We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, Great Rooms, Great Food, Great Views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine de La Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Domaine de La Reserve
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Great Rooms, Great Food, Great Views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

My wife and I stayed six nights here in early September 2009. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thought the hotel fully deserved it's high ratings. Our room was right on the beach with great views across the bay and to the nearby islands. We liked nothing better than sitting on our patio as it was getting dark and watch the fruit bats fly over. The room itself was excellent.
We loved the Jetty restaurant, watching the fish and birds whilst eating. The food was great, we particularly enjoyed the buffets - our only regret is that we only had two during our stay, instead of the hoped for three! The wine was no more expensive than at a good restaurant back in the UK, this was a bit of a surprise as we had been told how expensive wine was - but then we stayed in a hotel on Mahe where it was twice the price. The waiters were friendly and efficient, as were all the other staff we came across.
It was our 25th wedding anniversary whilst at La Reserve, we didn't tell the hotel but did bring a few cards with us that people had given us before we left and put them out in our room in the morning. When we returned later in the day we found flowers spread everywhere around the room, next a knock on the door and someone brought in a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine for us. A wonderful gesture.
The weather was unusually windy when we first arrived and the sea was very cloudy because the waves were churning up the sand. But when it eventually cleared snorkeling was very good, we felt very safe swimming in the bay.
You get the impression reading these reviews that everyone staying at La Reserve is on their honeymoon and we were worried, being 25 years married, that we would stand out from everyone else. In fact, there was a very good age range with several couples the same age or older than ourselves.
Perhaps the only downside to La Reserve was the Giant Tortoise pen where several were cooped in a small enclosure. We felt they added nothing to the hotel and would be far better released on one of the smaller islands.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeEstuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    274
    76
    26
    17
See reviews for
152
709
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

We arrived at La Reseve to be told that they had been having problems with their computer systems and that they had no record of our booking (Which we know happened to a total of 14 people that day !!! and had also been the case the month previous. Carl (the manager) then shipped us of to another hotel down the road and left us there (although he did advise that we could use the amenities at his hotel anytime we wish This was a scam to make money as he would transfer you to a cheaper hotel and make money. We had booked 9 months in advance for our honeymoon and was absolutely disgusted at the way this hotel treated us offering no form of compensation

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank disgusted09Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpomeroy, Owner at Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this review, 18 October 2009
Dear Sir/Madam,
Whilst I recognise the major inconvenience caused to you on what should have been your perfect honeymoon, I must stipulate that in no way is our overbooking situation "a scam to make more money by placing you in a cheaper hotel". The overbookings we have experienced in recent weeks are due to a loss of data in our property management system. This situation has not done us any favours in any way but spoil or otherwise excellent reputation which no doubt you have seen here on tripadvisor.
We have had a really tough time with this and upset many of our customers but I am happy to say that we have seen the last of it. I wish to reasure you that there is no way of us profitering from this situation. It only brings my establishment into disrepute that we do not neccessarily deserve. I am quite sure that we will receive many more bad comments regarding "overbookings" but I would like to make clear to everyone that this is now over and that we are commited to offering the highest standards of service at all times.
Sincerely,
Peter Pomeroy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

Terrific food, excellent restaurant and bar staff - good selection of wine that (although not cheap) was not anywhere nearly as overpriced as Lemuria or L'Archipel.

Wonderful coconut snacks as local alternatives to nuts/crisps, complementary to drinks at the bar!

The only downside was that having arrived on a later connecting flight, there was apparently no record of our booking (12 nights) - problem with IT systems we were told - and we had to spend three nights at L'Archipel. I truly hope that this is resolved soon (and that there is nothing more sinister to it, such as overbooking to ensure full capacity) as we noticed a number of other couples arguing with reception over what appeared to be a similar problem.

Credit to Carl & Serge at La Reserve (and Jo at Seychelles Travel whose call from me Monday morning must have been a great start to her week!). The resolution to this was an upgrade to a fabulous room at L'Archipel, use of the speedboat for a morning of our choice and a free bottle of wine with dinner each night when we finally returned to La Reserve.

Not many worse starts to a much anticipated honeymoon there could be, but the situation was salvaged and I would have no hesitation in recommending this - and room 105 must be the best in the resort - however I would recommend you seek confirmation a week or so before travelling...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamPhil40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We have just returned from our honeymoon at La Reserve, and it was amazing. The hotel was clean, welcoming and very comfortable. The beach was lovely (although quite small), but it was very private with only other hotel users. The food was incredible (almost too good). I have to say i enjoyed the buffet nights the most where you could pick and choose. The 4 courses on the A la carte nights was not neccassary.
The day trips that the hotel provide really made our stay, we went on all of them and thoroughly enjoyed getting out and about seeing the other local islands and culture. Ron, Francis, Billy and Lindsay were fantastic, making it funny and educational.
If you dont like spiders i would not recommend the Valley De Mai. I had to walk it looking at the ground and not daring to look up into the trees!
The only complaint i have about this hotel is the price of drinks. Having paid quite alot for the holiday in general, it came as a bit of a shock to be paying over £10 for a vodka and lemonade.
Overall, our holiday was one of the best we have ever had, and as a honeymoon it was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKVEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed at La Reserve on a half board basis for three nights as part of our honeymoon trip around the Seychelles and we loved it here.

We had paid a lot to stay here so were expecting something quite special and we weren't disappointed with anything at all. As soon as we arrived the staff brought over welcome drinks and cold flannels to cool us down and the manager came over to welcome us as well. When we were shown to our room we were really pleased. We had one of the deluxe rooms and it was lovely: extremely spacious, beautifully decorated and furnished, spotlessly clean and just a stone’s throw from the beach. The grounds of the hotel were also very well maintained and included a group of very friendly giant tortoises!

The beach itself was very nice and clean (a small tucked away cove, which only seems to be used by La Reserve guests), and you have full use of the hotel's snorkeling equipment and kayaks.

The hotel puts on a daily programme of trips to various places of interest as well. These excursions are all included in your accommodation fee (although you do need to pay entrance fees at certain places). We went on the sunset & snorkeling cruise and on the half day trip to Curieuse Island, both of which we would recommend. The staff on the boat trips that we went on were all excellent - extremely friendly and always smiling and upbeat. We weren't at the hotel for the other trips to the islands of Cousin and La Digue and the Vallee du Mai nature reserve on Praslin, but we did these trips independently at other times and would recommend them as well. If you do go to Cousin Island, you will need a lot of insect repellant as there are thousands of mosquitoes there and we were eaten alive!

The evening dining was a wonderful experience for us. The tables are all laid out on a kind of jetty over the sea (we would advise getting there at 7.30pm or just after to get a table on the edge!). It's lovely to look down at all the fish life in the sea just below you, which is lit up at night time. The food (4 courses every night) was very good and we were constantly full! All the staff were really helpful and friendly and the service was excellent. Lunch was also very tasty!

As I mentioned before, this is an expensive hotel so you do expect a certain standard and we thought that we got what we paid for. We would definitely recommend this hotel for honeymooners and had no complaints about anything.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steppenoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

From the manager greeting us upon our arrival, to the reception staff shaking our hands and wishing us a safe trip home the stay really was top class. We were married at the hotel only 2 days after our arrival and were nervous about the arrangements but the events manager Chantelle did a superb job of calming our nerves and ensuring everything went smoothly. The location is an absolute dream, the staff relaxed, friendly but very proffesional and the complementary boat trips add value and remove the hassle that sometimes comes with reps and hard-selling of excursions. To give balance to this review - the price of the drinks in the bars are plain stupid, take up your full duty free allowance on the way over, there is luxurious and there is rediculous and thats the only real downfall of the hotel (assuming of course you get the holiday for a reasonable price).
Top hotel, location and staff - take your duty free and a good insect repellant for the evenings and enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marce35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

Just returned from our wedding at La Reserve which went very well.
A couple of tips and suggestions:

The rooms are not as good as the pictures on the web site, the extended family stayed in a waterfront room which was superb, all wood, nice suite area - with a shower.

Myself and fiancee were in one of the newer apartments, which are nowhere near as nice - the sunken bath is a normal bath - sunken. On a wedding break we'd have expected more luxury - a little disapointed - but probably as we'd seen the suites first.

The staff and food were excellent, cannot be faulted. La Reserve could do with more facilities, a Spa perhaps - we made the mistake of not exploring the island enough, but due to the flights we were over tired - would recommend the beaches outside of the resort - again excellent and good fun. You should be aware that taxi trips are excessively priced and buses are frequent and very cheap - friends staying n the island used the transport and found it . The costs overall for food and drinks were not excessive - UK prices and you can take alcohol onto the island (unlike the maldives)

A word of caution - please check your bill for extras - we were charged twice for a dinner for 10, and were over charged for a wedding breakfast

All staff were excellent though - with one exception - the assistant manager, does not seem to care about his customers, refused to get out of bed to talk with us regarding the billing issues - it was 9.30 at night.

I would recommend La Reserve - watch the bill, get out and see the island, you can walk to a cracking beach, and try and get one of the older apartments on the site.

Great pool - though full of honeymooners holding hands - limited for teenage kids - but if you get out and about this is resolved

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimWUK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.6 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
#1 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
1.5 mi away
Les Villas d'Or
Les Villas d'Or
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de La Reserve

Property: Domaine de La Reserve
Address: Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de La Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover warm hospitality and Luxury at Le Domaine de La Reserve, a hotel on the north east of Praslin in a National Marine park. Our intimate beachfront hotel is a rare gem surrounded by unobstructed and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean.Located on a private estate with its very own private beach in the secluded bay of Anse Petite Cour, Le Domaine de la Reserve is reputed to be a leading hotel of the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Domaine de La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Praslin Island
Hotel La Reserve
La Reserve Seychelles
Domaine De La Reserve Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing