We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for chilling out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Domaine de La Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for chilling out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

Stayed at La Reserve for 7 nights after a safari, it was perfect for relaxing after a hard 4 days. Restaurant manager went over and above the call of duty arranging meals to accommodate food allergies, the only problem with dining is like so many hotels these days there are a few buffet meals. Room was large and well furnished, but air conditioning was not very effective during the night, the standard of the rooms is let down by the lack of bath robes and poor quality coffee. The pool is large and a very refreshing temperature but the pool area is let down by lack of staff. La Reserve is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting but I feel 3/4 days would have been long enough.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsNosalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    274
    76
    26
    17
See reviews for
152
709
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

Nice quality hotel with wonderful staff. They,ll do everything for your well-being. Hotel is not too big so you can get personal service. Good price-quality ratio.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousEspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Good rooms, all with an ocean view. Good food and wine served in an attractive setting.Outstanding service with a smile. Daily sightseeing event on land or water available.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardener3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan,Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

We choose La Reserve after a long reading of Tripadvisor reviews: thanks guys! It is a gem! I would like to spend a few words about the staff: thanks to Serge (everything is working well!), Gerys (restaurant, god job), Francis (excursions, great guy!), Helena (and all other people at the reception, sorry I don't remeber all names). The service is great; everybody is smiling and struggling to provide what we need (I’ve read somewhere that people of Seychelles are quite harsh: where have you been?). Great PLUS: the room. One of the best hotel room I've even seen. Super clean, very quiet, ocean front, very roomy, immense bathroom (and the shower is unbelievable). It's the first time that I note that the reality is better than internet pics. Just the A/C is a little bit noisy (not really dramatic).
The beach: it is a private beach; it means the only hotel guests can use it. Never crowded. I agree with other reviews that this bay is not perfect to swim (not a big issue to me). I have to say that, because of the period, there was a lot of seaweed on the beach, however the staff was (almost) continuously cleaning and removing it (great plus). If you want to move, Cote d'Or is just 2 minutes walk from the hotel, and Anse Lazio is 10 minutes by car (in any event they both diverse a visit).
I’ve seen other hotels on Cote D’Or: no way to compare to La Reserve. Just the beach is better (while different); however a day we saw this beach with a lot of seaweed (and nobody to clean it).
We have never used the pool: it is huge anyway!
Restaurant: great breakfast, with all we need to take a great and complete breakfast. The dinner was very good; I would say the buffet dinner (3 times) was (slightly) better than usual dinner. By the way the desserts proposed by the buffets were unbelievable (choice, variety, always delicious). Another plus of the hotel are the excursions. Almost everyday there is an excursion (not to miss!) with Francis (he is so funny and helpful in the same time) with his team (thanks for the evening cruise with Creole songs).
Definitively a hotel I can recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSmartMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

One of the best places in Praslin to stay, for a week. It is close enough to walk to the village but is quiet, private and with a beautiful beach. Staff and service are impeccable. The complementary tours are to the right places and well organized.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViajantePortugues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

I'm difficult and fussy to say the least. From the website pics, I went into a rushed booking with much trepidation. Imagine my surprise! Ive simple never had service this good, not in the US or UAE which are my benchmarks. Resturant food was excellent (we're south Africans used to eating out every night at top resturants), pool was wonderful (website pics scared the hell out of me) and rooms were top class: solid wood all round. Once again, web pics looked like a 60's motel, but flash makes wood look bad when it's actually top quality. Every single staff member was trained to a point.
We dived *a lot* at nearby whitetip divers. Good diving. Dead coral (read up on Seychelles coral bleaching 1998/2003) ruined snorkelling (by our hi red sea and sa standards) but every dive was filled with 'sightings' that would have made any single dive in sa or even red sea. Arnoud (owner) is a hell of a nice chap to boot.
Ground staff who greeted us were Creole - best ground staff I've ever experienced. Your tour operator may use others tho. Oh, hotel was half empty which will have helped I guess.
Only read now on overbooking issues - terrible stories - we had only pleasant surprises all round.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

With a good deal of choices and price points, I went on sheer TripAdvisor reviews alone for a Honeymoon hotel far from home (New York) before we began our weeklong Safari In Tanzania. We could not have been happier with our choice.

Room - We were in room 106, with a second floor view straight out into the empty bay's crystal blue waters. It was spacious, impeccable and modern. The shower could fit 5. Bath was a bit small, but really... who's taking a bath? Ending every night on the porch with the sunset over the beach was a treat.

Service - The service - from Jerry and crew (Da Silva) at the restaurant, to Natalie at the desk - could not have been friendlier. Food was not incredible (aside from one of the best filet's I'd ever had) but was very good. Breakfast got a touch repetitive, but again this makes no difference when held up against all else that was so superb.

Amenities - Pool was one of the largest we'd ever seen, and almost always empty. Snorkel, Kayak etc. all included. Every day there was a new boat trip to take to nearby islands and beaches. The boat crew was excellent and spirited.

Excursions - When on Praslin, make sure you visit Anse Lazio, Anse Volbert, Curiuse, Take a trip to La Digue and visit Grand Source D'Argent and - until they lower the price - skip Vallee de Mai. Cab + Admission was about $70 for 2 and it's not much more special than any other rainforest (save for Coco De Mer presence, which wears off after a few sightings).

The ONE down side is a beach that's not really made for swimming... that said, you have Anse Lazio and Anse Volbert (10 minute bus, and 2 minute walk, respectively) right nearby - easily 2 of the nicest beaches in the world. Also La Digue a quick boat ride away.

Could not recommend this hotel more - feel free to contact me if you have any other questions.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveMann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.6 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
#1 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
1.5 mi away
Les Villas d'Or
Les Villas d'Or
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de La Reserve

Property: Le Domaine de La Reserve
Address: | Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de La Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover warm hospitality and Luxury at Le Domaine de La Reserve, a hotel on the north east of Praslin in a National Marine park. Our intimate beachfront hotel is a rare gem surrounded by unobstructed and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean.Located on a private estate with its very own private beach in the secluded bay of Anse Petite Cour, Le Domaine de la Reserve is reputed to be a leading hotel of the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Le Domaine de La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Praslin Island
Hotel La Reserve
La Reserve Seychelles
Le Domaine De La Reserve Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing