We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Our 5 night stay in La Reserve was great. Room very comfortable and well appointed, lovely beach, good restaurant. Staff very helpful, particularly when I lost my mobile phone. It was found several days later and returned to me for which I am very grateful. Definately a place to return to.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank copsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpomeroy, Owner at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

Thank you so very much for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to assist you in finding your lost mobile phone.

Perhaps we will soon be able to welcome you again through our gates so that you may enjoy our little slice of paradise once more.

Kind regards,

Peter
Owner/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

It was our first trip to the Seychelles and resorts were quite important as we needed a luxury, relaxing break away. La Reserve was amazing.

Room: We had a Deluxe Room right on the beachfront and the view from our room and balcony was SPECTACULAR - what a way to wake up every morning - french doors leading on to balcony 2m from the beach and the most stunning view! We just couldn't stop gazing at it or taking photos! Many a drink was had on our balcony soaking up where we were! Night time drinks were lovely with the jetty all lit up and hearing the water lap practically at our feet. The room was clean, modern and had a HUGE bathroom with a sunken bath and extremely large shower, double sinks and dressing area.

Breakfast: Breakfast had a good choice available and was served in the jetty restaurant right over the water and again, a lovely way to start the day!

Resort facilities: There are two bars, one being on the waterfront and the other a sunken pool bar which has a happy hour (2 for 1 cocktails) for an hour or two a day. There was even a tortoise enclosure in the resort grounds which made for some interesting viewing! Pool area was lovely and in October, being so quiet was never crowded at all.

Location: The resort is set on it's own private beach on the edge of a Marine National Park so is very lovely. The views are breath-taking (as we've already mentioned a few times!) ;-) There's a public bus stop outside the resort which is a short and very cheap way to get to Anse Boudin which is a not long (but quite steep!) walk to Anse Lazio. In the other direction, you can walk to Cote D'Or, a small village with a good range of eating options in about 10 mins. It's just a couple of minutes walk down the road then a picturesque walk along Cote D'Or beach. So in other words, great location!!

Staff: Are very friendly and welcoming at La Reserve, characteristics of all those we met on Praslin! This is a family owned resort and it has that more friendly, welcoming feel than sometimes a big international chain can. One of our fave staff members was Geris who picked us up at the airport and we ended up using him anytime we needed a driver on the island. He's very, very friendly, professional and knowledgeable on the area.

To summarise, we loved this resort and would definitely recommend it to family and friends. We'd hed back in a second! ;-)

Room Tip: Definitely go for a beachfront deluxe room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bunny81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpomeroy, Owner at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

That really is fantastic to read. Thank you very much from the bottom of all our hearts here at La Reserve. We all thoroughly look forward to welcoming you and all your family and friends back here to our little corner of Paradise and we promise that this time you will not want to leave!

Tropical regards from Sunny Praslin,

Peter
Owner/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just came back from La Reserve and what a lovely time I had. The minute I
arrived I felt very special by the warm welcome. The room was fantastic,
quite possibly the biggest bathroom I have ever seen and very luxurious. I
had a great view of the ocean from my balcony where I spent a lot of time
relaxing and reading. I might suggest that a few more tv channels would be
nice but it wasn't too big a deal for me. The food was also very nice with
buffet type service on some nights and a set menu on others. I think the
pool is the greatest bit of the hotel, so big its like a lake with a
restaurant and a bar in the middle. The staffing were all so nice and
pleasant to me calling me by name which is very important for me. One day I
met the owner Mr. Peter who was so kind to drive me to Anse Lasio a very
beautiful beach nearby. I would say the major negative side was that the
wifi internet was very slow and expensive but I guess the island is a small
dot on our big planet so we cannot expect the same we have in our big
cities.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spandan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just back from a 7 day stint at La Reserve and happy to report we had a really great time. The rooms are excellent, spacious, modern, airy, great balcony to chill out on and a really nice en suite bathroom and shower amenity. AC units are in the room and could be a little noisy for some but we were fine. Restaurant over the jetty is really nice - breakfasts are excellent generous buffets and evening meals were good - we would have preferred one less buffet (three in 7 days) as the a la carte menu and cooking were exceptional and we enjoyed them more, but that was a minor quibble - we were in the low season and we knew there would be a little adaptation happening for the lower guest numbers. Music in the evenings was generally excellent and the bar and staff were really attentive and up to speed.
We were able to carry out a tour to Curieuse from the hotel's tour manager Francis, but note these trips are subject to a minimum number requirement - we missed out on the sundowner cruise due to the low number of guests. However, the hotel brilliantly was able to offer a car to rent at E50 all inclusive (inc insurance) and we used that to go and see the peaceful Valle du Mai, the amazing Anse L'azio and even were able to turn up un-announced for a cheeky lunch on the beachfront at Lemuria. Also, if numbers are insufficient from La Reserve, you could always call up Masons and join up one of their tours with more guests from other hotels - we did this and had a fantastically chilled out day on La Digue...well recommended.
One half of the beach at La Reserve was a little bit weed-covered when we were there, but this is just a seasonal thing and no showstopper for us - there are world class beaches within walking (Anse Volbert - very fine sand) and biking (Anse Lazio) distances. However, a low tide snorkel out to the granite boulders on the north-east side of the beach was truly memorable - beach towels and snorkel gear plus kayaks is all rentable on refundable deposits.
Our only question marks? Very few really. We arrived late on the last flight and were met at 11pm by a night guard only - it would have been nice to have been welcomed (and also sent off at 6am) by a member of staff reception, but this is a smaller hotel and we made exceptions. Luckily a very generous salad and fruit had been left in our room for us - great as were starving by then! The only things I'd look at are the wifi (E10 per hour - bit pricey, especially with limited bandwidth) and the gym - its not everyone's choice to keep fit on a chill-out holiday, but this felt very much an afterthought with numerous broken pieces of equipment and no working AC unit - definitiely was a work-out in that humidity!!
Overall though, a great resort. We were on a couples run, and even though there were several families with young kids there, they were all impeccably behaved and clearly having great fun. Its not Lemuria, but then hey, its not trying to be!

Room Tip: Quietest at the beach-bar end, and for us, in January, this was where the least amount of sea-weed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NickDLuanda_Angola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpomeroy, Owner at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our rooms to be excellent and our cuisine exceptional.
On to the negative side of your comments....yes we are a small establishment and our Reception does close at 11pm because it is very rare that we receive guests after 11pm. The vast majority of our guests (99.9%) arrive before 6pm. I believe you must have come in on a delayed international flight and thus had a very late domestic flight connection into Praslin. As for your early departure this is now getting more common. The the local flights are now leaving very early to connect with the majority of international flights that leave Mahe around 8am and we are actually looking into putting a Receptionist on duty from 4am to better our services to our guests.
As for the gym, you are quite right at one point it was a little unloved but this is now sorted as we recently did a major renovation and put in brand new state of the art gym equipment which has greatly improved our facility.
Thank you for the great review and we look forward to perhaps welcoming you back to La Reserve in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Peter
Owner/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Our first visit to Larserve and Seychelles and both lived up to our expectations! Simply breathtaking and will be heading back again in Jan 2013. La Reserve was the perfect location for our honeymoon. The accomodation, food was exceptional and together with the boat trips made it an experience as well as a holiday that we will never forget! Relaxing environment.... it felt like paradise! Not sure what is missing to make this 5 Star.....

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpomeroy, Owner at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

What a great review! Thank you so much. We all look forward to seeing you again in January 2013 and we're sure this time that you will not want to leave!

Thank you once more.

Kind regards,

Peter
Owner/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Absolutely wonderful, I would highly recommend this hotel. The pool at La Reserve makes you easily forget you came to spend time at the beach.. it's like heaven nestled between the beautiful mountains! Impeccable rooms, staff are most friendly and helpful, and boat trips to other islands made the holiday unforgettable! The food is delicious, and most enjoyable on the jetty, in the sea. We stayed at several hotels during our visit to the Seychelles, and there is absolutely no comparison in service! Christmas was beautiful, with a world class buffet and most creative deserts! We even received personalised gifts on Christmas eve which was most thoughtful and touching. Thank you La Reserve

Room Tip: Rooms near the Beach bar are very private. Family rooms also look nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 139Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpomeroy, Owner at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

Thank you for the great review. We are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and that you consider us a "5 star". That is very kind. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Tropical regards from Praslin,

Peter
Owner/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

A long journey, tired and the last people to be dropped off by Masons travel who collected us, we were delighted to see our hotel. From the welcome to paying the bill when we left the hotel was a delight, the room was lovely modern well appointed, a huge shower, sunken bath, separate loo, air conditioning, mini bar, very comfortable bed and a spectacular view. By the way the curtains are more than adequate now, having seen a previous review that mentioned them. The food was superb, was masses of variety Creole, Asian and European food was all served while we were there in the lovely restaurant that goes out over the sea. Christmas day was a 12 course feast if one could have got through it all. Christmas was celebrated with a pool side carol concert given by the staff and every guest was given a really lovely present.The breakfast was really good with lots of lovely fresh fruit as well as meats cheeses, patisseries, eggs, sausages and bacon. We had rather wet weather at times and the hotel provided umbrellas and made sure we did not get wet while dining. The organised trips were by Athena Travel and Ron and Francis looked after us brilliantly, they were well organised and considerably cheaper than Masons who also offer trips. We tried scuba diving and the hotel organised transport for us and on another occasion a hire car. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel grounds were immaculate and the pool absolutely superb. Sadly apart from the days over Christmas the hotel was not full, the recession and the shark attack seem to have damaged the Seychelles quite badly. There was a small swimming area on the beach for the hotel which I would agree is rather limiting but in reality the Seychelles are only trying to be safe for us visitors and we did take the risk and swim outside the net with no bad consequences on any beach we visited. Finally I cannot speak highly enough of the staff - they were kindness itself, nothing was too much trouble and one was made to feel a part of their family. I agree the hotel could do with a bit of a style update but in the wider scheme of things what does style matter if everything else is good. This is a beautiful destination for a honeymoon, we were celebrating our 40th Anniversary. La Reserve will have a special place in my heart after this trip. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors of the blocks of 4 rooms and rooms nearer the beach rather than the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpomeroy, Owner at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

Thank you for the great review. I am delighted to read that you had a wondeful Christmas with us. A traditional Christmas in the tropics is not always the easiest event to pull off as the atmosphere is somewhat different to what non islanders are used to, but we certainly give it a good go and I don't think we do too badly.
I am so thankful to have such great staff. They are the guys that really make this place special and I am always happy to hear a guest mention that they were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble.
Thank you once again and we all look forward to maybe seeing you soon to celebrate another anniversary with us.
kind regards,

Peter
Owner/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.4 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,030 reviews
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
806 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Anse Volbert
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de La Reserve

Address: | Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range: £258 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de La Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover warm hospitality and Luxury at Le Domaine de La Reserve, a hotel on the north east of Praslin in a National Marine park. Our intimate beachfront hotel is a rare gem surrounded by unobstructed and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean.Located on a private estate with its very own private beach in the secluded bay of Anse Petite Cour, Le Domaine de la Reserve is reputed to be a leading hotel of the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Domaine de La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Praslin Island
Hotel La Reserve
La Reserve Seychelles
Le Domaine De La Reserve Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing