We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful peaceful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Limnionas Bay Village
Ranked #2 of 2 Limnionas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We have really enjoyed two stays in this quiet family run hotel. The rooms have a typical Greek simplicity, but with perfectly adequate facilities, nice balconies and most with a great view. The situation is ideal for a peaceful, stress-free holiday. The Greek welcome was delightful and we were particularly pleased with very good traditional food, for example charcoal grills of local lamb and chicken and of fresh fish when available. In contrast to other comments, we had no complaints; every second day the room was cleaned and the towels and bed linen changed. The minibar was always stocked and the prices very reasonable. Altogether, a delightful place. Many thanks to Tania and Niko.
David from Cambridge and Hermann from Hamburg.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidBowyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2009

Limnionas Bay Hotel seemed from its website to be an ideal holiday spot - a quiet and beautiful backwater for us to relax and recover from the frantic pace of London life, but we were sorely disappointed by it. Unfortunately the marvellous view is pretty much all it has to offer.

The hotel is far shabbier than it's 3.5 stars would indicate - our studio boasted flaking paint and poorly appointed fittings as well as old, cheap furniture, and this seemed to be reflected elsewhere by the mouldy beach/pool loungers and general desperate need for a fresh coat of paint. We had an ancient fridge in our room which the manageress optimistically referred to as a "minibar", but which was stocked with extremely cheap wine, beer pop, etc. The rate card for these drinks was apparently provided in our room, though we searched high and low and never found it. On reporting this, we were told very aggressively that we "must be wrong and that of course it was there." Needless to say, this didn't appear during our stay, so we opted to import drinks instead.

Despite the hotel's website (and all other websites which list this hotel) claiming that all rooms were air conditioned, the manageress insisted on our arrival that air conditioning would cost us an extra €10 per night. Over a two-week stay, this adds up to a whopping €140 of extra, unscheduled charges! Since this was a clear mis-representation of what had been claimed when our holiday had been booked, we refused to pay for this, but as the temperature crept to 40 degrees and beyond, we were treated to increasingly sleepless nights (the shape of the bay and of the hotel complex meant that we had almost no breeze on our balcony at all). When we finally lost our temper about this and checked out after a week, the manageress was extremely rude and even tried to insist that we should pay for the full two weeks. She argued that we were being unreasonable despite the fact that the hotel literature on her reception desk clearly stated that air-con was included in the price, and only backed down after threats of us calling the British Consulate. We subsequently moved to a self-catering studio for less than half the nightly rate of the hotel (as has been mentioned in another review, the hotel breakfast wasn't up to much anyway) and - naturally - with air-con included in the price.

The hotel website has been updated to show this as an extra charge since our return, but the "air-con included" line can still be seen on all other websites advertising this hotel, and so it's difficult to see this as anything other than a thoroughly dishonest attempt to extort money from a captive audience. I have travelled all over the world and never been treated so rudely in a hotel - a very sad contrast with the honesty and courtesy that we met with everywhere else on Samos, and that we know to be normal behaviour on the Greek Islands.

Contrary to an earlier review on this site, beach loungers are apparently no longer free to hotel guests either, and safe deposit boxes (located in reception) are also charged as extra. Finally, Room Service is claimed on several external sites, but since reception is unstaffed for the vast majority of the day and night, this is a complete non-starter.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FanofGreeceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2007

This "hotel" is run on a slightly strange basis in that while the rooms have basic cooking facilities and fridge, and there is a taverna serving all meals if you choose to take them, the rooms are only cleaned twice a week, which means the beds aren't made each day, and rubbish is only cleared twice a week. We had accommodtion in the newest block which was very spacious, very clean and quiet with efficient aircon.

However the pool was unusable as the water was totally murky. At one point the owner declared the pool shut and tipped a large quantity of chemical into it, then walked away. No sign saying it was closed. People continued to use it. Five days later when we left there was a slight improvement in the clarity but it still looked dreadful. Also the pool bar was shut while we were there, and our rep said she had never seen it open. It looked very depressing with its shuttered front and pile of chairs stacked up outside.

Breakfast is uninspiring - orange cordial not juice, processed ham, turkey or cheese with tomato and cucumber, thick slices of bread and jam (the best bet), or "cornflakes". If you paid an extra 2 euros you could have fresh orange juice and another 2 euros gets you an omelette. Presentation poor. We bought things from the local market and ate in our rooms.

The location is good, just a two minute walk down the gentle hill to the fine shingle beach with water sports, sun loungers/umbrellas and other tavernas. The hotel provides free sunbeds on the beach, but beware they are far more crowded together than other sunbeds, and all are generally taken very early in the morning - 7.30ish!!! (Proabably because few people were braving the pool). We either couldn't get a hotel sunbed as they were taken or we didn't like being so squashed in with everyone else so paid the 5 euros further along the beach to get a more pleasant spot.

A car/bike is pretty much essential for getting around although if you go off the main roads onto tracks you need to be an experienced driver with a good car.

All in all this "hotel" is a good bet if you use it as a base for going out and about or going to the beach, but I would allow extra money for the nicer sunbeds and not expect to use the pool. Ask for the newest accommodation. A good place for families or walkers. The hill might make it difficult for the elderly.

3  Thank Gourdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Suiten sind sehr geräumig
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robleitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ina115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Уточните обязательно, чтобы номера были после ремонта. В основном это номера на втором этаже. Их там...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank pttst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matteo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limnionas
14.7 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kokkari
158 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kampos Village Resort
Kampos Village Resort
#1 of 13 in Marathokampos
211 reviews
18.2 mi away
Glicorisa Beach Hotel
Glicorisa Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pountes
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#2 of 13 in Marathokampos
160 reviews
17.8 mi away
Mykali Hotel
Mykali Hotel
#15 of 37 in Pythagorion
75 reviews
22.3 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Limnionas Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Limnionas Bay Village

Address: Limnionas - Marathokampos, Limnionas 831 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Limnionas
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Limnionas
Price Range: £42 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Limnionas Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the bustle of everyday life, enjoy the refined peaceful atmosphere and wonderful view. We have been offering warm traditional hospitality and friendly family service to our customers since 1998. This is the ideal natural environment for relaxing, enjoyable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Limnionas Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Limnionas Bay Village Samos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing