We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Villa Bananier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Bananier
Ranked #10 of 15 Anse Volbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Villa Bananier offers reasonable accomodation in Praslin, walking distance from amazing Anse Volbert and close to the main road with restaurants and supermarkets.
The rooms are clean and towels/sheets are changed every 3rd day.
The rooms are nice, perhaps a bit small. AC is included in the price.
A nice breakfast with fresh fruit is served in the main dining area.
For dinner you can order some homemade meals or you can also use the huge kitchen to cook your own meal.
Excursions to Ile Curieuse and Saint-Pierre can be booked through the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, they are brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    48
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
75
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We spent 5 nights at Villa Bananier in October 2012. Anne and her family were very welcoming and extremely helpful in organising car rental, boat trips to other islands and ferry tickets.
Rooms were lovely and very spacious, ours was in fact a triple and was huge. Our friends got the beautiful honeymoon room, which strangely had no own piece of terrace or a direct exit to the garden unlike all other rooms.

Breakfast is all right, but nothing to write home about - some corn flakes, fruit and a choice between black tea or instant coffee (I don't drink either, so ended up buying some green tea in a supermarket). You can also have dinner at the villa which we tried once. Dinner was good, but not spectacular, I would recommend dining out instead (La Goulue, which is about 10 minutes walk, is wonderful. Try their parrot fish on the grill).

I've taken one star off for the lack of privacy. We had a downstairs room which had an exit to the veranda with some tables and chairs on it. Unfortunately, the veranda and the room windows face a neighbours' plot or the road, so we had to keep the curtains drawn at all times to prevent people peering into the room and to keep the very bright street lights from shining through the window at night. The windows of our friends' honeymoon room looked straight into the windows of the main house with lots of children playing, so they had to keep theirs drawn too. It's a shame we couldn't get natural light in the rooms, let alone have some kind of a view... Perhaps the upstairs rooms would be better in this respect, with noone peering through the windows.

All said, I would not heistate to recommend Villa Bananier to anyone given its excellent location just 2 minutes walk from Anse Volbert and close to restaurants, still in a quiet location, and at a great price. If we went to Praslin again, I'd probably pick Bananier again, but specifically ask for a room upstairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliya123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

First of all, staff are friendly and location is pretty good (on a side street 5 minutes walk from the beach and main tourist street). We stayed in a room on the second floor. The room and bathroom were clean and well kept. Some inconveniences included the mattress which was so hard it was like sleeping on the floor (not exagerating) and breakfast was average at best (2 toasts, a few pieces of fruit and frosted flakes). It would also be really great if they rented out beach towels for a small fee as we had in other B&Bs in the Seychelles. So in general OK - nothing really bad, but nothing really great. Not sure I would recommend it but I wouldn't say to avoid it either (kind of how we felt about Praslin in general...)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dupv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This villa has a nice location.Bus stop and local shops are nearly.And there is also very good restaurant "la pirogue' in 5 minutes by foot.(I recommend to go there to have lunch,they have good price for burger combos,Best quality and price we've seen on Seychelles).Villa is close to the beach with the best sand we have seen on Seychelles,by my mind(sand is smaller,cleaner and whiter than on anse Lazio,anse Georgette, D'Argent and so on). On the kitchen you have all equipment you need. They have dinner option there,but I will not recommend you to have dinner on the villa(we tried it 3 times).it Is better to cook by your self or to go in restaurant. Breakfast was also not very good (everyday-toasts,jam,corn-flakes, tea/coffee and fruits.Ann (owner) was very friendly and helpful,so we want to say thanks to her.this villa is really good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMax D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochst, Austria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed at Villa Bananier for 3 nights. Anne and her family made our stay a nice one. They provide nice and clean room, warm shower and a traditionell Seychelles breakfast. The villa is close to the nice beach Anse Volbert and some restaurants are within walking distance. We recommend the beach bar at the Beryaya Hotel for a cocktail at the beach and the Goulou restaurant for dinner. The bus stop is close by and the best beach on Praslin Anse Lazio is only a bus ride of 15 minutes and a walk of 10 minutes away. A visit of this beach is a must, because this is probably the best beach on the Seychelles.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin23482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I went to Praslin with my girlfriend, mum and brother, and we spent a few nights at Villa Bananier. We had an amazing time, Anne and her family are really really nice, they really make you feel home. The rooms are spacious and clean, food is good and the location is also great, as it's only a few minutes walk from Anse Volbert beach and restaurants. Great value for money, strongly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filippo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The staff were so friendly. The rooms were great with airconditioning and comfortable. The food served were traditional and the best in Seychelles. Near the beach, live music nearby and walking distance to shops...

Also easy access to boats to other islands :)

Will recomend to anyone

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.1 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Praslin Resort - Seychelles
0.1 mi away
Mango Lodge
Mango Lodge
#7 of 12 in Anse Volbert
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Anse Volbert
350 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bananier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bananier

Property: Villa Bananier
Address: Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Bananier 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Bananier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bananier Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing