We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor organization and expensive”
Review of Da Luca

Da Luca
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in Anse Volbert
Price range: US$22 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New ristorante pizzeria da luca is a modern restaurant where you can enyoy delicious italian food and creole food and ice cream.
Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Poor organization and expensive”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

From an Italian to an Italian, I have several suggestions to Luca to improve his small restaurant. We have been there in the second half of August 2014, and we waited one hour before receiving the first dish (a salad). We have been in several other restaurants in the Seychelles and we have been always served within 15 minutes! I strongly suggest to increase the number of cooks in the kitchen. About the dishes: as entrance we ordered a salad of octopus but it was very, very cold, as just taken out from the freezer. The octopus salad must be served a little bit warm otherwise it has no taste (as it was at Luca’s restaurant). Then I ordered a fish cooked in creole style: it was a little bit burnt and covered by a very hot spicy sauce: it was impossible to feel the taste of fish. They did not change the cutlery. Finally the bill: 2 salads, 2 fishes, 1 mineral water and 1 beer: 77,00 Euro, I think too much for the service and the food (and they do not accept reservations). For this amount there are much better restaurants, such as La Pirogue.
The ice cream instead is very good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    213
    160
    72
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peschiera Borromeo, Italy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“SLooooooooooow!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We asked for a pizza and a burger and after 75 minutes waiting we left because the other 2 tables before us were still not served! We told that to Mr. Luca who was eating while guests are waiting (!) and he said that every time there is more than 10/12 people there is a long waiting time because food is made at the moment (There were 20 people seated and some tables were empty) With two chefs on duty for pizza and hamburger!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zazzo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“don't bother - most other places are better”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

woeful service, abysmal organisation, v ordinary food, the poorest experience we had in our 12 days eating in AV.

All other options are better .....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyandpat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
224 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very good food at quite low price”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went there once for lunch and three times for dinner. The fish dishes were very good, at very low price, that we did not expect at the Seychelles. Many persons go there for the icecream, which seems to be good (in fact, the owner is an Italian guy). Strongly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good option in Anse Volbert”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We came here while staying in a nearby hotel with very expensive dinner options. We had a pizza, calamari and gelato.... the Pizza and ice cream were very good despite negative reviews here! Calamari was mediocre, not amazing but decent nonetheless. All in all, a laid back dinner place that is not designed to be first class, but is good no less.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreatravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Luca also viewed

Anse Volbert, Praslin Island
Anse Volbert, Praslin Island
 
Anse Volbert, Praslin Island
Anse Volbert, Praslin Island
 

Been to Da Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing