We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break by the Lake”
Review of Lake Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Studios
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
brighton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Break by the Lake”
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We, and a couple of friends, have just spent the last 10 days of the Season at the Lake Apts in Koukounaries.

The location is great overlooking the lake, and a short walk from the beautifull beach.

The only down side was that as it was the end of the Season, and shortly after we arrived on the 28/09/10, restaurants and bars began to close, despite the fact that there where many people around.

This had the effect of limiting the choice of places to eat, and the choice of the meals on the menus.

The appartments themselves, were basic, clean, and the staff were helpfull and friendley.

Dave, Sandra,Bev, and Bob.

Helpful?
2 Thank davebirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
4
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

As the name describes, the apartments are facing the Lake in Koukounaries. On first arriving at the hotel, booked through Alpha Rooms, we found we weren't expected but it was a late booking booked only 6 days before. That wasn't a problem though as it was the beginning of season and Spyros (the manager) found us a room. We had a twin room which was very basic. It consisted of twin beds, small wardrobe, bedside table, dressing table, fridge/freezer, 2 cooking rings, a kettle and TV. Spyros gave us free air-con but I think this might have been compenstion for the mix up with the room and having to wait. We found out as the week went on that the room we were in was one of two smaller ones and the others were slightly larger. The bathroom is a bit of a nightmare because you literally step right out of the shower into the kitchen (only a glass door between them) and the floor soon gets wet. Best thing to do is have a pair of flipflops outside the bathroom ready to step into otherwise you'll wet the floor through! One big bonus are the motorised shutters on the patio doors - they block out the bright morning sun if you want a lie in!

There is a small pool with a childrens section but we didn't use it because it wasn't warm enough - but it was early in the season. There were approximately 10 sunbeds around the pool but they were more often than not available.

The hotel itself is basic but good value for money, typically Greek, very clean and in a nice location. We thoroughly enjoyed our week's rest there. It was very peaceful. Enjoy feeding the birds on the balcony, they are so tame!

If you don't expect too much from your room, which you can guarantee you won't spend much time in, you'll find the Lakes a great base for resting your heads - very comfy beds too!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deldaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

I have just returned from my fifth visit to Skiathos & my third to "The Lakes". The island & in particular Koukounaries is ideal for me as a wind down holiday & I spent every day on the beach soaking up the sun & swimming in the warm Aegean waters. We were allocated a room on the third level (No.3) which was great as it afforded us great views over the lake & nature reserve, (all rooms except the lower three have this view). The beds were comfortable & changed mid stay, as were the bathroom towels. The kitchen area is a bit basic - sink, fridge & 2 hot plates, with a small shelving area holding crockery & glasses above. The only food we prepared/stored in this area was for breakfast, so the limited space wasn't a problem, it could however become one if you intend to cook an evening meal. The bedroom area which consisited of twin beds, wardrobe & bedside units was perfect for our needs & lead out onto the balcony. The bathroom was a typical greek arrangement with a shower with ill fitting curtain that flooded the floor every time you used it, this again wasn't a problem as it soon dried out.
I would recomend all the local tavernas in the area with the exception of "Sunset". I have only been home 2 days & am already thinking about my next visit to Skiathos, maybe late September, see you there!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2010

The Lakes are very very basic but have all you need. The rooms are painted completely white, with a wardrobe a kitchen area and some draws. A small bathroom with toliet sink and shower. A nice balcolny with a lovely view. The couple that run this hotel are lovely. Everyday they clean the rooms for hours, jest the two of them changing sheets, mopping floors, wiping sides, they even folded all our clothing and done our washing up! The pool here is very tiny, but again lovely and clean and quiet. Its not somwehere to go if you want amazing pools, luxury rooms etc but thats obvious given the very cheap price. Yet if you want somewhere quiet, clean and comfy that you can use as a base for exploring the rest of the island then lakes is brilliant.

Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chloe1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgrade
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Our first trip to Skiathos and the island is lovely, people friendly and a very very green and lush island. Htl Lake is very good location, greatly snowily rooms and pool. The rooms were cleaned daily towels. The hotel was really nice

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tekanatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Lakes Apartments are good basic self catering accommodation and a great base for exploring Skiathos or just lazing on the many nearby beaches. Rooms are small but kept spotlessly clean daily, with linen changed twice weekly - the owners are very low profile but always available and very friendly and helpful. Pool is small and there are no on site facilities such as pool bar and snacks but this is available at the Muses Hotel next door.All rooms have TV. Air con is extra (5 Euro / night) but we found that we didn't need this as rooms were OK at night.) We stayed at Lakes last year and were impressed - since then the owners have upgraded many features of the apartments. There are many good local Tavernas all within a 10 minute walk or less, we especially enjoyed 'Strofilia', 'Village Taverna' and 'Captain Mikhail's' the latter being very friendly but often quite chaotic-good food though.There is also an excellent Chinese/Indian restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikebowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Quite a basic hotel with small but adequate rooms. The staff weren't the most attentive you will find but keep the rooms very clean. The location is excellent and using the old adage you get what you paid for, this is good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.6 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 84 in Skiathos
969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#2 of 11 in Koukounaries
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maistrali Studios
Maistrali Studios
#6 of 11 in Koukounaries
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#5 of 11 in Koukounaries
233 reviews
2.2 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
902 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Studios

Property: Lake Studios
Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakes Apartments Hotel Koukounaries
Lakes Apartments Skiathos
Lake Studios Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing