We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday - with birds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday - with birds”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We've spent two weeks in this Hotel and enjoyed much the relaxing atmosphere, great spaces and superb view. It was fully booked but we had always the feeling that it's like off-season. Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated in Seychelles style. It's not on the main beaches, so you need a bike (can be rented free in the hotel) to get to other beaches or shops. Staff is very friendly and helpful, even if the service is not always professional. The hotel is offering some excursions, which are highly recommended, they are well-organized boat trips with snorkeling/hiking. The hotel has officially two restaurants, but one is only serving breakfast and dinner, the other one is only open for lunch. There are 3 bars, but one is only open in the daytime, the other one at dinner, the third one was closed during our stay. Dinners are good, with thematic buffets/menus. What we didn't like: breakfast is pretty boring, every morning the same: two sorts of cold cut, cheddar cheese, smoked fish, the same "home-made yoghurt" (put out without any cooling), powder-milk, pancake, eggs, a small selection of fruits,fruit juice out of the box. You get 2 bottles of water on arrival and after that each bottle will be charged - at pretty high price. And the birds: everywhere in the restaurants, on the tables, on the breakfast buffet, literally everywhere, and they are "dropping" everywhere, on the tables, chairs, even on us, guests. The hotel has obviously no solution to this problem.

Room Tip: Every villa has an amazing beach view, you don't need to be afraid of it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    295
    81
    28
    18
See reviews for
162
756
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Soroe, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location of this Seychelles hotel is one of the best on Praslin. Next to the sea and very nice snorkling waters just outside your room basically. The restaurant is on a pier in the water and very romantic and cosy having dinner in.
Friendly staff, very nice and huge pool with the opportunity to borrow bikes.
Nice food

Room Tip: The villa's on the left side of the restaurant is more or less 5 m. from the sea. We would choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our third visit to La Reserve (others in 2003 / 2010) and, yet again, the hotel lived up to expectations. After an un-eventfull flight via Dubai and Mahe we arrived to warm friendly greetings a cooling cocktail and, as returning clients, an upgrade to a beach front deluxe apartment. With its change of ownership we were initially concerned that some benefits may have been eroded...but we ere to find this was not the case

The rooms remain excellent; spacious with a separate area for bathing with a most efficient wet room (which made the sunken bath almost superfluous) Beds are large and firm, air-con efficient and quiet and, in our case, view across to beach and ocean very relaxing. The rooms are well serviced by a team of positive and helpful individuals

Food in the jetty restaurant remains of a high standard with a mixture of served and buffet (self service) meals provided. We would have preferred a higher proportion of non-buffet meals....but this is a minor negative. Service in the restaurant was very good with opportunity to watch a variety of fish swimming under the pier while you eat

The swimming pool remains one of the exceptional benefits to this hotel, with a large area of not too deep, warm water and a swim-up bar. The pool was mostly empty on our visit but would have taken a large group to impact the peace

Located within he marine reserve the hotel offers some very good snorkelling from the beach as well as organised trips to St Pierre Island which (generally) offers some of the best snorkelling anywhere I have been. (worthwhile noting at this point that July is the time of trade wind changes so making the sea 'choppy' turning snorkelling into more of an exercise than is ideal) Future visits will be considered in February to avoid this problem

All staff were keen and happy to help in any way possible. I must make special note of the receptionist Helena who went out of her way to make our visit most relaxing and enjoyable

Room Tip: If you want to get the best snorkelling....go in February / March
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RS-PTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ericeira, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Everything was great in this hotel, we loved our stay over there and the location is great.
Large rooms and our was just in front of the beach so every morning we wake up and just step out to look at the beautiful sea.

Food is also very nice and the staff is very kind.

I really suggest this one to all people that want to spend a great vacation in Praslin.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlucas_ericeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We only stayed three nights at La Reserve and loved every minute of our stay. The resort itself is tucked away on a nice beach and is secluded from other properties. The room was well decorated and very spacious. The breakfast and dinners were good (we particularly liked the Asian buffet) and sitting out on the pier with the amazing views makes for an even more enjoyable time.
Service all around was fantastic with everyone always very helpful. When our originally booked tour was cancelled, they re-arranged and added an excursion they normally only do on other days, which was very thoughtful and ended up being a great day.
We did a little snorkeling right off the beach but it was a little churned up due to weather - but on a clear day, it looks like it would have been great snorkeling.
It's also one of the closer hotels to Anse Lazio, which was our favorite beach on all of Praslin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michealangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing location, potentially the best on island with private bay, near to best beaches and good restaurants. Pool fantastic. Restaurant pier lovely. Awesome breakfasts. Rooms spacious, clean and private... affordable luxury for Seychelles. Service excellent. Free use of kayaks and bikes for exploring. We had B&B and the restaurant food bit too expensive and not as good as local restaurants...so dare to venture out (E.g. P Kays and Pirogue. Overall great hotel choice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rjwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel has well furnished, large, luxurious rooms, all with stunning vistas of the ocean. The buffet restaurant is full of delicious local food with seating in a fantastic location over the sea and many beautiful fish below. It is also only 10 minutes drive (Rs200 each way) from the most amazing beach I have ever been to, and for these reasons alone, makes it a great choice for a stay in the Seychelles. Being on Praslin, it is in a quiet unspoilt area and if you want a high end place to relax and a base to explore, this is somewhere that should definitely be considered. Fittingly, it was being used as a wedding venue when were there.

The resort was missing some finishing touches (e.g. nothing prevents birds sitting in the rafters directly above you at breakfast which can lead to unfortunate problems) and although it has a reasonable private beach you will probably want to venture out of the resort if you want to spend time at a beach.

Evening entertainment - such as a display of local dancing was a nice touch.

They were upgrading the resort while we were there so it may be even better in time. Overall a decent luxury resort on a stunning island.

Room Tip: All rooms are huge with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mundii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.4 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,006 reviews
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
778 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
575 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de La Reserve

Property: Le Domaine de La Reserve
Address: | Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
#5 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de La Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover warm hospitality and Luxury at Le Domaine de La Reserve, a hotel on the north east of Praslin in a National Marine park. Our intimate beachfront hotel is a rare gem surrounded by unobstructed and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean.Located on a private estate with its very own private beach in the secluded bay of Anse Petite Cour, Le Domaine de la Reserve is reputed to be a leading hotel of the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Le Domaine de La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Praslin Island
Hotel La Reserve
La Reserve Seychelles
Le Domaine De La Reserve Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing