So there was something for all of us. Another day we drove out towards Banana beech and along the coast road back towards Mandraki and on around the coast, spectacular views of the tiny beaches and over to the mainland. Skiathos is a beautiful town and very easy to reach by bus but Koukounaries is definitely the best location on the island. We can’t wait to go back and explore the island all over again. Thank you Versilias and everyone at Sunset including the other guests who were all so friendly, it felt like one very big happy family. It was a really wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weaver2941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    32
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
137
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed at Noula again this summer and loved it, that's why I keep going back. No, it's not a 4 star hotel, they are standard apartments but as good as you're going to find anywhere else in Greece. It's well maintained, clean, friendly and in a great location. Add to that the wonderful food at the taverna and what more do you need? My next holiday has been booked for weeks and the only problem is waiting until August to get back there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I do not understand all the good reviews. The accommodation is definitely very basic. The shower was like nothing I have ever seen before not even a shower clip, I didn't find the rooms very clean, the fridge was very noisy as was the air con. Room 121 avoid at all costs I think it must have been a cupboard in its former life and the wooden stairs to the platform where the beds were, not very convenient if you have mobility problems or need to use the bathroom in the night. Also not good if you are tall due to the sloping roof. No where to sit downstairs, no toaster which is odd as most self catering places have them. 1 toilet roll on arrival for 2 weeks really!!

I have been going to Greece for several years and never stay in 4 or even 5 star hotels but this is definitely the most basic I have seen.

The plus points good location for the best beaches, the bus stop close by to get to town at night. Lovely island with many good places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetskiathos_11, Owner at Sunset Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
As i say in the first review your partner publish before one month and the trip advisor team take out you are THE BIGGEST LAYER I HAVE EVER SEE.....how you have opinion for this room when you didnt stay not more than 1 hour inside????2)your partner THREAT ME to give him 100 euro to change the review to better one,do you remember?????YOU REMEMBER WE UPGRADE YOU TO A MAISONETTE FOR THE FIRST WEEK AND THE SECOND WEEK I ARANGE WITH THE COMPANY TO NOT CHARGE YOU AND YOU STILL OWN ME FOR THE FACILITIES YOU USE, DO YOU REMEMBER IS 80.00 EURO????about the cleaning the paper roll and the toaster if you see the broccure of the company and the yellow page behind the door proove is not like this the things.if you find it very basic next time go to RODES how you compare me in the first review with the 4 star hotel and you put olso puctures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Wow what an amazing 2 week holiday! Want to be back at Sunset now!
We read all the wonderful reviews of Sunset before our trip and weren't disappointed!
Once off the coach we were greeted by the lovely Vasillis who took us straight to our appartment which was the nicest one we've stayed in on our travels around the Greek Islands....4th time on the stunning island of Skiathos! The appartment was adequately furnished (our first double bed in Greece!) and very clean. We were very happy to be lucky enough to have 2 seating areas outside, one being nicely shaded by the grape vine trellis and looking out onto the beautifully kept gardens with home grown fruit and vegetables looked after by Vasillis's very friendly dad and very sweet cat who follows him around!
Once settled in, we took ourselves down to the bar/taverna as we'd been told by Vasillis it was BBQ night......infinite meats/Greek salad/chips/tzatziki and a half carafe of wine - €15 each for 2 all beautifully made by the crazy happy chef Vasillis who makes very very tasty homemade Greek meals!
The Bar and pool area is immaculate and was perfect for chilling in the afternoon/evening after a day out exploring or visiting one of Skiathos's gorgeous beaches! The iced coffees and cocktails were delicious, we spent many an evening just relaxing with both the Vasillis's and other guests.....such a great family friendly atmosphere!
All in all.....our best stay in Skiathos yet and hope to bring the parents to this very special island and will definately be back to stay at the fabulous Sunset! Thankyou to all the Sunset family from the owners to the cleaners you all helped make our holiday a special one! Many thanks Jo and Marc.xxx

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our 9th stay at the Sunset and just can't fault it. Lovely clean accommodation set in beautiful gardens with a great pool area. The accommodation has its own Taverna which we ate at every night as they serve some of the best food in Greece. The Sunset is ideally situated with a supermarket and bus stop close by and the lake and beach are just a short walk away. Just to the rear of the accommodation is the Pine forest leading to some lovely beaches. The Sunset is just so relaxing and nothing is too much trouble, its a great place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Couldn't fault anything. Apartment was spotless and well maintained. Restaurants were fantastic, plenty of choice and outstanding service. The
Chef's versatility was unbelievable we stayed for two weeks and ate there every night and did not get bored once. Would go back tomorrow if we could. Will definitely be going back again and again. Thanks for a wonderful holiday to EVERYONE AT SUNSET.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allenhornblow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was our second stay at these apartments and to say we loved them would be an understatement. I believe we enjoyed them even more than the previous year. As before both Vasillas,the owner and Vasillas the chef did all they could to make our stay so perfect.
This place is such a brilliant base from which to explore all the beaches around Koukounaries, some of which are reached by walking through beautiful pine forests and when you get back in the evening there is a first class pool bar to quench your thirst plus Vasillas the chef is there to cook you some of the finest food on the island.(his carbonara and the Kleftiko are superb.)
These apartments,which we found to be spacious and comfortable are kept scrupulously clean by the two excellent and friendly cleaning staff who worked so hard.
Vasillas ,the owner, is so helpful and is one of the nicest people you could ask to meet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rocketronnie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.0 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#5 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel & Apartments

Property: Sunset Hotel & Apartments
Address: Koukounaries, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Apartments Hotel Koukounaries
Sunset Hotel & Apartments Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing