We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for quiet and comfortable stay”
Review of Paradise Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Sun
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel is situated at looong and quiet beach. The rooms are clean, all equipment works fine, but don't wait for gloss and shiny equipment and furniture. The minibar at the room is empty, you have to order everything from the bar. Still water is provided complimentary only at arrival. Rooms on the first floor are more comfortable and have better view.

It is a family atmosphere at the hotel.
Afternoon tea is very nice tradition.

Jimmy, local boatsman, is some kind of a spirit of the hotel, gives you perfect experience at bicycle excursion and sunset cruise.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience at Paradise Sun hotel with other Tripadvisor readers. It is indeed a pleasure to read your review about our people, as well as the service you received.

The "family atmosphere" approach, with the four star services yet maintaining the balance of “laid back chic” is a unique experience that you would feel when you stay with us on the island of Praslin in the Seychelles.

Again, thank you so much for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you soon,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, E-Commerce Manager, for Philippe BETHUNE, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

The location is fantastic, not too far away from everything, lovely beach and a great view. Service is friendly and you are greeted by most staff members as you walk around. The rooms are not the largest but you are going to an island for the sea and sun, not to stay in the room the whole time. They are very clean though and there is nothing lacking in them. Bathroom is quite spacious (no bath in the room we stayed in).

The only issue we had was that our room was EXTREMELY noisy. We stayed in room number 15 which is close to the road and opposite some houses or something. There were dogs barking all night, kids screaming, hammering and drilling happening very early in the morning. You can also hear every truck/car that goes past. So best to avoid this side of the hotel.

The meals are served as a buffet for both breakfast and dinner. There is a very nice vibe in the Beach area where you eat, it is very social and really relaxed. We ate lunch each day overlooking the ocean and the view could not be beaten.

There are daily activities and Jimmy is a great entertainer, we were quite amused and learnt a lot about opening Coconuts in one of the activities. The swimming pool area is also great and very quiet as most people prefer to be at the beach, which is a short walk away.

All in all, if you are going for a relaxed island getaway, this is a great place. Rooms are clean, food is good and the beach and ocean are awesome. If you are looking for something luxurious, then i would think you need to spend a bit more and keep looking.

Room Tip: Stay away from room number 15...it is SUPER noisy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Br0kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Marketing Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of Paradise Sun Hotel team, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel on Praslin, and for taking the time to share your experience online with us.

Your comments are valuable to us so we can endeavour to best satisfy you and other customers in the future. Indeed, it is with such feedback that we are able to continuously improve our services. We thank you, and in collaboration with the team we will strongly consider the points you have brought forward.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Paradise Sun Hotel in the future.

Best Regards

Philippe CORNAILLE, E-Commerce Manager for Philippe BETHUNE, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family of 4 (two kids aged 8 and 5) spent the last week of August at the Paradise Sun and it suffices to say that we were so pleased with it that, having travelled for more than 15 years now, it motivated me to write my first review ever for TripAdvisor. Of course the location itself is so memorable that it helps a lot in having made these holidays ones of our best ever. We had been to several wonderful, "exotic" or simply "out of the way" places (Costa Rica, Brazil, Iceland, Turkey, Cape Verde, Morocco, to name just a few) and the first words must be about how the Seychelles are truly unique, well preserved and, despite some garbage brought by the tides, almost pristine in many locations (we have been to the islands of Praslin, La Digue, Curieuse and, to a lesser extent, Mahe). However, if the Seychelles had been great (as they were) but the hotel had not risen to the occasion, I would of course not write. The fact is that the hotel was excellent.
As mentioned in a few other reviews, it is not a 5-star hotel, so do not expect huge and superb rooms with endless amenities or 5-star cuisine (it is nonetheless quite good: both the breakfasts and the buffets have lots of variety and good quality. Considering the circumstances and restrictions on what is available - one has to bear in mind that almost everything is imported -, I would rate it as a honest 4-star hotel cuisine, whish is exactly what we paid for).

However, in terms of service and attention to detail, we did feel pampered as in a 5-star hotel. Both local-born staff and foreign staff (perhaps from India, Pakistan or Bangladesh, I am not sure) are extremely friendly and professional. Actually, one can see that the hotel is well managed because having a few smiling faces in the staff may be a matter of luck; when you get all of the staff working well and fast - and on top of that a smile - credit has to be given to management in selecting and training. Staff is really motivated to do its best and this is exactly what did strike us as particularly positive about the Paradise Sun. Small example of attention to detail: our daughter turned 5 precisely in the middle of the week and at dinner, without our saying anything, we had a special table and a complementary birthday cake. Small example no. 2: the "supervisor" of dinner service even bothered to every now and then place a baby chair by our table (obvisouly, when it was not needed on any other table) for our daughter Vera to put her doll (we are sorry not to have registered his name, Vera would really like to thank him once again, she still talks about the "nice sir"...). Also as mentioned in other reviews, Jimmy deserves praise for his friendliness and energy in organising sports and other activities, as the sunset cruise. Nonetheless, the more "anonymous" staff, in a less conspicuous way, are essential as well, in setting the very high standard of service which turned our holidays in a real "paradise".

Greetings from Portugal to all the staff & management at the Paradise Sun (we would really appreciate if the management could somehow convey this message to the staff, which deserves it).

P.S. - I guess that with so much praise some readers may suspect we're affiliated to the Paradise Sun, so a couple of words on a negative aspect. The (wonderful) beach has a well-thought-of barrier of wood logs that forms a slightly elevated sand strip, allowing stretchers to be protected from the high tide. However, in some of those wood logs there are rusty nails pointing out, which may be extremely dangerous, particularly to less attentive small kids. There is a small 2 or 3-steps staircase closer to the restaurant, but it's much easier to just go over the wood logs to reach the lower sand strip and one cannot really restrain the kids from doing so in a split second. Fortunatelly, nothing happened as we were cautious, but I suggest having someone remove those useless bits of protruding nails. In a morning's work, it would be easy to eliminate the only really relevant "imperfection" I spotted at Paradise Sun.

Room Tip: We were very pleased with our no. 54, which is right in front of the beach and sufficiently far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuiCPalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Marketing Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Paradise Sun hotel in the Seychelles on Tripadvisor, and to share your positive comments online.

Our team continuously strives towards service excellence, which you have experienced during your stay with us.

We were delighted to make your stay a most memorable experience. Rest assured that your review will be shared with the hotel team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Paradise Sun Hotel in the near future,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, E-Commerce Manager, for Philippe BETHUNE, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed for 10 nights early Sept 2013. Location is stunning. Atmosphere is relaxed and grounds and gardens are fantastic. Ideal for families, and travellers interested in an idealyic setting. May not be for travellers more interested in culinary experience or best amenities (high end), but all round, very relaxed, clean, comfortable, and world class setting. We found staff and guests alike to be friendly and engaging. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ground floor units probably better for young children. From what i could see, more private away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Marketing Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for submitting your review and pictures on Tripadvisor following your recent 10 nights-stay in Paradise Sun Hotel in the Seychelles. We are delighted to hear that your stay was most memorable and that you found all the comfort you needed during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you soon again in the Seychelles and wish you a most pleasant day,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, E-Commerce Manager, for Philippe BETHUNE, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed a total of 5 nights & location of the resort- style hotel & the staff is simply amazing. Beautiful restaurant for breakfast & dinner at the water's edge. Could not ask for more, can highly recommend... True paradise with a very personal feel ...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Marketing Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your holiday with us at Paradise Sun, and providing such positive feedback on our professionalism, our style and on the competence of our staff. We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback online.

We hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you back to Paradise Sun.

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, E-Commerce Manager, for Philippe BETHUNE, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very pleasant and nicely located hotel for a stay of two. Great food and service. Well gardened territory, ocean side and witesand beach are its big advantages. Perfect for wedding ceremonies:). We ventured the whole Praslin and found none of such on the island.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels
Thank PavelTolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Marketing Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Seychelles !

Thank you for spending your holiday with us at Paradise Sun, and providing such positive comments. We are delighted that you had wonderful time with us on Praslin Island.

We look forward to keeping in contact with you and wish you a beautiful day,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, E-Commerce Manager, for Philippe BETHUNE, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My wife & I were married at the Paradise Sun in July 2009.
We chose the seychelles due to the amazing location, & the fact that you only had to have been on the island for 3 days before you could legally tie the knot!
The hotel itself is situated on a beautiful cove which looks out towards Curieuse Island, which we were taken to by Aubrey, in a small skiff, which took 20 mins across the bay. Well worth the €100 we paid, just to see the giant tortoise, & to have a tropical beach all to our selves for a few hours.
We also took a boat trip to La Digue which is a must do. The boat leaves from the charter shop on the beach from in front of the hotel. Anse Lazio, just to the north is also worth a visit for the snorkeling.

The wedding was fantastic, well organised by the hotel, with no hitches ( except ours!)
We were the only couple to have a wedding that week(!) so no conveyor belts as I have witnessed elsewhere. As it was just us two, & our boys, we attracted quite a lot of attention from the other guests, who came & witnessed the ceremony, which was a nice unexpected surprise.
After the ceremony, we walked along the beach barefoot to shouts of congratulations.
Unforgettable!

The hotel food was a little disappointing (buffet style) & did not really cater for vegetarians,
but the Cafe des Arts next door, was AMAZING!
Having travelled & eaten extensively, this place is definitely in the top 5 for the whole family.

So for a wedding to never forget...........

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Marketing Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Seychelles !

We thank you for choosing Paradise Sun to celebrate your marriage in the Seychelles. We appreciate your positive comments posted in regards to your stay with us and are delighted that you had wonderful time with us on Praslin Island. Our team takes great pride in ensuring that our guests enjoy a memorable stay.

Kindly note that since your last visit, the Resort continues to review and upgrade its food delivery at the beach restaurant, and we always use the freshest ingredients available on the islands. On certain days of the week, our buffet service is supported with evening entertainment. We hope that we will be also be able to welcome you back for your wedding anniversary, and you once again be able to experience our delicious cuisine and the beauty of Paradise Sun.

We look forward to keeping contact and wish you a beautiful day,

Philippe CORNAILLE, E-Commerce Manager, for Philippe BETHUNE, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.2 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,030 reviews
6.6 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
806 reviews
0.9 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Anse Volbert
398 reviews
3.8 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Sun

Address: Cote D'or Beach, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island SEZ, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range: £348 - £684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a Seychelles gem, embraced in the warmth of the Indian Ocean. The pristine white coral sands of the Cote d’Or Beach at our front door will tempt you to bare your feet. The aquamarine waters that stretch towards an endless horizon will float your troubles away. Our lush lawns and tropical gardens will delight your eye with their beauty. Here there is more than sand, sea and sunshine. There is also the warmth of the Seychelles smile – making it a paradise you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Sun Hotel Anse Volbert
Paradise Sun Praslin Island
Hotel Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing