We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, managed extremelly professionally”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petra Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grikos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were very pleasently suprized not only by the beauty of the structure but most of allby the warm and caring welcome which Petra and Kostas gave us from the first minute, which made us feel right at home from the start. The personel of the hotel was at all times also very professional and attentionate to all of our request. I can definitely say that it is extremelly rare to have such service in a hotel. The rooms are exquisitely decorated. Definitely one of the best hotels I have been in. Enrico, Alexia, Lavinia Gianfilippo

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 103Enrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

As promised two years ago, we returned to Petra Hotel & Suites in July 2013. The hotel itself is situated in the bay of Grikos at the wonderful Island of Patmos. We stayed there with our 19-year old daughter for 6 nights in the penthouse Petra Suite with its amazing terrace and great view on the bay. And again, the hospitality of the owners, the service of the staff, the superb breakfast, the sparkling pool, the sunny weather, the excellent diner, etc., were fantastic and made you feel at home immediately. When you have the opportunity to visit Patmos, there's only one place to stay: Petra Hotel & Suites! We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I with another couple of friends from Australia stayed at the Petra Hotel in mid June this year for 7 nights .We have been travelling to Europe around mid year for most of the past 12 years and we generally book to stay in small boutique luxury hotels. We stayed in one of Petra's spacious honeymoon suites that had spectacular views over Grikos bay.The owner Petra and her husband were excellent hosts and all the staff and manager Dimitri were superb in looking after us. Greek hospitality at its absolute best.Also the breakfast served on the beautiful terrace overlooking the bay was delicious, varied and plentiful. We understand why guests who have had the Petra Hotel experience return to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I traveled to Patmos almost a year ago and stayed at the AMAZING Petra Hotel. I had a lovely suite - bedroom and living room and very spacious bathroom. The service was impeccable and the food divine. The breakfast alone sets a standard I have not seen at any other hotel and I've traveled to probably 70+ international locations. There was so much food - delightfully fresh and way too tempting. If you're watching your weight, this is the time to let go a little and splurge and enjoy the cuisine. I traveled solo to Patmos but met a group staying at the hotel and we quickly became fast friends - the setting is traveler friendly because the hotel is small so you get to know others staying at the hotel but not in an intrusive way. You very much have privacy and downtime to relax. The hotel also gave great recommendations on restaurants on the island and tour sites. Getting to the island of Patmos is a little involved but it's totally worth it and the Petra Hotel solidifies that you made the right choice in coming.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is, without doubt, one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in. The setting overlooking Grikos Bay is stunning. The facilities are superb and the ambiance is so peaceful. We arrived by catamaran from Kos to be met at Skala Harbour by the hotel minibus. We were taken to the hotel and placed in a lovely room with every facility you could think of.
The hotel is family run and is small. Only 11 rooms, but what rooms! It's not cheap but the best rarely is. Food was freshly cooked and expertly served by friendly staff. A self drive car was organised with no fuss at all. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed a week and we were very sad to leave. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay. We were on the lowest level as my wife is partially disabled and there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank centumvir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

After a few relaxing days on the small island of Leros, we arrived by Ferry on the beautiful island of Patmos, for a 5-night stay from july 4 till 9
We had done extensive research before making our hotel selection, looking at reviews on tripadvisor, etc.
But, more importantly we knew what were looking for: a small hotel, away from the crowd but not too secluded, great view, high standard, good service and close to the beach.
We ended up in Hotel Petra, drawn in by pictures on the website, and must say, it was all there.

Small hotel: just the right size to get a personal treatment, and more professional than a B&B. The rooms are all on different levels, adding to the exclusivity and quietness.
Away from the crowd: located in Grikos Bay, and only 4 km from Skala and Chora. Close to a few very nice tavernas. Grikos Bay was once probably one of the more beatiful bays, but now the Aktis Hotel dominates and spoiles view and tranquility of the bay. It is simply too massive for a small island like Patmos, but with new money (i.e. Russians) come new rules, we guess.
That's what makes the Petra hotel even more of a gem.
Yes, you need a car or scooter, but why wouldn't you anyway, the island is beautiful.
Service: the breakfast is plentiful, fresh and more than one can eat. We were very well attended all day, sometimes even too much, giving us a slight uncomfort in the beginning. After a few days the staff losened up a bit, but it would be great if the staff would be less uptight, and a little more relaxing. We are on vacation in Greece after all :)
Rooms: very nicely decorated, not very roomy, but all is there. For the better view, suggest to get at least a suite. It's worth the extra.
The pooldeck is fabulous and just the right size to soak up the view, cool off and catch the evening sun
Some remarks though: Petra Hotel is part of SLH group, and it seemed management (a very nice couple in the business for 25 years) were sometimes not well informed or were not allowed to make decisions on changes, special requests, etc. without consent from the Athens office.
It seemed this took away some of their genuine hospitality. We must say however that the miscommunication on special requests and rates, atbthe end were handled very profesionally ad supportive, even giving us an upgrade on the room.
So, if you are planning for an upscale boutique hotel on Patmos, this is the right choice, and they truly make an effort to comfort you in a personal way, in a setting that reflects the atmposhere of Patmos. Gisela and Paul Rosenberg

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giseladagmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed for seven wonderful nights for our second honeymoon. Service was excellent. Quality of hotel fantastic. Views etched on our memories forever.

Breakfast was so good it lasted until dinner. Evening food at the hotel is serviced with wonderful style and was ok, nut we preferred to eat locally. Loved the pool.

Top tip hire a scooter and take time to discover the rest of the island.

Perfect romance break and worth the extra effort of getting to a great unspoilt Greek island and wonderfully lush yet quiet hotel.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suit with an almost completely private balcony was well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 359Mark1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grikos
0.1 mi away
Patmos Aktis Suites & Spa
1.7 mi away
Skala Hotel
Skala Hotel
#1 of 5 in Skala
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
9 Muses Patmos
9 Muses Patmos
#6 of 20 in Patmos
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Patmos Paradise Hotel
Patmos Paradise Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kambos
86 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Skala
158 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodon Hotel
Rodon Hotel
#3 of 5 in Skala
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Hotel & Suites

Address: Patmos, Grikos, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Patmos > Grikos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grikos
Price Range: £168 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Petra Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the Petra Hotel & Suites has differentiated itself as a charming Patmos island vacation spot, enchanting guests who expect the highest levels of hospitality and service from a small Greek islands boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Petra Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Hotel Grikos
Petra Hotel And Suites
Petra Hotel pátmos
Petra Hotel & Suites Patmos/Grikos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing