We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront family room - perfect choice for a family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beachfront family room - perfect choice for a family vacation”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed 7 nights at La Reserve, in one of the recently renewed family rooms (room N 117, if I remember well).
The room is quite spacious, has a warm atmosphere, and is on the beachfront, so we were only 2 meters away from the ocean. The king size bed is gorgeous, with the best mattress we have ever tried in a hotel! Comfortable bunk-bed for the kids in the front part of the room. Nice and spacious bathroom with shower and a superb terrace where we could admire the beautiful sunset. There is an LCD TV and a small refridge in the room.
The only negative comment for the room is that the aircon is quite small for that size of space, so for those, who really wants cold, that is not enough.
The hotel itself is perfect: nice location in a very calm bay, fantastic kitchen, charming staff and a big swimming pool, and all this on an affordable price! Our kid really enjoyed the turtles in the garden and specially the jetty restaurant with the fishes.

There are more nice beaches on the Island, but after all we rented a car for 3 days and travelled around whole Praslin. Do not miss Anse Lazio - the best beach ever !! Even better than Anse Source d'Argent on La Dique in my opinion. And it is only 10 min away from La Reserve by car.
The only downside was that - as the ownership has changed a year ago, -they started some renovations. One of that was right beside at our room - it wasn't the best view and sometimes a bit embarrassing that 3-4 worksmen were around our terrace.

Take the Curieuse Island trip, offerd by the Hotel, and we think it is worth to chose the BBQ lunch as well (40 EUR / adult).
For other daily boat trips we suggest to chose Bedier and Sons (on Cote d'Or) - we took a day trip with them to the Sister Islands, Coco Island and Felicité Island, and it was wonderful.

Well, we are absolutely satisfied with choosing La Reserve for a week in Praslin and would definitely recommend it for others, even with small kids.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing to the ocean, bit with small kids the beachfront family rooms are the perfect c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajmonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    281
    79
    26
    17
See reviews for
155
723
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We LOVED this place and had a hard time leaving after a three-night stay.
We're a family of 5 with older children and this hotel was perfect for us. Here, in no particular order, are all the things we loved about it :

-The location. La Réserve is on a 'private' beach, Anse Petite Cour. Granted, the actual sandy beach area is very limited, but it is the direct access to the water that made is such a nice location. There's very good snorkeling and kayaking right there and the water is perfectly calm, so no worry about strong currents or big waves. There are plenty of lounge chairs along the beach front, with palm trees providing shade and the view of the ocean and Curieuse Island from the hotel are breathtaking.

-The staff. Everyone at La Réserve is so friendly and helpful, from the very first welcome at the reception (the refreshing welcome drinks were such a nice gesture) to the staff at the restaurant, the groundskeepers, the cleaning staff. They are eager to make guests enjoy their stay without being overly-present

-The pool. It is big and beautiful and there's room for everyone, so you never feel overwhelmed by noise or crowds. Early morning and late afternoon are ideal for enjoying a nice swim. The views of the surrounding green hills make it a very pretty spot. Tea time at the pool bar
was lovely and greatly appreciated by the kids.

-The restaurant. Dining on the jetty was unique, with views of the hills, the beach and the fish on all sides. The food is very good and plentiful. Wonderful breakfast buffet (we miss those crêpes and the homemade starfruit jam!) and themed dinners make the dining experience very nice.

There were very few negative issues with the hotel during our stay: small details like curtains that need repair, noisy air conditioners in some rooms, expensive wifi, but these are insignificant compared to all the positive points of the hotel.


The hotel changed ownership a year ago, and we were told that the new management is doing some renovation work which should only make La Réserve an even better option for staying on Praslin.

We were all very sad to say goodbye to this special place in the Seychelles and hope very much to return one day for another stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
173 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Today we decided to come and see the La Reserve hotel for lunch. We were not too thrilled about it as the expertations we had after having seen the website was way higher than what we experienced. As Tripadvisor doesn´t have the Button "Good", I went for Average, as "Very good" was over the top. I went for a chef salad (good), my family for burgers and french fries (okay), the lunch was average and a little above the usual beach restaurant. but we thought that the TV which was running was disturbing the atmosphere and the staff was professional but very earnest/serious when talking to them - we were missing a friendly atmosphere - but at leased they smiled at us very nicely when we left. But maybe we went too many times to the Raffles@Praslin, with their wonderful service and hotel staff and are just too spoiled? The location of the hotel is beautiful there. The big fat rock you are looking at from the hotel from almost every corner is stunning, as well as the view on the ocean from the other restaurant which sadly was not open at lunch time. But maybe we are coming back here for dinner some other time...The hotel itsself didn´t look very crowded though. We only saw two couples and ond family over the whole area. But maybe they were doing daytrips or having lunch breaks at their own bungalows - for sure a relaxing atmosphere for unwinding...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Energyseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Paul B, General Manager at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for coming to Le Domaine de La Réserve for lunch. We regret to note that your experience was not up to your expectation. We have noted your comments in regards to the meals and service that you received. They are very valuable to us in our quest to continuously improve the service we offer to our guests.
The location of Le Domaine de La Réserve is indeed beautiful and relaxing and we look forward to welcoming you again soon so that you can experience it over a longer period of time.

Yours sincerely

Jean-Paul Barallon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East coast
Level Contributor
234 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed one night at La Reserve on our tour of the Seychelles. This hotel is nice, but it has just been bought by a new owner, so things are in a bit of state of flux, as changes are made.

Our room was very spacious, and has been described quite well by other reviewers. The mirrors in the bathroom slide, so when you see the mirror is not directly in front of the sink, all you have to do is slide the mirror to whatever position you want. None of the plugs in the room handled US style plugs without a converter.

There is mosquito netting over the bed, but we didn't need it. What was a bit strange though, was that to get into the ground floor room from the beach side, you had to climb a set of stairs halfway to the 2nd level, and then descend more stairs back to the ground level and the door to the room. Very strange, and quite a chore for my companion who was having trouble walking.

The pool is very big and has a swim up bar (the first one we had seen in the Seychelles). We were surprised that they serve drinks in actual glass glasses. In the Caribbean, they use plastic glasses, to lessen the danger from breakage. There is a waterfall from the top of the big [fake] rock in the pool, and I was surprised to find that they had turned it off after we had walked by it earlier. Then, a bit later, it was turned on again. The pool has multiple depths. And we found that there weren't many chairs/lounges around the pool. I ended up pulling 2 lounge chairs from one location in the sun with no umbrella, to another place underneath a bare umbrella. Perhaps many chairs had been appropriated for the party for the new owner which was being held at the pool at dinnertime.

The beach had a lot of seaweed when we were there, but it was explained that from Nov. to April, the winds cause the seaweed to accumulate. The rest of the year, the beach doesn't have this problem. This appears to be true, as Paradise Sun Hotel (where we also stayed) is right around the point from Las Reserve [different wind direction] and didn't have this problem at this time, but later in the year would have this problem. Check with the hotel about the seaweed conditions when you will be there before you book.

Currently there is only WiFi in the lobby area, but they said free WiFi will be coming during the renovation. There are several computer terminals (2?) in the business center which are available for use. Unfortunately, the one I tried to use had a US keyboard, but was wired as a French keyboard. Therefore certain letters were transposed (didn't come out as expected), and punctuation was a nightmare.

The meals we ate there were satisfactory. As has been mentioned by other reviewers, long pants are required for men at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelands, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

As South Africans we have faced a great deal of tension in our county since the recent death of our beloved President Nelson Mandela. This has been aggravated because elections are looming in May 2014. Violence has erupted amongst new minority parties who have become disillusioned with the ANC rule under President Jacob Zuma. There have been numerous strikes and even xenophobic attacks on foreign nationals and my husband and I were weary from constantly hearing bad news. We were longing for a relaxing holiday in a safe, clean, crime-free environment.

With my Big 7 Birthday on the horizon, we decided to email a request for accommodation to a delightful hotel called Acajou on the pristine Cote D 'Or beach in Praslin, where we had enjoyed a wonderful holiday last May. It was with sadness that we heard that this lovely hotel was being totally renovated and would only be opening again in Nov 2014. We were delighted, however, to hear of other beautiful spots in the same area which came with strong recommendations. We approached Seyunique in Johannesburg and were overjoyed when Stephanie was able to book a 7 night stay for us at the amazing La Reserve hotel. With our Z.A.R and /Euro exchange rate being so poor, we really had to push the boat out this time seeing it was for a Special Birthday celebration. Our visit to La Reserve far exceeded all expectations and we received so much love and kindness there. We almost felt as if we were part of a happy family. My husband is 85 but comfortably managed the steps leading to room 107 which has a view to die for! The peace and tranquillity soaked into our spirits and we left feeling refreshed and renewed in every way. The staff made my birthday so memorable. After breakfast we found our 4 poster bed festooned with ribbons, the king size mattress was decorated with exquisite little tropical flowers spelling out "Happy 70th Birthday", a magnificent floral arrangement adorned the dressing table. During dinner the lights suddenly went out. We could not even blame Eskom this time! Just then the band and singers struck up with Happy Birthday and in came a beaming bevy of waitresses bearing a beautifully decorated birthday cake with candles blazing. All the guests joined in the singing and made my birthday away from home and family extra special.
It was our privilege to meet the fairly recent new owner of La Reserve, Mr Joe Albert and his charming wife Sylvie. What a humble, caring and unpretentious couple. They are blessed indeed to have inherited a fine staff Team such as those who serve with such dedication and commitment. We shall never forget the kindness and efficiency of Acting Manager/Front Office manageress Ms Lorna Awale, and the cheerful bubbly Marketing Manager, Chantal and the amazing team in the front office, and business centre,where the ever smiling and helpful Helena and Shirin attended to our every request. Not only was our room amazing ~ spacious and airy with heaps of cupboards and drawers.You can safely leave your spare hangers at home! The kingsize bed was firm and comfortable and we floated off to sleep each night hearing the gentle swish of the waves right below our room. We spent time chilling on the large balcony which has comfy reclining deck chairs, a coffee table and chairs and a most useful wooden drying rack for wet clothes. We opted for a half board deal and highly recommend you try that option.The quality and variety of food served astounded us seeing that everything has to be flown in to the island.The breakfast buffets were ample with delicious tropical fruits which we had not encountered before. The buffets were tastefully and creatively presented. Hats off to the excellent chefs and hard working kitchen staff who work so strenuously in the background and are often overlooked. We shall never forget the friendly little band of cheery waitresses ~Madeleine, Marina, Mathilda, Peggy, Flavia (Don't forget to sign your bill after dinner because she is a sprinter and will soon catch you if you slip away!!) Petula, Julina and the highly efficient barman, Jeanne Francois. .Nothing was ever too much trouble. We love and admire the Creole folk for their enthusiasm and excellent work ethos. They certainly know the meaning of service delivery. They spoke good English and communicated effectively with guests from all over the globe. Our only disappointment was that the time was not great for snorkelling. We heard that the full moon had affected the tides and that the fish were much further out. We did plough our way right through all the seaweed, in our snorkelling gear and flippers, to the furthest rocks on the right side of the private beach and were well rewarded. It was like swimming in an aquarium and we even snorkelled alongside a large amiable turtle! The sea was not too deep there and there were no strong currents.It must be fantastic when the tide is right and the seaweed has been dispersed. The swimming pool is truly magnificent. It's also the largest in the Seychelles and we loved the artistic features like the large granite rock with the waterfall, the little wooden bridges and the underwater bar stools where you can sip a drink in your swim suit. A most welcome "freebie" we appreciated was the tea/coffee/juice and cake served in the pool bar between 4 and 5pm.
A special highlight for us was to eat breakfast and dinner in the jetty restaurant with beautiful fish swimming all around us, They weren't bothered in the least by the full moon! We saw the biggest and most beautiful parrot fish we had ever seen. We were dismayed to see ignorant and non eco- wise guests tossing bread rolls to the fish in order to lure them to the surface for photographs. The reflections cast by the jetty restaurant on the sea at night were magical. If you want a truly memorable, tranquil and re-energizing holiday in an amazing hotel offering you attentive service and warm Creole hospitality you will not be disappointed if you book your next holiday at La Reserve.

Room Tip: room 107 upstairs was superb.It was further to walk but well worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a room on the top floor of the buildings behind the bungalows and had a good view of the sea. The room was nicely decorated and the only complaint I had was that the shower door was broken and couldn't be closed properly.
When we visited in January, the hotel was very quiet and there was nothing going on. Our visit though to Curieuse, arranged by the hotel, was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed seeing the tortoises.
Unfortunately due to repairs, we were unable to use the hotel pool. As the beach was full of seaweed, it would have been nice to use the pool so we think there should have been some other solution, i.e. that only half of it was being worked on at any one time. We don't expect not to be able to use the pool when on holiday. You hardly saw anyone working on it anyway.
Due to the pool problems, you could only use the jetty restaurant which was very good but it would have been nice to have an alternative. The restaurant staff were very competent and friendly.
One minus point was the lack of free internet and even when we did buy a card, the reception was poor. In this day and age, we think this should be offered in such hotels.
It would also have been nice to see the management talking to their customers but this was distinctly lacking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TaraCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bornheim, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

This was a pleasant hotel to stay at, the previous remarks about the quality of the food and the friendly staff are all true, all very good.
The pool was closed for maintenance while we were there which was a big pain as the beach was not really good for swimming, too many bits of coral and too much weed at this time of year, which of course is no fault of the hotel. It was very, very quiet during our stay with not many guests for so many rooms. The room with a fantastic veranda overlooking the bay was very good and comfortable.
A major negative point is the lack of free wifi anywhere in the hotel. The only place to get wifi was in the reception area and that at the extortionate cost of 100 Rupees per hour !!!!! The computers in their business centre didn't seem to work. This lack of free wifi is really not excusable in a hotel of this category even if you say you don't need it on holiday. I would urge the management to review this policy urgently if they want returning guests. Even though I have given 4 out of 5 in this review I would not go back because of the wifi problems. One thing I have perhaps learnt from this is to check if hotels offer free wifi in future before booking.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.4 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de La Reserve

Property: Le Domaine de La Reserve
Address: | Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de La Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover warm hospitality and Luxury at Le Domaine de La Reserve, a hotel on the north east of Praslin in a National Marine park. Our intimate beachfront hotel is a rare gem surrounded by unobstructed and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean.Located on a private estate with its very own private beach in the secluded bay of Anse Petite Cour, Le Domaine de la Reserve is reputed to be a leading hotel of the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Domaine de La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Praslin Island
Hotel La Reserve
La Reserve Seychelles
Le Domaine De La Reserve Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing