We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning home from home!”
Review of Mango Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mango Lodge
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Praslin was the first island we visited. We stayed at Mango Lodge for 6 nights in March – what a perfect way to start our time in the Seychelles! We did a lot of research trying to choose where to stay, and, having seen some of the places we nearly chose, it is clear that we stayed in the BEST resort and BEST accommodation by far.
Cote D’or is a good base to explore the Island, and there are a couple of good supermarkets in the village. The Sagittarius Boat company on the beach offer boat excursions and also’taxi boats’ (as well as the free sunbeds for Mango Lodge residents!). We recommend the taxiboat to Anse Georgette for 30Euros each - you can choose your drop off/collection time and arrive direct on the beach . The only other method is to access via the other side of the island (go by bus or car) but you still have to book a time to visit the beach through the Lemuria Hotel. We also went on the half day excursion to Coco and Felicite which was well worth it.

As for Mango Lodge, we LOVED it and were sad to leave. Our chalet was very comfortable, and the view from our balcony was just breathtaking. It was amazing to wake up to this or enjoy looking at the stars before going to bed. Lesley was extremely welcoming and a great person to get to know. She was helpful with taking us to the Supermarket for supplies and was just starting a new service of offering ‘take away collection’ for people who fancy a night in without cooking – the menu had a good choice.

Some people may be concerned about the ‘hill’ but we didn’t have a problem with this – the road is smooth and it took about 10 mins to walk down easily. To come back up, it does take some effort but if you’re happy to have a bit of exercise at the end of the day, you’ll be fine! Anyhow, Lesley and the staff at Mango Lodge are helpful and can pop down and collect you from the bottom when you’re ready to go back. If we did go down in the evening, the restaurants took us back up for free so you don’t even notice! What’s important is that the accommodation you reach is well worth it –the tropical surroundings and the view are much nicer than being at the bottom in amongst the roads and houses.

Thank you Lesley for a wonderful stay and all the special thoughts on my birthday… and to Zita for the wonderful bouquet of flowers! We hope to see you all soon! xxx

Room Tip: Choose a Chalet - we were in No.12 on the end which was nice but all the Chalet's were lovely an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a great time. The apartment/hut is large, tastefully furnished and the real gem is the large veranda with a jaw dropping view. We ate breakfast and dinner every night and caught the early morning rays all on the balcony, and never got tired of the scene of blue waters, green forests and small rocky islands that you gaze on from up on high.
Contrary to many of the other reviewers here, we did not have a rental car and while we are capable of climbing the hill road, we never fancied it and never had to. Lesley the owner and Marcus the receptionist were only too happy to drop us off at the bottom of the hill and pick us up either at arranged times or if we called them. They would also drop us at local places if asked. Also, we dived with Octopus Diver (recommended - see separate review) and they too arranged pickups direct from the lodge and returns. Considering there is a local bus stop right at the bottom that goes via Valee de Mai, you may not need the car everyone tells you to get so perhaps don't pre book that and see when you get here.
Ok there were a few things that could have been done better and I'll mention them for clarity and honesty BUT while most of them could have been solved with some better systems, it may be to the detriment of the lodge to become as system heavy as other hotels and guest houses because they will lose the flexibility and personal touch that we rate as more important. Niggles - a couple of times messages we left with one staff member did not get passed to the person who needed to know. Nothing major and nothing that wasn't solved with another call or chat. More than one of the lights in the property wasn't working (got repaired when asked) and the toilet flusher was semi broken (didn't get repaired). There is no in room safety deposit box but one is advertised in reception. We left some of our valuables but they just ended up being stored on the side in the owners apartment rather than in a secure location. Nothing went missing, but it didn't feel 'safe', but then again there are a lot of dogs there....oh and the lodge TV is about 10 inches but you will never need to turn it on with that view.
But as I alluded, the benefits far outweigh these minor things and the things that for me make Mango Lodge worthy of 5 stars basically boil down to the feeling that you get, from Lesley in particular, that you are valued, welcome and basically human, something that can be missing from hotels. You are welcome inside her apartment, you meet her children and animals, we were afforded a complimentary late checkout without even asking due to our last day itinerary and the lodge bookings, we were driven up and down the hill as we wanted, we were allowed to use the charcoal BBQ in the lodge and watersports equipment at the beach free of charge, the housekeeper sees which sheets, cushions and pillows you are actually using and stores the others rather than replacing them all every day ( and she washes up your dishes) and the staff will call anyone or organise anything you want and don't ask for anything in return.
So, to sum up, friendly people, awe inspiring view and comfortable, reasonably priced accommodation in paradise. If you want precision you may end up looking at a chain hotel like Berjaya but you will be losing out. 5 stars all the way....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EmperorOceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed in one of the wooden chalets and absolutely enjoyed our time there. The room was simple but spacious, with an attached bathroom and a small kitchenette. The view from our balcony was the best we had on the whole island. Breakfast was really nice, with fresh fruits, coffee and toast. As the lodge is located on the top of a hill, I would recommend renting a car - the hike up is really tiring. However, Lesley the owner was so nice to give us a lift whenever she was available. Also some restaurants offer a free shuttle service back to the lodge after dinner. We really liked the place not only for its stunning view, but also the great hospitality we experienced.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simi189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

What an amazing place to stay, the best vies we have ever had! The staff are so friendly & helpful they treated us like family! If you don't mind a steep hill this venue is an absolute must at an incredible price!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

you end up spending most of your time on the beach, so it's a treat to come back to the mango lodge where the view is spectacular, the breeze is nice, the owners make you feel at home. amenities are clean, what you would expect. but it's the hospitality that gives this place 5 stars. the owners will give you lifts up/down the lodge...they'll help arrange dinner, scuba diving, etc. if you like staying at unique places with character, class, and great hosts, this is it

Room Tip: standard room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ims218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

View is great, rooms are spacious but a bit outdated. Breakfast needs an egg. Staff is friendly and helpfull and drop you off and collect you to and from sealevel when possible. Kitchen is poor so forget it... seaside offers some great restaurants (breakfast, lunch, dinner), some with free taxi service back up the hill (just ask). Mango Lodge is still a questionable price-quality ratio for us, but we had a memorable time there! Cote d’Or is very nice, probably the best part of the Island to spend a few days. Rent a car (1-2 days is enough), and visit the small neighbouring islands (Sagittarius), relax and enjoy!

Room Tip: take an apartment, more privacy and the view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucenElles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Earlier this month (September), we had the pleasure of visition the Island of Praslin in the Seychelles - for the third time this year! A major highlight was the visit we make every time we go there to our friends Lesley and Kevin Lesperance - and their delightful son, Rocco - at their stunning home/hotel, Mango Lodge! Without doubt, the views from Mango Lodge, especially the sunsets - and sundowners! - are beautifully exotic by any standards in the world! Kevin and Lesley are warm and delightful people, whose instinct for natural, friendly hospitality is extraordinary! They also have a very successful boat charter business, Sagitarius Charter which operates on the beach at the Paradise Sun Hotel.

Everyone must to to Mango Lodge!

Dick Foxton.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
2.4 mi away
Iles des Palmes
Iles des Palmes
#3 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,422 reviews
3.9 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Chalets Cote Mer
Chalets Cote Mer
#2 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
309 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#4 of 7 in La Digue Island
947 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#4 of 8 in Grand Anse
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Lodge

Address: Cote d'Or, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anse Volbert
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range: £74 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Lodge offers you a tranquil stay amongst tropical gardens. Our famous wooden chalets offer complete privacy with breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean and the surrounding islands. We look forward to welcoming you at our lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Mango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Lodge Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing