We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Seychellois hospitaly - perfect!”
Review of Aquario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aquario
Ranked #7 of 16 Anse Volbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Genuine Seychellois hospitaly - perfect!”
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We stayed for six nights at Acquario Self-catering apartments in January, and it was just excellent!

This was our first trip to the Seychelles, and we are so happy we chose to stay at Acquario, and the combination of price, service, friendliness, food served and location simply cannot be beaten. We took a taxi directly from the Praslin "Iles des Palmes" airport to Acquario, which cost €20 and took about 15 minutes through Vallée de Mai Nature Reserve. We were given a very warm welcome by new staff member Joannys, and we immediately felt at home, and just as important: Totally relaxed! Cold welcome drinks were served, and later in the evening, Farida came with freshly made salty breadfruit chips - tasted great with our SeyBrews! She also mentioned that if you eat the breadfruit, you will come back to the Seychelles.

The nice, air-conditioned apartments are just a few meters away from the beautiful Anse Volbert beach. Though you actually can't see the beach from the apartments, it takes less than a minute to walk there. It takes about ten minutes to walk to the main village, where you will find several shops, restaurants, ATM's, internet café, souvenir shops, dive shops etc.

The apartments are, without overstating, kept spotlessly clean and well equipped with everything you could possibly need for self-catering. The bathroom is nice, with a double shower, bidet, and WC. The beds are made every day and fluffy bath towels are changed every other day. Bed linen was changed once during our stay, and there is lots of wardrobe space for your clothes. There is a small safe in each apartment for keeping your valuables in, and also a TV and a CD player/radio. The Seychelles uses the British 3-pin standard socket, so if you are from a country that does not use this socket, bring an adapter for charging your digital camera batteries, as there is no adapter in the apartments.

The current rate includes a delicious breakfast with coffee/tea, toast, croissants, several types of fresh fruit (banana, mango, papaya, pineapple etc), yoghurt, juice and Farida's homemade banana and starfruit jams. You can also book a three course dinner at €20 per person, which is very much recommended, as Farida & Joseph's home cooking is excellent! You will need to tell Farida or a staff member in the morning what you prefer for dinner, and she or Joseph will go and get it for you. If you choose fish, Joseph will go out the same day and catch it! For appetizers, we had a smoked fish salad, and also veggie chow mein. We had two excellent créole style grilled fish entrées, and the desserts were local specialties such as caramelized baby banana with ice cream and coconut praline with ice cream. All food is served in abundance, and both excellent in taste and presentation, well worthy of a good quality restaurant. To give you an idea of their cooking abilities, Edwin Rose, the grill chef at Laurier's, a taxi driver and several other people speak highly of their food. A French/German couple staying in the apartment next door told us they had once stayed at the other side of the island, but took a taxi to Acquario every night to eat there.

Farida, Joseph, Joannys, Marianna and Tasianna were helpful in every way they could, including making calls to arrange an excursion with "Barracuda", car rentals etc, and with their genuine Seychellois hospitality, they all made our stay 110% perfect. We are definitely coming back - the breadfruit worked :)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimenime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    63
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
63
171
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Farida and her husband run a super little guest house and are really friendly and helpful. If only they ruled the world.

The location is good, being about 150 metres from a great beach and the room is very large with a sitting room and kitchen. They will cook dinner for you on request.

You will see that all the reviews are either excellent or good. They are richly deserved. The only thing missing for us was no wifi.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilledbutnotfrozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

This wonderful guest house is run by charming and hospitable married couple Farieda and Joseph. Aquario is well positioned on the very best spot, at the tail end of the popular Anse Volbert, on the little stretch between Paradise Sun and La Reserve, about 80 meters from the beach, close to where White Tip Divers are situated. In fact, close to everything, including bus stop, bicycles, restaurants. Cafes and bank ATM within easy walking istance as well.
I can only empasize what other reviewers have already said regarding the rooms- new, clean, spacious, good quality, beautiful surroundings, well equipped. Silly me did not realise that the unit had its own kitchen, as I booked half board, not self catering!
So perhaps some things not previously mentioned by others: kitchen is well equipped with the works, good quality of everything, kettle, toaster, slow cooker, microwave, fridge and gas hob, all brand new. There is no conventional oven. Lots of sachets of Nescafe coffee, teas and sugar cubes. No need to bring milk powder, as you can buy longlife milk at the cafe (no fresh milk available). You can buy lovely fresh bread daily as well as fruit, beers, cool drinks, yoghurts and veggies. I took Marmite, nuts, rusks and some short bread biscuits and a salami( smoked meats are allowed in). Wine is expensive so bring your own to drink on the veranda,(you are allowed 3 bottles per person) I also took a bottle of Gin.
Bedroom has plenty of wardrobe space and the bed is a king size bed with a firm mattress. The aircon initially takes a while to cool the room, but once going, is very effective. There is a toilet and bidet in the bathroom and the shower is for two (with two shower heads). There is nice hairdryer, look for the multiplug in the lounge where the fan is, some appliances need European round two point fittings. The normal Seychelles fitting is the British three point standard. Dont forget insect repellent, we got terribly bitten but not sure if it was on the beach or at night, could have been mozzies or sand fleas, who knows. There are some books (holiday reads) left by previous guest, but very little in English, so bring your own. Oh yes, we took our own beach towels. Not sure if Farieda has some stored away, but did not find any in the room. Bath towels were nice, big, and fluffy.
Unlike on la Digue, very few people seem to rent and ride bicycles in Praslin, the roads look more dangerous but we rented for the duration of our stay (5 nights) and investigated many lovely areas in the afternoons, after an enjoyable scuba dive each morning. I can thourougly recommend this, it just widen your horisons so much more. Also dont forget a high factor suntan lotion for the first few days, cannot tell you the number of red lobster colour tourists we saw - all caught out on their first day, go slow! During our stay Farieda catered for 5 couples (South African, British, Italian) and also made sure one vegetarian and one non-fish eater were satisfied. Do yourself a favour and book half board for most of your stay (you can choose to eat in or out, she just wants to know a day in advance). The evening meal is the best value for money in the Seychelles, delicious, stacks of food and varied all the time, Consists of starter, main course and dessert of local specialities ie breadfruit souffle, prawns on green paw paw salad, fish carparcio etc. And Joseph does a superb fish barbeque, he even did a 15 meter dive (snorkeling!) to make sure we experience the delights of a barbequed grouper, we came home with the marinade recipe! Breakfast is feast of tropical fruits, yoghurt, rolls and jam, egg and toast and tea/coffee.
When Farieda learnt that we had to leave at 5 am to catch our flight she prepared a breakfast tray for us, to enjoy before we left.
To Farieda, Joseph, Lulu (the resident cat) and the Aquario tortoise - thank you for a great holiday, we will always carry you in our hearts with warm memories of the Seychelles

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HoutBayDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

I have to agree with everything the previous reviewers have said. 55 euro per night gets you a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and loungeroom. (The TV didn't work too well -but a TV was unexpected and unnecessary anyway) It's all very spacious and well appointed. Farida has thought of everything -including first aid supplies in the bathroom in case you should get a scratch while SCUBA diving or cycling.

The breakfast was the best I had while staying in the Seychelles.

The location for me was perfect. A short stroll from Anse Volbert as well as Whitetip Dive Centre, kayak hire, bicycle hire, etc. It is also close to the main bus route if you want to go to another part of the island.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smsafiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Very nice, small, locally owned establishement just few meters from the west end of Anse Volbert (Cote d'Or) on Praslin.

We stayed on B&B basis, but you can also choose full board or self-catering options. The appartment was new, bright, spacious and very well appointed. Not to mention that it was kept absolutely spotless (towels and bedsheets changed all the time) during our entire stay. It also has aircon unit in the bedroom, which we appreciated very much and a pleasant terrace with deck chairs!

The owner - Farida - is a lovely lady, who not only gave us plenty of great tips on where to go and what to do, but also made us feel really welcome. She speaks English and French but also Italian. She also makes yummy jams, which we enjoyed for breakfast every morning...

We had absolutely great time, simply couldn't be better! Handy location, great hospitality and perfect services for very decent price.

  • Liked — The friedliness of the owners!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hunbause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.4 mi away
Mango Lodge
Mango Lodge
#7 of 12 in Anse Volbert
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berjaya Praslin Resort - Seychelles
2.6 mi away
Chalets Cote Mer
Chalets Cote Mer
#2 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Hirondelle
L'Hirondelle
#2 of 16 in Anse Volbert
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pirogue Lodge
Pirogue Lodge
#4 of 16 in Anse Volbert
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquario

Property: Aquario
Address: Anse Petite Cours, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquario 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aquario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquario Hotel Praslin Island
Aquario Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing