We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2011

It is easy to join the army of La Reserve fans. Like many others, we had great time at Praslin and La Reserve and would definitely come back again. Still, to be helpful, I would like to offer some highlights of our experience and suggestions for the management.
What really puts this hotel ahead of the pack:
1. Amazing feel of privacy and comfort. Guests have the whole beach (in fact the whole small valley occupied by the hotel) for themselves. The hotel is relatively small, which we liked a lot!
2. Great care of the beach the staff takes, keeping it always clean
3. Great food, particularly a-la-carte. Unless you expect a Michelin-star level, your expectations will be exceeded
4. Welcoming, friendly attitude of the whole staff
5. High-quality and inexpensive in-house tours to the neighboring islands and beaches
6. Shower and changing facilities for guests who leave in the afternoons
The only major tradeoff you need to consider is that the beach is not too good for swimming. In order to get “Seychelles experience” it is necessary to walk/ride to other famous beaches of the island.
Now, a few suggestions for the management. Those are things, which are easy to implement.
1. Having some free drinking water in the rooms is expected in such hot climate
2. Towels changing should get more order to it. We never new, which set of towels we would get by the end of the day
3. Housekeepers should restrain from gathering in groups and loudly chatting by the guestroom doors (particularly annoying during afternoon nap time)
We are looking forward to coming back and finding La Reserve even more exceptional!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nikolay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpomeroy, Owner at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

What a lovely review. It makes me so proud of my team that makes this place special. Thank you all. As for the recommendations made.....we are considering to add a free litre of mineral water in each room as of beginning of next year. In regards to the towel issue, I will definitely bring this to the attention of our head housekeeper and the mention of the housekeeping staff congregating outside guest rooms and chatting is very true as I have warned them about this myself. I will keep on chasing them about this.

Thank you for the great review and we all look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Tropical regards from La Reserve.

Peter Pomeroy
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

We should have done this review in April when we visited La Reserve as it deserves an enormous vote on all counts. What an elegant hotel with 5 star standards and just the best coral bay right in front of it. La Reserve is set beautifully between two hills surrounded by natural vegetation and bird life, although not prolific ito species, it is abundant and the sunbirds are a treat to watch at any time of the day. The rooms are really spacious and comfortable and a great deal of thought and effort has gone towards making guests comfortable. The grounds are beautifully maintained and it was sheer bliss being able to amble either onto the verandah or to the grassed beach area and plonk onto one of the many recliners. The beach bar is a treat and drinksk/cocktails/small meals served conveniently at your lounger. We were there when it was the royal wedding and decided to take a lazy swim in the most gorgeous pool imaginable; during which we hauled ourselves out the warm water on the bar stools in the water. very festive to still be in the water with drink in one hand, chatting to fellow guests doing the same thing and enjoying the royal wedding on big screen - STILL in the water. The pool bar is a treat, they also serve small meals (delicious) and tea and cake in the afternoons, such a nice touch.

Meal times were always treated with great aplomb to get one seated and orders attended to. The food was delicious and a fair variety. We loved the fresh breadrolls every night and always made a bee-line for the table at the tip of the pier restaurant. The lights are on in the water and all sorts of fish make their way past, including some little rays which proved quite entertaining one evening just doing their own thing. Pre-dinner drinks were always ready to be served by Sylvan - the man who remembers everyone's names first-off and the best smile on earth! Thank you for your unfailing attention. In fact, everybody was always most attentive, cheerful, professional and polite. Another great thing about La Reserve is that the owner Peter Pomeroy is always about and chats with everyone regularly.

There is lots to do at La Reserve so we would be surprised if anyone said they were bored!!! We had a whale of a time with excursions here and there, we even hired a car which was gerat fun trundling around the island at our own pace. But the best thing was the snorkelling, right there in front of the hotel. It is a marine reserve which took a bit of a beating with El Nino a while back but the corals are recovering at quite a rate. The underwater seascape includes a variety of grasses, rocks, corals so there is a variety of sealife which keep you agog. If you snorkel to the right of the wee bay and keep going around the corner until you hit what we called "the big long rocks", you'll be in for the best treat. The rock tips are out the water but the majority sit under and what lives there and mills around is breathtaking. Really the best snorkelling we have seen anywhere and it was the highlight of our stay. The water is always calm and safe to paddle around in and not very deep in the main bay.

La Reserve was fantastic, and we've been to some really beautiful places. If peace and quiet and just going at your own pace drinking in the beauty is what you're after, this is the place to do. Well worth the bucks, we felt like royalty. Thanks again to everyone at La Reserve who helped make our stay so amazing!

Room Tip: The room nearest the beach bar on the far side, is the best!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ndlwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had unbelievably perfect time during the stay in the La reserve hotel for 5 days!
This is a 5 start service hotel!
Would recommend to everybody!

Room Tip: If possible choose delux room, they all are amazing and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonataD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

expensive as hell but the seychelles was amazing.

as a new vegetarian it was hard to be faced with amazing seafood buffets and barebecues etc but the chefs and the restaurant manager were really nice and helpful to make stuff just for my wife and I who were on our honeymoon.

the beach is really nice and there isnt THAT much to do although as its your honeymoon what else is there!? there were day excursions available which was good although at early starts(ish) we didnt go on many.

breakfast was good too, but having half-board was difficult as room service was a bit expensive. the hotel is really nice though and puts on tea/sandwiches @ 4pm daily although everyone s either bored or starving as people seem to turn up exactly at 4pm!

the swim-up bar was pretty cool and was the waterfall; its a shame the recession seems to have killed the business a bit so the place looked a bit empty but that wasnt really a problem as it meant more quiet.

should also mention that the taxi pickup from Praslin airport was really good and effecient.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unseasonedtraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This was our second visit to this lovely hotel with it's own private beach. There are rooms in small buildings along the beach front or superior rooms on the hillside. We had a superior room which has a lot of steps up to it but the view was worth it. Also because the building is slightly set back from the rest our balcony, which was huge, was very private. The room is large and comfortable although not as luxurious as some on the Seychelles. The balcony is very comfortable. The dining room was the highlight of the hotel, on stilts over the sea, you can watch fish while you eat the very good quality food. The lesiure manager, Francis, is very friendly and his trips and events very enjoyable. The snorkelling is best on the left hand side of the beach near the rocks.
The pool is large enough to swim lengths and has a shallow bit for children if needed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garforthsoulmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

After staying on Mahe for over week we found ourselves in praslin staying at La Reserve. It was a very welcome change, we were greeted warmly and it did indeed feel like a little slice of paradise. I was impressed with the rooms and the sea views were wonderful, many an hour spent on the balcony watching the ocean. The staff were very friendly (of course it helped that my hubby is Seychellois, although born & raised in UK) and we did feel incredibly relaxed. There were a few niggles, the food was just OK and the dinner waitresses, whilst adoring my husband, could barely manage more than a grunt to me. I didnt like the buffets at all, i found it all much of a muchness. My other niggle was the fact that we were invited to a cocktail party by the manager and were greeted with drinks, which were wonderful, but then subsquently billed an extotionate amount for them. I have never been billed after being invited for cocktails by the manager, we queried it and said that it was clearly stated on the invite, must have missed that one! Also it lacked an atmosphere in the evenings, i guess because it was mainly honeymooners. We were often the only ones in the bar a night, as a result it did feel like we were holding them up from closing and they would be tidying around us. If you can put up with minor niggles, then I would recommend. We will be returning here, my husband has been a few times now and always rates highly. The trips thrown in make it very worthwhile.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovelyLadyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

La Reserve is definitely a great place to enjoy relaxing holidays. What beats every other holiday resort we have been to is the great variety of colourful tropical fish and coral that exists there. And it's there right at your feet when you leave the hotel's beach to have a swim in the sea- all you need to do is open your eyes under water. What's more, the beach is yours - no noisy tourists or teenagers, occasionally a couple of honeymooners - but that's it!
We had a sea front suite for four and the rooms were spacious and equipped with everything you need. Nonetheless, the air conditioning/fan, which you have to leave on during the night to keep the bedroom cool, was much too noisy. One could, of course, try to spend a more restful night without the fan on, but the noise that stray cats make during the night is also considerable.
At the restaurant they serve a great variety of à-la-carte meals and local dishes. It definitely beats buffet. However, it's not fine French cuisine, and I've eaten better at other four or five star hotels.
So, all in all, we had a very pleasant stay at La Réserve. My husband and the childen didn't mind the noise at night and slept well. I will always remember the bright colours that La Réserve and Praslin in general had to offer - the flowers, the birds, the fish, the green geckos, everything was just so much more colourful than anywhere else.
Ah, also don't forget to go to the Vallée de Mai and don't allow taxi drivers or trip organizers to rip you off. We paid 10 euros for a 10-minute trip in a cab back from Anse Laslo, and the guide that the Hotel recommended for a trip to the neighbouring island gave only a mimum of explanations and rushed us back to our point of departure as if he had a train to catch.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Timespacetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.4 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,440 reviews
7 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
820 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
613 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de La Reserve

Address: | Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range: £259 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de La Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover warm hospitality and Luxury at Le Domaine de La Reserve, a hotel on the north east of Praslin in a National Marine park. Our intimate beachfront hotel is a rare gem surrounded by unobstructed and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean.Located on a private estate with its very own private beach in the secluded bay of Anse Petite Cour, Le Domaine de la Reserve is reputed to be a leading hotel of the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Domaine de La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Praslin Island
Hotel La Reserve
La Reserve Seychelles
Le Domaine De La Reserve Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing