We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yeap!!!!!!! I like that place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
gradistea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“yeap!!!!!!! I like that place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

we were these July ..me and my family..my son was ecstatic about the swimming pool and playground...My husband enjoyed the bar and the Elias restaurant....and I Enjoyed everything....
The staff was so polite and helpful...Too bad that the most part of Skyathos is not like Mandraki Hotel...
Thank YOU!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorina_gradistea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    78
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
74
209
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novgorod
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel in the mid August. The hotel was better that we could have expected –interior, delicious food, high rate service . It’s an exception when reality is much more beautiful than pictures. Location is perfect - near beaches, all what one would need is near - supermarket, car rent, doctor. It's perfect place if you look for quietness, comfort, style.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmiliaNovgorod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chigwell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights at the beginning of August and did not want to leave!

The location is incredible if you want to be away from the main town. It's about 20mins drive from the town so a car is a must. We went for our nightly walks on Koukounaries beach, which is so peaceful at night and literally 5mins across the road. Also located near the better beaches of the island.

The hotel staff were amazing. Great recommendations everyday for beaches and restaurants. Nothing was to much for the staff - they are all extremely friendly, helpful and sorely missed!

Their restaurant Elias has a lovely menu and a must if staying in the hotel or in the area. We had a fantastic meal there.

The room was perfect, good size, bed comfortable, very clean and the air conditioning works great!

My girlfriend says they have the best coffee on the island!

A truly memorable stay - thank you for a wonderful 10 days!

Stewart & Nicole

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We spent 11 nights at the Hotel Mandraki the hotel is situated in beautiful gardens and has a nice pool area. The hotel is laid back from the main road along the South of the island and there is some traffic noise whilst you are sitting at the pool, scooters beeping as they reach the top of the hill, but you couldn’t hear this from the rooms and it didn’t impact our holiday. It is visited by lots of different Nationalities rather than being a solely English hotel which was nice.

The rooms were very spacious and clean and the bathrooms modern. My husband did find the shower compact and water ended up on the bathroom floor but this wasn’t a problem for me.
The reception staff were lovely, particularly Christiana who we mainly dealt with. Nothing was too much trouble and she arranged car hire for us.

We were, however, disappointed with half board. We arranged half board with Olympic holidays as we had seen on Trip advisor how complementary people were about Elias Restaurant in the hotel. We took our first dinner in the restaurant to be told that for the 5 of us - 2 adults, 2 teenagers and one child (we paid for four adults and one child) we would be entitled to two starters, one salad, five main courses and 3 desserts between us. We didn’t find this very good value as from our exchange rate it worked out that we had paid €26 euros per adult head and in general we felt that we spent €23 per head. We were also allowed to attend the BBQ on Tuesday night which cost €18 per head which again didn’t seem very good value on our half board basis, particularly as we had a note in our room to say we could get 10% off of the restaurant bill if you were a hotel guest. Despite this the food was generally delicious and was enough food for the five of us. Some starters were very big and I think it may have been better to cut the size of portions and offer a starter each as you got bread and an appetizer anyway.
I
t’s a shame that Olympic holidays hadn’t pointed out what the deal was beforehand. It’s also a shame that the restaurant staff had to explain this on our first night and I think it would have been preferable to have told us this at check in. I would suggest that you don’t book half board but pay on a nightly basis for what you want. We also decided to go out a couple of nights and were told that we could book lunch which again was a poor deal for the price we had paid particularly as lunch was a lot cheaper from the bar menu.

The bar area was never very busy and we think that was due to the cost of drinks as the barman was very friendly. Cocktails at the bar were half price between 6 and 8 p.m. but unfortunately did not cover the cost of all cocktails. It was only alcoholic cocktails over the price of €10 which meant that the Strawberry cocktails at €4 , which our children loved, were not included. Then the blender, in the bar, broke which meant that the barman was reluctant to make the children’s cocktails and they didn’t replace the blender whilst we holidayed there.

The food at breakfast was very nice but breakfast wasn’t always a relaxing experience. At times it was very busy and meant that you couldn’t get a table apart from in full sun. The buffet area where the breakfast was laid out became very crowded and people could be quite unreasonable about letting others through. I think service could be improved if the waiters laid up tables with cutlery and serviettes so that was one less thing you had to carry back. The coffee machine, which was also well used, would be better placed at one end to let people get through.

Room Tip: We were in Room 701 where the rooms were very big and looked over the garden. The room had a seatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoshiMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

If you really want a wonderful place to stay in Skiathos then it must be the Mandraki Village Hotel. perfect surroundings, top class rooms with all the facilities you would expect and then to top it all you have the glorious Elias Restaurant. Relaxed yet sophisticated, fresh produce, imaginatively prepared and served and some excellent wines and a marvellous atmosphere. the management and staff are attentive, friendly and helpful. even if you dont stay at the hotel a visit to the restaurant is a must.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallulah2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Not much I can really add to what has been said about the Mandraki Village Hotel - lovely setting, charming team, beautifully decorated, super food - in summary just perfect.

Although Koukounaries beach is super - do take the time to visit others. There are quite a few that you can walk to in under half an hour. The walk through the forest to Mandraki beach is lovely and the beach is beautiful - peaceful and scenic with umbrellas and a taverna. Big Banana beach is great if you want to enjoy a more cosmopolitan setting with the latest music and dancing as the sun goes down. We also had a nice day at Agia Eleni beach - again about a 30 minute walk - food very good at the Sunset taverna - try the grilled sardines. Makes no difference where you go the umbrella and sunbeds are all the same price - 8 euros a day.

At the hotel do take part in the BBQ night with live music from 'Groom Therapy' - good value and a great experience. Not only was the food good, but by the end of the evening we were all dancing together regardless of nationality. What a great band!

Our room, 707, was lovely, beautifully decorated and comfortable and unlike some of the other hotels in resort - no charge for air-con - yay!

Don't forget the 2 for 1 cocktail deal early in the evening to get you in the mood for dinner.

Finally - the hotel has the best breakfast buffet I've ever had in a european hotel anywhere - enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms are good as it's a small boutique hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuttingPenToPaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed at the Mandraki after staying in quite a few other places on Skiathos and Skopelos - we like to move round a bit, and stay in different places of all budgets to vary the holiday.
This was one of our treats. And what a treat it was, it's absolutely beautiful,the grounds, the bar the reception and room are all decorated with such style and panache. After reading other reviews on some rooms being small, we opted for a suite, I think it's of of the best rooms they have 707. It was really lovely, and the balcony gets the sun all day and into the evening. The room was actually one of the nicest rooms we've ever stayed in, and worth the extra we thought. On the advice of other travellers, we also opted for half board - and evening meal for €20 each per night. Although worth it - you do not really gain anything financially from doing this now - as more expensive dishes you have to pay extra for. The food itself is stunning though. The restaurant is as you'd expect beautifully decorated but not stuffy. We both had a risotto on the first night - the mushroom and a black squid - we couldn't choose between them - some of the best risottos we've ever had (including in Italy.) The second night we had one of the veal dishes and lamb - both were good, finally on the third night, we had to go back to the risottos - this time a grouper cheeks and veg one (plus the black squid again) - which was as impressive as the others. The only thing I would say is that if you opt to eat in on quite a few nights you may run out of things to order. Although a small menu is a good thing, I'd have preferred a little more variety - perhaps replacing a risotto with a tortellini pasta, also there are 3 veal dishes, one too many I think. That said, it's the best restaurant we ate in on the island by some margin.
You can I believe get a fast ferry from koukounaries beach into town. (I'd recommend the final step restaurant.)
I must mention the breakfast - usually a disappointment in Greece - even good hotels are a poor show. For instance the Troulos bay hotel at £150 a night in high season serves orange cordial! Not so the Mandraki - proper freshly squeezed juice (a rarity in Greek hotels) Loads of choice - wonderful pies, pastries, croissants, various breads - all artisan, plus all the usual stuff bacon, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, fruit (not tinned!) - so much choice - again one of the best breakfasts we've had and certainly the best in Greece.
Although not right on a beach, the Mandraki is close enough to the best beaches on the island.
Our favourites in order were:
1. Agia eleni (walk down the road and take the second beach turning on the right- very mellow - great beach bar playing chilled music)
2. Mandraki (half an hour walk through woods takes you to a quieter windswept beautiful beach with excellent beach bar)
3. Ambelakia (take the turning for Banana, but turn left at the dusty path through a deserted hotel and you're there. Mystic beach bar is very good - try their home made slush puppies - amazing!)
4. Koukounaries. A bit too busy for us in high season - beautiful though and only a 10 min walk - the harbour end is much quieter.)

The staff at the Mandraki couldn't do enough for you,it's a family business and you can tell. In The pool although not huge is big enough and really pretty. Also, they have their own mini bus to take you to the airport.
We've stayed in loads of hotels in Greece and Spain and this really does rank as one of the best we've ever been in - I can't think of anything bad to say about it - how about some robes?
If you like the Mandraki - try the Ammos hotel in Chania, Crete - it reminded us of this hotel in some ways.

Room Tip: Suite 707 is the best, it gets sun from morning till night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bacononthebeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.3 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
1.7 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel

Property: Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Address: Koukounaries | Bus stop 23, Koukounaries 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plunging into the woods and from there, into the heart of the sea - a relaxing holiday in the Greek islands. Walking through the Koukounaries beach and parklands, 200 metres from the hotel, is a memorable experience. Some other beautiful beaches on the northern part of Skiathos Island, Greece, are the beaches of Mandraki and Elia’s, after which we have named this Skiathos luxury boutique hotel and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing