We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary accommodation and hosts in a great location”
Review of Aquario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aquario
Ranked #7 of 15 Anse Volbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Acquario was the first of our three accommodations during our two weeks in the Seychelles, and our favourite overall. From the moment Farida greeted us after our long journey with a warm smile and a lovely welcome drink we immediately relaxed and began to enjoy our holiday.

Our apartment had everything we look for - it was extremely spacious, simply furnished and most importantly of all spotlessly clean! It was equipped with every comfort you would need - even washing powder and umbrellas! The bathroom was large and with a double powerful shower with hot water. The l-shaped terrace was also large with tables, chairs and a rack for drying clothes.

At first I was a little perturbed to see that the apartments were quite close to the road - but although facing the road you can't actually see it and we didn't really notice the traffic noise (it's quite a quiet road). The apartments are very secure too.

The staff were very helpful and extremely efficient. We organised a tour through the hotel to Cousin, Curieuse and Ile St Pierre which although not cheap was excellent. We also enjoyed chatting to Farida's husband Joseph too and hearing all about island life!

Breakfasts were simple but lovely - fresh fruit and juice with bread / croissants and delicious homemade jams. We enjoyed a delicious meal at Acquario one evening - smoked fish followed by whole fresh fish and a lovely desert of bananas in syrup.

If I had to make a minor criticism I'd say that perhaps the surroundings where breakfast / dinner are taken could be a bit more attractive (eg piles of wood in the garden) - but really this wasn't something that bothered me.

The location of the apartments is great, at the western end of Anse Volbert beach close to White Tip divers. Anse Volbert itself is very pleasant - not the best beach on the island but still lovely especially for swimming and strolling.

Note that in the evening the road down to Anse Volbert and restaurants etc is pitch black - there are torches in the apartment and you will definitely need them!

Overall I think Acquario really deserves its high Trip Advisor rating - we would most definitely stay here again if we ever got the chance to return. Thank you for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clownfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Aquario
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

We stayed there before going to La Digue and after coming back form La Digue. Both stays were more than wonderful. Appartements are spotless, very comfortable, some of them with sharing living room and kitchen, but each with its own terrace and separate big fridge. Mrs. Farida adn her husband are always around, putting extreme efforts into guests satisfaction, always willing to have a wrod with you and nothing is too much for them. They were even preparing some different food for me as I have alergy to sea food, but my husband enjoyed in all kind of fishes they were preparing, mostly like BBQ.

Property is only 50 m from Cot d' Ore, one of the most beautiful beaches in Preslin Island. Part of the beach is inside Paradise Sun Resort and we asked hotel to use their beach facilities with free wi- fi and sunbeds if we had lunch in the hotel every day. So we were very comfortable also at the beach.

Be aware of sand flies. I was almost eaten with them, my husband had more luck as it seems almost all of them prefered to get me. Even after one month I have a problem. Nobody told us about so many sand flies on this beach, so we started to use correct repelent too late, only after unpleasant experience.

In the village you can find two stores with basic supplies, good vines are definitely to be mentioned- such as Footprint at 105 rupies. You can also have great food at very reasonable prices as take away or to eat there at Berjaya hotel.

You can stay with all possible comfort in Aquario and than you can do adds on and organize yourself as you like, there are so many options.

For us it was like extremely comofortable and clean accommodation (better than hotel room in Paradise Sun which we also checked) with hotel comfort on the beach and several options to eat or to make excursions due to great location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

A friend and I spent five wonderful days at Acquario. Farida and her staff are fantastic - friendly and helpful. The accommodation is excellent - modern and well-kept. The villa is only a 2 minute walk from one of the most beautiful, unspoilt beaches on the island. Couldn't have stayed at a better place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SEYCHELLEES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

My wife and I recently completed a four-night, five-day stay at Aquario (also spelled Acquario) and, like virtually all of the previous reviewers, found it to be superb. The location on Praslin is great: it is a two minute walk from the northwest corner of lovely Anse Volbert beach in one direction and a three minute walk from the bus stop near Le Reserve in the other direction. Also at the northwest corner of Anse Volbert is Whitetip Divers and the Paradise Sun hotel (which is a good place to visit for lunch, especially for inexpensive pizza at its beach-front restaurant, and for its unsecured wi-fi signal).

The apartments at Aquario are immaculate and well-apportioned. They include a refrigerator for each room, beach umbrellas for when it rains, a shared kitchen, and a veranda with chairs and a table. Beach towels are provided. Our room had a safe. It also was equipped with an AC adapter. The bed was comfortable and the linen and bedspread clean. The bathroom had a toilet and a bidet and a very nice double shower. Small hotel-style bars of soap were provided, but guests need to bring their own shampoo. Wi-fi was available for €5 per hour, on the honor system (for free wi-fi, consider wandering over near the Paradise Sun).

We paid €90 per night for our room, inclusive of breakfast. Breakfast included some breads, rolls, jam, a fairly sizable selection of fresh fruit, omelets, fruit juice, and coffee. You'll be on your own for lunch, although there are a handful of restaurants and a couple of mini-supermarkets in the nearby village. A three-course dinner is available at 7:30 p.m. every day of the week except Sundays for €20 per person per meal. Farida is an excellent cook and it is definitely worthwhile taking all your dinners at Aquario. All of our dinners there were delicious. Fish is featured heavily; however, if fish is not to your liking, Farida & Co. will be happy to substitute something else (I, for example, had a delicious steak in lieu of prawns one night). Drinks cost extra, although they are reasonably priced. You can bring your own wine, if you prefer.

We made a side trip to La Digue, which Aquario was able to arrange for us. The day-trips to La Digue apparently depart on Mondays at 9:30 a.m. from Le Reserve, returning by 4:00 p.m., and are run by Athena tours. For ScR 400 per person, you get round-trip boat transportation to La Digue. Best of all, you originate and terminate at nearby Le Reserve, rather than having to take a taxi or bus to and from the main ferry jetty on Praslin. For an extra ScR 150 per person, Athena will arrange for bike hire on La Digue. We greatly enjoyed our visit to La Digue and can highly recommend this day-trip including the bike rental, although we'd caution that the best beach on La Digue, in our opinion, is not the more famous Anse Source d'Argent, but rather the extraordinary Grand Anse.

As for the beaches on Praslin, the nearby Anse Volbert is good, but Anse Lazio puts it to shame. You must visit Anse Lazio while on Praslin. To get there, you can take a bus for Scr 5 per person each way. Be prepared for a relatively steep, albeit fairly brief, 10-15 minute hike from where the bus drops you off to the beach; the reward for the exercise is a truly picturesque, world-class beach that is uncrowded and offers plenty of shade under the trees.

As for getting to and from Aquario, we came off the Cat Cocos ferry from Mahe on the way in and flew back from the Praslin Airport directly to the Mahe Airport on Air Seychelles. The taxi from the Cat Cocos ferry to Aquario cost us Scr 250; the taxi back to the airport cost us ScR 350. Both the ferry and the flight were fine ways of getting between the islands; the ferry is less expensive, but if you want to go from airport-to-airport, especially to facilitate a direct connection, the flight is a good option.

As for the diving, it was just okay. Nothing wrong with Whitetip Divers: the folks who work there are friendly and helpful and their equipment and boat are fine. But if you are looking for challenging diving, amazing coral formations, big fish, and great visibility, it didn't seem like Praslin was the place for it.

As our trip was in January, it fell squarely in the middle of the rainy season. I wouldn't let the rainy season act as a deterrent to a trip to the Seychelles, but afternoon rain showers were the norm everyday and the days were mostly cloudy with the occasional burst of direct sunlight. At times the rains would be torrential, but light rains or drizzle were more common. The mornings, on the other hand, generally were dry.

Anyway, Aquario was great. Out of the many places we've been privileged to stay on are travels across the planet, it would have to be right near the top, especially when you consider the bang for the buck it provides. The hospitality of Farida and the staff are wonderful. We were even permitted to check out at 5 p.m. on our day of departure at no extra cost since the next guests weren't arriving until the following day, affording us a leisurely afternoon and the opportunity to shower before hearing to the airport. The facilities are great: clean, comfortable, well-apportioned, and well-located. Add to it a tasty and filling breakfast, which is included in the rate, and an on-site dinner of high quality which is optional, and you have a winner. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cal776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Very simple, spacious, clean and homely apartments. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there! Apartments are equipped with everything you might need and the price is really reasonable bearing in mind very high hotel prices in Seychelles. All 3 star hotels charge more and they are a lot worse than Aquario! We loved the location right next to the beach and few steps away from the diving centre. However the highlight of our stay there is of course the atmosphere created by Farida and Joseph. They are very lovely people and have a lovely staff who will do anything to accomodate you. We had dinner with them every night and it was the best food in Seychelles! Joseph's fish was the best in the world! We miss it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJLSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Before our average stay in Mahé in Albizia Lodge,we spent 4 nights in this nice place where we had all our dinners(except on Sunday).Farida who worked 18 years in Italy for children requiring dietary treatments is a great and generous cook much better than those of the Paradise Sun and the Pirogue restaurant!
They have just open 2 new accomodations with 2 rooms each.
For one Euro/hour you may enjoy on the varangue Internet and free mosquitos.
No problem for us with the hard mattress

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernard69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The guesthouse is very nice...it is near at the beach and the small village where you can find a bancomat, resturant, market..... The food is very good....I suggest to eat there because Farida is an excelent cook.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10capitano10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mango Lodge
Mango Lodge
#7 of 12 in Anse Volbert
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Anse Volbert
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Chalets Cote Mer
Chalets Cote Mer
#2 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berjaya Praslin Resort - Seychelles
0.1 mi away
L'Hirondelle
L'Hirondelle
#2 of 15 in Anse Volbert
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquario

Address: Anse Petite Cours, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Anse Volbert
Price Range: £73 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquario 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Aquario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquario Hotel Praslin Island
Aquario Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing