We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Aquario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aquario
Ranked #7 of 15 Anse Volbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed at acquario villa for 4 days in July and had a great time. The apartments are clean, comfortable, spacious & have everything you could want. The food is wonderful, the staff are friendly & helpful. The owners Farida & Jose are lovely people who will do anything to ensure you enjoy your stay & really make you feel welcome. We will definitely return to Acquario soon.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trickyvicky85_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    61
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
62
166
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We had a lovely time here, very quiet, very clean, really friendly people. The bungalow was very well equipped and the bed very comfortable. Lots of little things had been thought of to make our stay comfortable. In terms of the cost to comfort ratio, this represents very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pricey555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We spent there 5 days in their superior room (2 adults + 1 child). What can I say, everything was perfect. The bungalow is comfortable and equipped with everything you need. The location is very convenient, a few steps from Cote d'or. The owners (Farida and Jose) are wonderful people that will struggle to help you and make your stay comfortable. The food at dinner is terrific, fresh fish and meat (mostly grilled) and a variety of accompaniments. Breakfast is good as well as everything else. A big thank to Farida and Jose, they really made our day at Praslin

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lupomich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed at the Aquario for a week - friends of ours were getting married at La Reserve hotel around the corner. We had one of the larger rooms, which was spacious with our own kitchen, living area, and veranda. The bathroom was also big with a double shower. I can't recommend this guest house highly enough - the hosts were very welcoming, from bringing us a welcome drink on arrival to ordering taxis for us and suggesting places to eat. Every night we could though, we ate at the guest house and Joseph served barbequed fish that he had caught that day. Make sure you don't eat too much during the day though, because the portions are huge. Fareida also served us a portion of curried fruitbat after we said that we were curious about trying it! Overall, has to be one of the most welcoming and least corporate places to stay on the island.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSPLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Acquario was the first of our three accommodations during our two weeks in the Seychelles, and our favourite overall. From the moment Farida greeted us after our long journey with a warm smile and a lovely welcome drink we immediately relaxed and began to enjoy our holiday.

Our apartment had everything we look for - it was extremely spacious, simply furnished and most importantly of all spotlessly clean! It was equipped with every comfort you would need - even washing powder and umbrellas! The bathroom was large and with a double powerful shower with hot water. The l-shaped terrace was also large with tables, chairs and a rack for drying clothes.

At first I was a little perturbed to see that the apartments were quite close to the road - but although facing the road you can't actually see it and we didn't really notice the traffic noise (it's quite a quiet road). The apartments are very secure too.

The staff were very helpful and extremely efficient. We organised a tour through the hotel to Cousin, Curieuse and Ile St Pierre which although not cheap was excellent. We also enjoyed chatting to Farida's husband Joseph too and hearing all about island life!

Breakfasts were simple but lovely - fresh fruit and juice with bread / croissants and delicious homemade jams. We enjoyed a delicious meal at Acquario one evening - smoked fish followed by whole fresh fish and a lovely desert of bananas in syrup.

If I had to make a minor criticism I'd say that perhaps the surroundings where breakfast / dinner are taken could be a bit more attractive (eg piles of wood in the garden) - but really this wasn't something that bothered me.

The location of the apartments is great, at the western end of Anse Volbert beach close to White Tip divers. Anse Volbert itself is very pleasant - not the best beach on the island but still lovely especially for swimming and strolling.

Note that in the evening the road down to Anse Volbert and restaurants etc is pitch black - there are torches in the apartment and you will definitely need them!

Overall I think Acquario really deserves its high Trip Advisor rating - we would most definitely stay here again if we ever got the chance to return. Thank you for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clownfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We stayed there before going to La Digue and after coming back form La Digue. Both stays were more than wonderful. Appartements are spotless, very comfortable, some of them with sharing living room and kitchen, but each with its own terrace and separate big fridge. Mrs. Farida adn her husband are always around, putting extreme efforts into guests satisfaction, always willing to have a wrod with you and nothing is too much for them. They were even preparing some different food for me as I have alergy to sea food, but my husband enjoyed in all kind of fishes they were preparing, mostly like BBQ.

Property is only 50 m from Cot d' Ore, one of the most beautiful beaches in Preslin Island. Part of the beach is inside Paradise Sun Resort and we asked hotel to use their beach facilities with free wi- fi and sunbeds if we had lunch in the hotel every day. So we were very comfortable also at the beach.

Be aware of sand flies. I was almost eaten with them, my husband had more luck as it seems almost all of them prefered to get me. Even after one month I have a problem. Nobody told us about so many sand flies on this beach, so we started to use correct repelent too late, only after unpleasant experience.

In the village you can find two stores with basic supplies, good vines are definitely to be mentioned- such as Footprint at 105 rupies. You can also have great food at very reasonable prices as take away or to eat there at Berjaya hotel.

You can stay with all possible comfort in Aquario and than you can do adds on and organize yourself as you like, there are so many options.

For us it was like extremely comofortable and clean accommodation (better than hotel room in Paradise Sun which we also checked) with hotel comfort on the beach and several options to eat or to make excursions due to great location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPE TOWN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

A friend and I spent five wonderful days at Acquario. Farida and her staff are fantastic - friendly and helpful. The accommodation is excellent - modern and well-kept. The villa is only a 2 minute walk from one of the most beautiful, unspoilt beaches on the island. Couldn't have stayed at a better place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEYCHELLEES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.0 mi away
Mango Lodge
Mango Lodge
#7 of 12 in Anse Volbert
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
839 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalets Cote Mer
Chalets Cote Mer
#2 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Berjaya Praslin Resort - Seychelles
0.0 mi away
L'Hirondelle
L'Hirondelle
#2 of 15 in Anse Volbert
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Jewels Resort
Ocean Jewels Resort
#1 of 3 in Amitie
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquario

Property: Aquario
Address: Anse Petite Cours, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquario 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aquario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquario Hotel Praslin Island
Aquario Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing