We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best value-for-money guesthouse on Praslin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hide Away Holiday Apartments
Ranked #14 of 16 Anse Volbert B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed at Hide Away Holiday Apartments back in 2010 for only 1 night with some friends as we were doing island hoping. Everything was quite good i must say, most important was that is was very clean, everything inside the villa was in good condition and the owners were very welcoming and helpful.
This year 2012 august, I stayed there again for longer time, this time with my fiance,daughter and parents-in-laws. Our first bed-n-bf place had cancelled our booking, it was busy season and we had no where to stay. We were not supposed to stay at Hide Away for another 4 days but I decided to drive to anse possession to check the situation and see if there was any chance to get the villa in advance.
When we arrived they told us that one apartment will be available in the evening, so we left our belongings at the reception and went out to the beach before coming back.
In the end we ended up extending our stay at Hide Away HolidayApartments -the place is so clean, spacious, well-equiped kitchen for almost any cooking, lovely lounge, bathroom was excellent with free washing machine to do our laundry (which was important for us). We were extremely satisfied with master bedroom which had 2 new,comfortable queen-size beds, a fan, good AC, wardrobe and a safe.
Although, anse possession doesnt have any nearby shops we did walk to cote dor which is a 15-20 mins walk to shops but the guesthouse also offers free transportation to take guests shopping. You just ask and book a time with the owners.
Our daughter liked the small tortoise in the garden and the beach is really right there. We loved walking on Anse Possession beach in the evenings...
All in all, we really love Seychelles and will be flying there again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregg d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

I stayed at Hide Away Holiday Apartments back in 2010 for only 1 night with some friends as we were doing island hoping. Everything was quite good i must say, most important was that is was very clean, everything inside the villa was in good condition and the owners were very welcoming and helpful.
This year 2012 august, I stayed there again for longer time, this time with my fiance,daughter and parents-in-laws. Our first bed-n-bf place had cancelled our booking, it was busy season and we had no where to stay. We were not supposed to stay at Hide Away for another 4 days but I decided to drive to anse possession to check the situation and see if there was any chance to get the villa in advance.
When we arrived they told us that one apartment will be available in the evening, so we left our belongings at the reception and went out to the beach before coming back.
In the end we ended up extending our stay at Hide Away HolidayApartments -the place is so clean, spacious, well-equiped kitchen for almost any cooking, lovely lounge, bathroom was excellent with free washing machine to do our laundry (which was important for us). We were extremely satisfied with master bedroom which had 2 new,comfortable queen-size beds, a fan, good AC, wardrobe and a safe.
Although, anse possession doesnt have any nearby shops we did walk to cote dor which is a 15-20 mins walk to shops but the guesthouse also offers free transportation to take guests shopping. You just ask and book a time with the owners.
Our daughter liked the small tortoise in the garden and the beach is really right there. We loved walking on Anse Possession beach in the evenings...
All in all, we really love Seychelles and will be flying there again soon.

Room Tip: Its not a very big guesthouse with about 9 bungalows but in my opinion all was about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregg d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I have reserved my rooms in February, I insisted for making a deposit payment.
They gave me IBAN but I have lost money because my bank told me it wasn't possible to deliver money. I have written Mrs. Patricia to make me ensure the reservation I would have payed everything by cash. They told me that was not a problem and my reservation was confirmed.
I received yesterday a cancellation without any explanation nor a reason ...now I have payed my airplane and I have no accomodation...and in August is very difficult to get any!!!!
DESERVE TO TRUST THEM!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
6  Thank lindaandr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia L, Owner at Hide Away Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear guest,
We apologize for the inconvenience caused by things that were beyond our control. We were forced to cancel this booking because the construction company could not complete the work on the new rooms on time. Regarding the failure to accept the money transfer, the problem was in the banking system not on our side. This unfortunate incident happened only once, and we are sorry for what happened, as we always do our best to give our clients the perfect holiday experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I did spent 5 nights from 25.2.2012 in Hideaway. The building is good but so far, no grocery and the nearest beach is not for swimming at all. the local is clean but in the bedroom beds are so hard from which rise iron and makes horrible marks in the skin while you wake up in the morning (I did suffer). I cannot complain because I did choose the cheap place and should wait for that.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bechahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

My friend and I booked 3 nights at these apartments. The rooms were nice...large living room, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. The beds were not comfortable, although that did not hinder our experience. The kitchen had great amenities, such as microwave, toaster, pots, pans, large fridge, etc. There was no hot water but the weather was so warm that we felt we did not need it so we didn't bother to ask. The location is just across from the beach with a beautiful view, however it is roughly 1.8km from the nearest village/restaurant/grocery store. And the walk is not easy, up and down hills, no sidewalks, etc. We did fine without renting a car for the entire trip (LOTS of walking though) so if trekking it is an issue, I would recommend a car the entire time. There is a bus stop right outside, and although they say the buses come every 20 min, we did not find that to be the case. They maybe came once or twice and hour as they are not reliable.

The owner offers to make all arrangements for you, such as car rental, excursions, etc. He booked our car for the first day (we only rented one day) for 40 Euros, which was no problem, other than they drop off the car on dead empty so we immediately had to go to the gas station. He also put us in touch with a lady to book the boat excursions. She was prompt with meeting us and offerred two different options. She told us to think it over and let the owner know to call her with the date and time. We had decided on what we wanted to do and took the map of the local area to the owner to inform and he took that as us canceling the trip altogether!! Luckily we followed up that evening to confirm the time, which is when we found out our trip was cancelled. There was even more confusion beyond that as it took us following up 3 more times to ensure we were still going. Also, we had asked to rent bikes the last day but that was never followed through. By that time, we were tired of asking.

The first day we arrived, the owner had said the rupee to euro rate was 11/1. He wanted to immediately settle the bill on the first day but told him we had to go change money. He confirmed that the local banks were all trustworthy as well. We went to the bank and they would not change our money. They had said the law had changed and now the hotels/apartment owners are required to take payment in the local currency. Obviously the law had changed recently because we had a guidebook from 2009 that also said all travel had to be paid in a foreign currency. When we informed the owner, he immediatly said we could pay in rupee. We were slightly irritated as obviously it is not easy to get to the banks without a car. We had asked the bank what the exchange rate should be and they handed us paperwork of the official exchange rates for the most common foreign currencies. Well, the owner wanted to charge us an 18/1 rate!! We thought that was ridiculous and produced the paperwork from the bank of 13/1. He would not back down and we settled on 16/1. He then proceeded to tell us that the local law is that hotels and apartment owners can legally charge 18/1. We had asked to see documentation of this but of course he could not produce and just said to ask any hotel. That left us with a bit of a bad taste in our mouth as we did not appreciate the run around.

Overall, the rooms were clean and large. However I would not stay here again and would not recommend. Mostly because of the location but also because we felt the owner was dishonest.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisaED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia L, Owner at Hide Away Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hide Away Holiday Apartments. It is our passion to give our guests a truly memorable holiday experience.

At the time of this review, the Seychelles rupee had just become freely floated and the laws on acceptance of foreign currency had changed. The local businesses were advised to charge their rates according to government regulations. Naturally, it took some time for the new system to become established, and this situation concerned the whole of Seychelles at that time. All confusion around this issue was truly unintended and we are sorry for any inconvenience and illusion of dishonesty caused.

We appreciate your feedback and work hard to improve our service.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anicaflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia L, Owner at Hide Away Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank GHEDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia L, Owner at Hide Away Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
3.3 mi away
Iles des Palmes
Iles des Palmes
#3 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mango Lodge
Mango Lodge
#6 of 11 in Anse Volbert
137 reviews
1 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Relax Beach Resort
Le Relax Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Grand Anse
97 reviews
1.5 mi away
Omusee Guesthouse
Omusee Guesthouse
#16 of 16 in Anse Volbert
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aquario
Aquario
#8 of 16 in Anse Volbert
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hide Away Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hide Away Holiday Apartments

Address: Anse Possession, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Anse Volbert
Price Range: £77 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hide Away Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide Away is a charming family-run guest house located at Anse Posession, Praslin, Seychelles.The establishment is perfectly located at the beachfront facing the beautiful Curieuse Marine National Park, with good connections to the famous Anse Lazio beach, Vallee de Mai and other islands to where boat excursions and fishing trips can be arranged. The bungalows are equipped with two double-beds, one extra bed, private bathroom and toilet including washing machine, fully-equipped kitchen, lounge, veranda facing the garden and beach, parking area, safe, Wi-Fi and air-conditioning.In addition to self-catering bungalows, Hide Away offers travelers cozy and affordable double-rooms and family rooms. Each room includes a private shower/toilet, air conditioning, ceiling fan, safe locker, and fridge. Also, parking facilities and a separate, fully-equipped kitchen and dining area are available. At Hide Away Holiday Apartments, the guests can enjoy the privacy and comforts of an island home far removed from the pressure of daily life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hide Away Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hide Away Holiday Apartments Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing