We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant as always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Hotel & Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I can't believe the negative review. I don't know what people want when there take a self catering holiday in Greece as where ever you go they are very basic.as for paying by a credit card the Greeks don't use them and have to wait a long time for the money. Vassillis is a great host and a great person when you get to know him. The sunset had a new chef this year and is very good and the food is brilliant too. The room are clean and the sheets are change every few days what more do you want. The sunset s a pool bar and is open from 8am till 12pm and vassillis is there all this time.cant wait to go back in August xx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    32
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
137
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Cant believe the negative review. The apartments and studios are just that, greek apartments and studios and also .... self catering..... on the first day of a typical self catering holiday you nip to the supermarket for coffee, milk and loo roll!! The rooms are meticulously cleaned with fresh towels and sheets every couple of days which is much more than the usual self catering. You have your own washing line too!! The food at the taverna is delicious and plentiful. Try Tolis' s not on the menu deserts, yum! The boys -Vassilis, the owner, Tolis the chef and Georgios head bar man and sous chef and mischief maker are all fantastic and will make you feel like youve known them forever. If you make the effort to speak to the very hardworking guys you will be rewarded with much fun and laughter! Just come I guarantee you will have a fabulous time!! We will definitely be back as are 50 percent of the people who come here year after year xx

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank daxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Me and my wife had the best time at sunset hotel the food is very nice i tried stifado and my wife kleftico and they were absolutely perfect and fresh the room we stay was very nice we had a view at the lake and the sea the stuff was very friendly specially george the chef with the white shirt and we are definitely coming back next year

Room Tip: room 118-119 best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank george r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I chose these apartments because of the good reviews they got. I also took on board the negatives and have to say they were spot on! The room we got was a box with a bed at one end and a sink unit with 1 worktop at the other end with the shower room and toilet next to it. The shower room was a death trap, no shower curtain, hand held shower head, which would not have been so bad if there had been something to stand on when you got out. So getting out of a wet soapy tiled shower straight on to a soaking wet slippery tiled floor meant you had to sacrifice at least one towel to soak up the water and stand safely to get dry. Everything is frugal and BASIC, 1 loo roll then you buy your own, nothing, absolutely nothing is complimentary. The proprietor must have been having a bad week 'cause I never saw him smile once. He gave the impression of being a bit bad tempered, turned his nose up when I tried to pay for breakfast (2 full english) with my credit card. A large beer was 3 euro when we arrived and 3.20 when we left. On the last day the inmates from our row of studios went for a walk round the rest of the apartments and guess what, they were really lovely. So ours got several nicknames, death row, slave quarters, northeners row. It became a bit of a laugh in the end really, what else could you do you're on holiday?. Shame really 'cause aside from this we had a brilliant holiday. Oh yeah and don't expect to call in the bar for a last late nightcap it'll be shut lights off gates closed. Go to Agusteras instead.

Room Tip: Stay well clear of room numbers 105-110 you'll be well disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank susan c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetskiathos, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sunset Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
first of all thanks for your comment.now about the description of the room type and the booking you have do?when you make the booking throught the company you have book the simple studio.SO WHY YOU COMPLAINE ABOUT THE ROOM BOX(YOU CAN T BOOK THE SIMPLE BASIC AND TO GET THE BEST,SORRY!about the bathroom,the cleaners maybee the forget to put the small towel for bathrooms water,i see you every day pass and you didnt tell me anything.about the prices and the visa card.in visa card we have limit up to 20.00 euros and i explane this before,price for mythos draft is the last 5 years 3.20 euro you must to go to see previous reviews and prices(some thimes when we don t have changes we keep 3.00 euro)we have the acomadation more than 30 years and every year we try to get better,thas is the reason of most good rewiews olso remember WE ARE SELF CATERING AND WE HAVE FACILITIES FOR MORE!!hope next time things get better????????
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just had to tell you that we are coming back to SunSet Hotel again this year. We have travelled all over the world, we have considered America, Italy & France, but nothing will stop us bringing our young son back again and again. Vasilias and his family are so welcoming, the bar & pool are excellent, and there is something about Skiathos & its forests, beautiful beaches & calm sea that is magical. We have promised ourselves that we will venture out more for diving trips around the islands this year (we saw beautiful dolphins last year)....but its always so lovely to stay on Skiathos and enjoy Sunset apartments.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of Apartments overlooking the lake & see
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We recently stayed here for a week and can thoroughly recommend it to any couples who are thinking of visiting the Sunset Hotel and Apartments.
Firstly, the place is spotlessly clean, and the owner, Vasilias, obviously takes great pride in the place. The rooms are basic, but have all you need. Self catering is just about possible, as the facilities are not so plentiful! However, with the abundance of restaurants locally, you wont need to. You dont really need to stray off the complex as the Sunset has a real gem of a chef. A really talented young man who cooks the most delicious food. We sampled the Kleftico (awesome) the Mousaka ( divine) and a wondedrful BBQ with his special 3 day marinated lamb which was just fabulous.
Reasons to stay here:
-great location.
-Fantastic bar and pool.
- Top of the range chef.
-Friendly owners.

First class all round, and will be returning next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The situation is lovely, set off the road,near beaches and bus stop what more do you want. As it is Greece the accommodation is basic. You only get one toilet roll when that is done you buy them yourself,don't go thinking you will self cater but that many eating places you don't need to. The food at Sunset is also good. The pool area is lovely and kept clean and tidy. We hired a jeep for 2 days and I would recommend it to see all the lovely hidden treasures. Don't get your car from the rep. As Mustang car hire is down the road and a lot cheaper. Would I go back to Skiathos? Yes!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.0 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#5 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel & Apartments

Property: Sunset Hotel & Apartments
Address: Koukounaries, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
#2 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Apartments Hotel Koukounaries
Sunset Hotel & Apartments Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing