We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodatio, could be much better”
Review of Amalia Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amalia Apartments
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The accomodation is very basic and not the cleanest, but it's ok for a budget break. Our apartment was away from the pool bar so we did not hear the music at night. I agree with djrockbottom that the rep, Martin's, behaviour is sometimes inappropriate and he's not entirely honest either.

Great location for the beaches - fab Island all in all!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed at amalia in july for a week.rooms basic but ok.location its a 5min walk from road set in forest so should be quiet!
wasnt an unpleasant stay the only big let down was the music from georges bar.nearly all rooms face pool nd bar and music is played very loudly all day so it spoils the atmosphere.skiathos is really lovely i wouldnt go back to amalia as i went for a quiet week away but ended up with cotton wool in my ears everynight just to sleep!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capewena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Like many others have said, the welcome was good with free liquor shots on arrival however, things went quickly downhill (and I don't mean the long unlit road downhill to the apartments!!) The room was filthy, the mop and bucket used to clean the room was left outside the room and the water was almost black. There was the same musty smell in the rooms and cupboards mixed with dirty mop smell like another person mentioned. The bathroom was a disgrace. The toilet had clearly never seen bleach or a loo brush. The taps were extremely tarnished and unclean. The shower curtain was hanging on by a thread and mouldy. The fridge had rust and mould on the door. We had to ask for the apartment to be re-cleaned as we were both seriously worried about our health! The apartment was then re-cleaned but not to any great standard as the smell remained and it still looked "grubby". Sounds dramatic but please see for yourself if you don't believe me. It is clear that the apartments are old and dated however this doesn't excuse the filthy state they were in upon our arrival. It's nothing 30 minutes and some cleaning products couldn't cure.

George does indeed give generous spirit measures at the cheapest on the island but charges extreme prices for basic "comforts" you would ordinarily expect with the room. For example..

TV in your rooms at €35 a week
Air Conditioning - €80 per week or €140 for 2 weeks
Usage of a safe - €20 - with an extra €10 deposit for return of the safe key which is refundable if key is returned.

Now I know we got a good deal and the price is certainly cheap though you do end up spending more money because the apartment isn't a nice environment to stay in .A nice clean apartment that didn't smell would have been a much nicer welcome than cheap drinks.

If booking with Olympic - PLEASE NOTE that upon arrival at the airport your bags will be taken by a flatbed truck and dumped off at your apartments. On departure you are to leave your bags by the gate of the apartments for collection. They then drop your bags off at a tavern close to the airport and you have to drag them across. So - do you tell the truth when asked by Airport security "Did you leave your bags alone/unattended at any point" as they will be out of your sight for at least an hour in transit.
Also note that the apartments are situated down a long bumpy unlit road which is pitch black. Not ideal for any lone travellers or young families or basically anyone who cannot take care of themselves should a situation arise. Invest in a torch!

If nothing else, this apartment will make you truly appreciate your own home - in whatever state it may be in

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yomchi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I travelled out with DJRockbottom who has recently posted regarding the Amalia on here.

I agree with everything he said, but would add-

The good
-------------

Nice swimming pool with plenty of free loungers and sunshades (saves paying €8 on the beach)
Set in the middle of pine forest. Some Citrus trees and flowering shrubs around as well give the place a nice look.
Beer at €2 a Pint.
The Manager and his brothers were friendly and welcoming.
Welcome drink on arrival.
The package with Olympic Holidays was reasonably priced (although I believe their prices fluctuate greatly)
A lot of the guests seemed to know each other and had clearly stayed here before, so the owners have to be doing something right.
SKY TV in the bar, with whatever sport is on at the time shown on a couple of screens
Constant hot water, which you don’t always get in Greece.

The bad
-----------

EVERYTHING here has to be at least 20 years old., and falling apart. I would imagine this looks exactly the same as it did in 1991, with no improvements made at all.
Strange musty smell on entering the apartment.
Ants all over the apartment. In the cupboards, in the bathroom, in the sink, on the fridge etc
All the fitments desperately need some TLC, and are all showing signs of wear and tear.
Anything metal is going rusty. Water tanks, shower heads, Fridges etc
Notwithstanding you are in a forest, there were rodents running about the bar area, but not in the actual apartment.
On arrival I had to go out and buy some bleach for the toilet. I won’t go into detail here, you’ll have to use your imagination.
No bath towels.
Cleaning was minimal.
Safe Deposit boxes and air-conditioning prices were extortionate (but of course, you don’t have to have them)
The Manager only seemed interested in the bar, (and having his picture taken, generally with females) rather than running a complex.

Best suited for-
--------------------

Those on a budget.
Exhibitionists. (Adults dressed up as Spiderman & Spiderwoman!)
Quiz and Karaoke night lovers.
Those partygoers who probably missed out on Club 18-30 the first time around.
Late night skinny-dippers.
Those who don’t get out much.
Those who like to ride pushbikes naked.

As long as you are not expecting too much you won’t be disappointed at the Amalia. Despite the comments made above, I didn’t dislike the place, and if the price were right, I would probably return. I would image however that Olympic Holidays are kept busy with complaints from those anticipating a little bit more.

If the apartments were given a serious makeover, they would be so much better.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank petergreen98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This is a lovely family run resort where the owners manage to mix true professionalism with a great deal of fun. We had two small issues with the room which were dealt with immediately. A great bar atmosphere. Ages ranged from late 20s to early 60s.
Very good value for money, - our room was on 2 levels, had a small balcony overlooking the pool, and rooms are equipped with fridge, cooker, cupboards, wardrobe and (optional chargeable) air conditioning.
There is no restaurant on site and rooms are self catering. But there are loads of restaurants 5 minutes walk away that serve good breakfasts and some great Greek meals.
There is a good bus service into Skiathos town, Koukounaries beach is 10 mins walk away and Mandraki forest and beach are a very pretty 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridgetKelly151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

You reach the apartments along a half made up track alongside the Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel, and it's located in the middle of a pine forest. It’s probably about a 5 minute walk from the main road. A torch is useful for finding your way back at night as well as finding the lock in your door. We got a very hospitable welcome from the staff and a welcome drink was produced almost immediately, followed by the first drink was free at the bar. A nice touch-Welcome to Skiathos.

The accommodation is basic, and I don't think it has any pretentions to be anything else. There's a nice pool with plenty of free sun beds, and an open air bar. I found the safe deposit box a bit expensive at €30 for 2 weeks (I could have bought one for that), but the drinks at the bar were some of cheapest you will find on the Island. Amstel or Mythos plus a few others I can't remember were just €2 a pint. Our apartment was located next to some sort of generator or pump station and had a constant and annoying "humming" noise.

There was a wasp’s nest in the bathroom under the roof, and there were ants all over the place. There were handtowels-that were changed regularly, but sadly no bath towels were provided. There were one or two rats running about the complex. I guess being in the middle of a forest you have to expect these sorts of thing.

Rooms around the pool may suffer from guest noise as there were several late night parties. I would guess further away from the pool you would be OK. For some strange reason there was a large old bald headed man with a small appendage riding a pushbike naked around the complex some evenings. I think Olympic Holidays have exclusive use of the Amalia, and their Rep seemed to live on site. He entertained the bar some evenings with his version of opera singing. Less amusing was his “micky taking” of a spastic speaking whilst unbeknown to him one of his clients had a son with them who appeared to possibly be spastic or had learning difficulties, and was only a few yards away. I accept the Rep may have been “off duty” at the time.

The Island is lovely and I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank djrockbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I have never ever had bad accomodation in Skiathos before....basic, yes, small yes, not a great view, yes.....BUT this was dirty, dark, and the bar area was filfthy....no wonder the beer was cheaper (50 cents) however, we stayed for 10 minutes and went a private apartment that I now have to claim back from Olympic....I will post photo's, however I do believe Olympic should not have these studios on the books ..... they are not a patch on the Yalis, Demetris, Manos and they are all the same rating ...........(not even a cooker) and let me promise you....it is more than a 10 minute walk to the beach.....if you can even call it Koukounaries!! Believe the bad reviews on here please, because, stupidly I didn't..... I have been going to Greece for 20 years and Skiathos twice a year for 7 and never complained until now.....Dirty tables, no cooker, no cups, grass not cut etc etc etc.....sorry guys, rant over and I know I will have people saying.... it's Greece, blah, Blah blah but I wouldnt have stayed there whilst backing in my early 20's ... and I stayed some places.

I think what somes this up is they take no care of the place .... and thats that.... truly disapointed!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank appy_abby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.4 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#6 of 12 in Koukounaries
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 12 in Koukounaries
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maistrali Studios
Maistrali Studios
#7 of 12 in Koukounaries
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strophilia Apartments
Strophilia Apartments
#10 of 12 in Koukounaries
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Apartments

Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Amalia Apartments Hotel Koukounaries
Amalia Apartments Skiathos/Koukounaries
Amalia Apartments Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing