We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Petra Greek Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petra Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grikos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Petra Greek Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

First of all, this was our (my husband and my) first trip outside the US. Greece is an absolutely beautiful country and the people at the Petra Hotel, Owners included, were friendly, accommodating and so very kind. We stayed 3 days and loved every minute of it. Our room had amazing views of the Grikos bay area and hillsides. Not to mention the pool view right below our room was gorgeous to wake up to. The hotel was immaculate and I always witnessed someone cleaning or polishing something. Our trash in our room was always emptied every time we left our room. Which for those of us coming from the states and not used to the "please don't flush the toilet paper" rule, was a good thing. Staff was more than eager to make sure we had the most pleasant stay possible.
The meals were also delicious and beautifully presented. The breakfast, which was amazing!! was more food than either my husband or I could eat. But I will say, it was fresh and delicious. This was one of my favorite islands because it was a more authentic quiet experience. I would definitely visit this island and hotel again. We had a wonderful experience over all.

I will say this, while the bed was very comfortable, it was still fairly warm in the bedroom. The only AC unit is above the door in the entry and air circulation was a little lacking. But it wasn't unbearable...we just like the bedroom cold at night for sleeping.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be awaken by other patrons using the pool then ask for a room opposite the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra_Hotel, General Manager at Petra Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Victoria,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel – we are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation at the Petra Hotel & Suites and we are excited to hear that you would definitely visit us again! Also, it is great to hear that you liked features of our hotel such as the view, our attention to the cleanliness and our food, especially our breakfast. We too look forward to hosting you again and to hearing back from you when you are ready to a return visit to Patmos!

Christos Stergiou, Petra Hotel & Suites General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    18
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
47
142
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

What a little gem this was! We stayed for 7 nights and didn't want to leave. The standard of service was first class and hats off to Maya( sorry if I've got the spelling wrong), the waitress- so friendly & pleasant,nothing was too much trouble, lovely room with wonderful views, I'm sure the room was cleaned every time we left, if only for 10 mins even! Breakfast was a feast every morning with delicious homemade pastries.
The pool area is delightful with very smart loungers and buttons to press for service- very quiet & quite often we were the only ones there - like having you're own pool!
Patmos is a beautiful peaceful island that we will return too one day.For beach lovers the Lampi beach is a must with a wonderful Taverna with divine food.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveGreece271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra_Hotel, General Manager at Petra Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm review - we are so grateful for all your lovely comments! We are delighted that you liked the Petra Hotel & Suites and that you particularly enjoyed features of our hotel such as our breakfast, the pool area and the cleanliness. We hope to be able to host you again in the future!

Christos Stergiou, Petra Hotel & Suites General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Petra Suite for 9 nights in June 2014 and after reading the reviews I felt obliged to add my own thoughts.

GOOD POINTS:-
a) Although somewhat expensive the Petra Suite was wonderful, spotlessly clean and well maintained. The pool area was also beautiful.
b) The hotel is beautifully situated and the staff & owner very friendly.
c) On day 2 we were offered complimentary water and 1 bottle of complimentary wine.

POINTS OF ISSUE:-
a) Do not use the ferry booking service as the fee of 80 Euro (Tickets cost 169 Euro) is ridiculous especially when you are paying 525 Euro per night. Ferry bookings are the life blood of the hotels on the island and should be included as a service to customers by the hotel.
b) The welcome drink as part of our transfer was similarly pointless a glass of lemonade drunk whilst standing up plus a tiny bottle of fizzy wine in the room. Having just arrived from Lindos Blue (also 5 star) in Rhodes this was certainly a disappointment.
c) Whilst acknowledging the excellent attempt at a traditional Greek breakfast we had problems which were brought to their attention on day 1 being that I do not eat cheese and my wife is a diabetic but never mind for a further 8 mornings we were inundated with cheese pies, strawberries and cream, lemon tart, cakes and jam. We were so embarrassed to return all this wonderful food each day. Other options were readily available to us and we enjoyed those.
d) During our stay dinner was only available on 3 evenings. We found the meal and wine overpriced with no choice available. We only had 1 dinner during our stay. In the area Grikos & Skala there are wonderful restaurants. The best were the main dining room at the 5 star Patmos Akri Hotel and its beach cafe, both at Grikos Bay
e) Although not a problem the level of English of the owner meant that we had to phone Athens to understand the computer problems being experienced. We were told on 2 consecutive days by the waitress that there were problems with our account, which was incorrect, this is not acceptable in a Hotel of the brand Small Luxury Hotels of the World.

OVERALL:-
We loved our stay, the island is delightful and the Petra Hotel a Greek Jewel BUT it is a big BUT we would consider another option before staying there again, Why? well there is that certain something you can't define, the friendliness appeared genuine but sometimes we didn't feel at ease maybe there was a wariness on our part or maybe our experience at other 5 star hotels invited comparisons which were not favourable. The Petra hotel certainly deserves its Small Luxury Hotels of the World status but the Patmos Akri with its fine dining restaurant, excellent beach bar and rooms, some with private pools at 60% of the price will become stiff competition for the Petra.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike_dosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Petra hotel was such a cutie. We so loved our staying there! We spent a whole patmian week at room no5, a standard one with the facilities of a superior, as this is all about Petra hotel in Patmos. Personalized staying, no matter how long you re there for, no matter if you are returning or not. Your wish is their command. Is it a special breakfast wish, you got it ( although their served breakfast experience is a must, I mean seriously, everything is included, island pies, homemade sweets, you even get to beg for a simple milk & cereals..)
The stuff is such a lovely people, you can get as weird as you like, they love to serve you (be always kind, it's rewarding)
Petroula, Petra's soul and hotel's co-owner is always there for you, along with lovely husband Kostas and son (www.truegreece.com) Christos.
PS. Amazing view- best moon rising
Dear Stergiou family, we so long to visit you again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra_Hotel, General Manager at Petra Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Stella,

Thank you for such a warm review – we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We were delighted to hear that you loved our property and that you enjoyed features of our hotel such as our staff, our personalized service, the view and room. We are also excited that you adored our breakfast with our homemade delicacies. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I were at the Petra Hotel in Patmos for four days in early July. The hotel is a very reasonably priced gem. The suite with sea view was outstanding, breakfast was excellent and cleanliness was almost maniacal with personnel constantly sweeping and washing already immaculate floors. We would go back in a flash! More generally, Patmos is a magical island without the huge crowds of more popular islands with an airport. The presence of a monastery, the village of Chora and countless small churches makes it a hybrid between a vacation spot and a quasi-mystical place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandro56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra_Hotel, General Manager at Petra Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Sandro,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! We are delighted that you loved our suite and that you enjoyed features of our hotel such as our breakfast and detail to cleanliness. It is also great to hear that you liked Patmos island. We hope to be able to host you again in the future on a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patmos, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My ferry was two hours delayed beyond its 3:15 a.m. arrival time. The host pleasantly greeted me when I arrived and had refreshing lemonade available for me. This was the tenor of my stay. Kind and gracious service, spacious accommodations, and wonderful meals. The view is lovely from the hotel dining room; the rooms are very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank running_w0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra_Hotel, General Manager at Petra Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and positive comments! It is great to hear that you loved features of our hotel such as our service, food and room. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed the view from our dining room. We hope to be able to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

High quality accommodation. Best on island. Modern with small pool and fantastic views within distance to beach and harbor. Amazing sunset dinner.
Mr Kostas and Mrs Petra,the owners ,lovely and adorable perons. We felt more than welcome from the begging of our stay. We were given an excellent honey at the time of our departure (Mrs Petra was searching for us at the harbour!)
A great thanks for your hospitality! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DENSKOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra_Hotel, General Manager at Petra Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for all your lovely comments! We are excited to hear that you had an amazing stay with us and that you felt more than welcome from the beginning of your stay. We also do appreciate your comment for the owners of our hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grikos
0.1 mi away
Patmos Aktis Suites & Spa
0.5 mi away
9 Muses Patmos
9 Muses Patmos
#5 of 20 in Patmos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skala Hotel
Skala Hotel
#1 of 5 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Patmos Paradise Hotel
Patmos Paradise Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kambos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grikos Hotel
Grikos Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grikos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Hotel & Suites

Property: Petra Hotel & Suites
Address: Patmos, Grikos, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Patmos > Grikos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grikos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Petra Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the Petra Hotel & Suites has differentiated itself as a charming Patmos island vacation spot, enchanting guests who expect the highest levels of hospitality and service from a small Greek islands boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petra Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Hotel Grikos
Petra Hotel And Suites
Petra Hotel pátmos
Petra Hotel & Suites Patmos/Grikos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing