We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best choice in Praslin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acajou Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were really glad to stay in Acajou Hotel. We've chosen the room 33, with the best view of the beach. They are going to close for almost a year to make a full remodeling, so I don't know how it is going to be after that. But the service, the food and the room were pretty awesome.
We recommend you to rent a car to go the Lazio beach, Anse Georgette e Anse Petit Kerlain, and after that you can also tour around the island, which takes only 50 minutes. That way is easier and cheaper.

Room Tip: Room 33! The best view to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClauDiasPerezMachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband, son & I spent 4 days & 3 wonderful nights at Praslin's beautiful Acajou. We were very fortunate to stay in a wonderful beachfront ground floor villa with the most breathtaking views. We were treated like treasured guests & felt truly relaxed at all times. The food was sublime, such fresh high quality ingredients are not always readily available on Praslin so we were delighted and looked forward to every meal. The staff were genuinely seeking ways to make your stay more enjoyable by ensuring great care and attention at all times. The accommodation is situated on a beautiful white sand beach with free sun beds and showers to freshen up before a dip in the cool refreshing & uncrowded pool! A must for families and those seeking a safe, tranquil haven to relax!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Seychelles is not the kind of place one goes on a budget. But we still looked for sub-$150 hotels on Mahe and Praslin, and were confused between a few - Acajou turned out to be an amazing choice.

First of all, it is located right on one of the best beaches on the Islands - the Cote d'Or / Anse Volbert beach is a really good beach, even by the Seychelles standards. The Bay is really calm, and the backdrop of mountains is just gorgeous.

The rooms are nice and cosy - nothing to complain about there. The wood paneling and large balconies actually give the place some great character - the kind of setting which fits really well onto the beach.

The meals at the hotel are really pricey, even by Seychelles standards. We were tired the first night and ate there, but since then we tried out some of the good restaurants just a 10 minute walk down the road.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the beach are better, and one's on the higher floors have a better view. Any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghmckdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a lovely break at the Acajou hotel on Praslin. It is a small 30 bedroom resort, which has a fantastic beach front location and is situated in a quiet part of the island, a short 10 minute walk along the main road (or along the beach) from the main shopping area of Praslin.

The hotel itself is maintained to a very high standard, the grounds were immaculate and the service first class.

We had lunch in the bar on our arrival the first day (the kings prawns with garlic butter, served with rice was delicious)..service was good and the bar has lovely views out to see and over the gardens.

Our room was spacious and well appointed, the petals and swans made from our bath towels was a lovely unexpected surprise. We also had a good sized balcony which looked out over the hotel gardens and swimming pool.

Breakfast was good with an excellent choice of juices, cold meats and cheese as well as pancakes, bacon, eggs. The staff also fed the birds on the lawn every hour during breakfast which was onto only nice to watch, but meant that none of the birds were flying about the restaurant and over the buffet.

We met with the Head Chef, Mags Adriatico and Angelito, her cook, with whom my girlfriend organised a surprise candlelit dinner on the beach for me. The table set up was lovely with flowers and candles, as well as candles in the sand around our table, the two waitresses who served us were polite and the food was excellent.

This was a very enjoyable stay in what is clearly a very well run property and I would definitely stay here again on a future visit to Praslin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My 84 year old husband and I have just had an amazing holiday experience in the Seychelles..Previously we have always visited Thailand~ but having suffered a heart attack and stroke last year,my husband felt it wise to seek a closer destination. What a discovery! The Seychelles is like having all the joys of Thailand right here on our doorstep and only a 5 hour flight from Johannesburg.

We were overwhelmed by the warmth and friendliness of the charming Creole people who speak good English and who have so much to offer. The islands reminded us of Phuket and Phi Phi, with stunning turquoise sea and long stretches of soft powdery beach sand that is so white it dazzles one's eyes. We were most impressed with Air Seychelles from Joburg to Mahe, then transferred almost immediately to Praslin, the second largest island.It was exciting buzzing across from Mahe to Praslin in 15 minutes, in a tiny de Haviland with propellers spinning.

Our meet and greet land arrangements were handled by the Creole Travel group. We can heartily recommend Sabrina, Dora and Marie-Helene~ 3 bubbly Creole ladies who could not have been more helpful in overseeing our airport transport, hotel bookings,confirming our flights and arranging exciting excursions.Seychelles is far more expensive than Thailand and as pensioners, we soon found out that our South African rand buys very little. A bottle of water or a can of Cold drink costs about R50 so we boiled our kettle water and kept our water bottles full! We paid for one exciting day excursion which cost us R1600 each but it was definitely worth the sacrifice.The Robinson Crusoe Adventure on the catamaran with snorkeling off St Perre Island and a barbecue on board is a must! It was a great way of seeing so many other beautiful little islands.We were staggered at the size of the amiable giant tortoises on Curieuse island, which was one a leper colony. One tortoise enjoyed having me pop my sunglasses on his little flat nose! Another sipped Coke from a fellow tourist's can! It was exciting hopping in and out of the rubber dinghys to reach land from the catamaran but I managed even with one titanium (replacement) knee. The barbecue on board a the end of the morning was very welcome as snorkelling certainly stimulates one's appetite.Throughout our stay the water was 29/30 deg and we wallowed for hours like happy wales.The sea was calm and there were no hectic waves or dangerous currents. The beaches are perfect for families with young children or for elderly folk who only want to bob in the surf!
It's no wonder so many romantic young folk choose to get married on beaches in the Seychelles. Swimming at sunset is an awesome experience. As oldies, we felt as if we were starring in On Golden Pond, with the sea like molten silvery satin and the waves which caressed us, tipped with magenta and gold.

What a gem of a hotel we found in the Acajou. (mahogany) Acajou is a family run enterprise, started 17 years ago by Joanise Doway and her family. Joanise is an amazing lady and has assembled around her a vibrant, dedicated and hard working staff team who are wonderful Creole ambassadors. Within hours my husband and I felt part of their Acajou family. We encountered some amazing folk there and our 8 night stay passed all too swiftly. It was sad to discover that not many South Africans even know about hotel Acajou. Nowhere in South Africa would we find a 3 star hotel of this calibre! Were we glad we had opted for the half board package! The breakfasts were adequate with loads of delicious fresh fruit and tantalizing extras like home baked croissants and decadent Danish pastries. The 3 course evening dinners were astounding and no menu was repeated in our 8 day stay! Congratulations to the amazing chefs for their creative and appetising creations and mouth-watering desserts.The waitrons were cheerful and efficient and went the extra mile to make our stay memorable. On our first night we arrived at 10pm so guessed we would have to survive on a South African banana and a bottle of water. To our amazement there was a knock at our door and there stood"'Papa Francis," the Food and Beverage Manager,a beaming, larger than life Creole character, who would be snapped up for Vodacom adverts if he lived in South Africa! He oozed charisma and within minutes we felt we belonged! He had saved us a delicious supper of cold meat and salads and with fresh home made bread, fruit juice, tea and coffee, we settled in for a good night's rest. We loved our upstairs room, number 14, where we had brilliant green chameleons and friendly little red robins/red sparrows visiting our balcony.Our room was spacious and spotless and our bathroom large and well appointed with a super shower and loads of hot water.The staff could not have been more welcoming. The manageress, Joanise, is intelligent and charming and keeps an eye on the smooth running of her delightful little hotel without ever being officious or over-bearing. She leads by example and the work ethos of her staff was most commendable. Joanise's lovely, vibrant sister, Barbara, heads up the Reception team of helpful efficient young
ladies who all spoke good English. The bright young Indian accountant proved most helpful and knowledgeable when I needed help with securing a Seychelles sim card and air time for my cell phone.
One evening my husband inadvertently left his rucksack on the beach after sunset.It contained his Kindle, brand new spectacles, wallet, video camera and beach hat! He had not even missed it and after his shower, there was a knock at the door and a very honest young member of staff from the Philippines, had come to tell us that he had found the rucksack and had handed it in at Reception! A huge thank you to Pablito (nickname Jun) for your integrity. As South Africans, this is something we value very much indeed. I am not sure this would have happened on one of our beaches! We are most grateful to Joanise and her awesome Acajou A Team for making our first Seychelles holiday such an inspiring and memorable experience. We have fallen in love with the Creole people and with the island of Praslin and would love to return. There is nothing we would want to change about your hotel. We loved everything about it and are not one bit surprised that General Gordon of Khartoum thought Praslin could have been the site of the original Garden of Eden!

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room and you'll have a view of the sea. The gardens below are beautiful and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We arrived at this hotel having booked a honeymoon offer. We were surprised to find a very cosy little hotel with a lot of trees and birds. It looked like a big garden more than anything else.
We were welcomed by a very friendly lady at the reception and showed to the room. The staff in general were extremely friendly all throughout the stay.
The room was spacious and very clean with decor matching the tropical exterior, well decorated with the usual petals and flowers. Toilet in good condition. The balcony was nice and it was very relaxing to sit outside. The only thing missing was the internet connection in the room. But who needs internet when you're in a place like this. We didn't use the pool during the whole stay but it looked rather small. However, the beach really makes that hotel stand out from others. It is definitely the finest and milkiest white sand on the whole island with water PERFECT for the best swimming experience. You can spend hours swimming in front of the hotel and never get bored of the view of Cote D'or and the nearby islands.
The daily breakfast was ok with a mix of local and imported food and fruits. If you're staying for a long stay, it can get rather repetitive as they don't change anything from day to day except for the fruits and fresh juices (based on availability).
Lunch and dinner food was great especially the curries. I would say it is one of the best curries on the island.
The shops and restaurants of Cote D'or are not too far away, just a 5 minutes stroll or 30 seconds in the car.
Tip: Do try a massage with the Filipino lady. She's a very talented lady and the price was worth it.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the high floor. Rooms on the start and end of the rows have a little bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Went for dinner there for the birthday of my husband and son. I can simply say that the food was great, my son had a beef steak and I can say that it is the best we tasted on the island, and of course the sashimi was fresh and delicious.
We ordered a birthday cake, and all I can say is you have a very good pastry chef.
Thank you Francis for making the evening special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank MRLepathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.9 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,464 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#2 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,059 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,092 reviews
4.6 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acajou Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acajou Beach Resort

Address: Cote D'Or Beach, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles (Formerly Hotel Acajou)
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range: £192 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acajou Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acajou Beach Resort is a Seychellois-owned hotel along the Cote D'Or beachfront on the northern coast of Praslin, in the Seychelles archipelago. "Praslin's green hotel" features 52 units across five different room categories, offering visitors comfortable beachfront accommodation maintained with eco-friendly practices and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Acajou Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acajou Hotel Praslin Island
Acajou Beach Resort Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing