We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
197
187
63
27
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
187
63
27
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poollovely pooltea and coffeelocal stylegentle wavessun umbrellascomfortable lounge chairsdangerous currentssri lankan chefplenty of hot waterpaving slabsdedicated teamgolden pondserve foodsea viewfirst floorsuperb job
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Spent 4 nights on half-board basis with a "4th night free offer".

Hotel was half empty and perfectly met our needs: we spent two days driving a car to explore Praslin (hotel perfectly handled car reservations and is well located to drive around the island) and two days relaxing at the hotel. Beach is deserted, as expected. The hotel is very quiet and in a relaxing garden.

Staff like in any Seychelles hotel was always very nice but not always very fast or efficient. Rooms with wood everywhere are dark and some equipment starts to be old, but were kept perfectly clean. Internet access at the "business center" proved useful and reasonably priced.

Main drawbacks: rooms are not sound proof and we could hear everything from our neighbours' accommodation... (TV, children arguing with parents, honeymooners...). Sandflies were present on the beach and everyone got stung. Dinner quality highly variable from tasty "a la carte" menu to average buffet. Buffet breakfast included too many inudstrial stuff (including juices which is not acceptable in a tropical setting). Tap water (as seen in our bathroom) is brown...

Overall, a good hotel at a "reasonable" (for Seychelles) price but do not expect luxury or gourmet meals and beware of noise coming from adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric_Beylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We were looking for a lively New Year at a luxurious hotel with cocktails on the beach, room service and a spicy menu........but it was not what we experienced. Very disappointed with what we would not class as a 4* hotel. You get far more value for money in Thailand or Mauritius. Rooms were very basic, no room service, no cocktails on the beach or even beach service. The "beach" bar was not even located on the beach and was only open between 12pm-3pm. After walking along the beach to find drinks service at other hotels, we were refused service since we were not appropriately dressed - well what else do you wear on a beach other than swimwear?! Even trying to eat local food outside was difficult. The local "Creole" restaurants only served Creole food with 24 hours notice - who plans ahead on holiday?! The restaurant food was a set menu every evening, with 1 starter, 2 main choices (fish or meat) and 1 dessert. Very bland food and not a touch of spice - ok if you're Italian or French. Music in the evenings was like listening to a pub singer who sang depressing French love songs. On New Year's Eve we were promised dancing till the dawn........the cocktails were the liveliest part of the evening at £10 a shot and the dance floor was empty by 00.05! The most entertaining value of the hotel was watching the fruit bats in the trees! On the positive side, staff were very friendly (although you did have to ask for everything - nothing was offered) and the Spa massage was excellent. To sum it up, alot of money for very little luxury. You get much more value for money at Rocky's Resort in Koh Samui!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Binabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We booked the Acajou as we were suggested this accomodation by the internet agency as an alternative to our 1st and favorite choice in Praslin, which was fully booked. Overall we found it good value for money...significantly less expensive than 4-star hotels, Acajou has more pros than cons. The rooms (we got a deluxe seaview) were very large, clean and with nice interior decorations. The bathroom was equivalent to a 4-star hotel with all comforts, a very large shower and bath too. The hotel has 30-35 rooms only and it's generally very quiet and relaxing. The other rooms are hosted in two all-wooden buildings facing each other in a rich tropical garden with palms, banana trees and a lot of birds. The swimming pool, in the middle of the garden, is quite small, yet a minor detail considering the quality of the beach and of the sea. Acajou is situated on the Cote d'Or long beach, definitely the best beach in Praslin...white sand and relatively calm water. Some seaweeds and grass mark the otherwise candid beach. No need to wear rubber shoes when walking on low waters in front of the hotel. Umbrellas and chairs available and space is in excess of guests. We visited other hotels in Praslin and on the same Cote d'Or: some do not have much space on the beach and can turn pretty disappointing if one doesn't expect it.
Service at Acajou is acceptably slow (as in the whole island) but extremely kind, both at the reception and in the rooms. The hotel manager is almost always on site and she's quite professional.
The restaurant for breakfast and dinner is charming, hosted on the main stilt house, open air with garden view. Breakfast is apparently less fancy than in big hotels but rich and complete anyway. Dinners are either buffet-style or with a small a-la-carte menu. Quality of food is good (not exceptional) and there is a lot of creole cuisine. In fact the restaurant seems to be popular among locals. There is quiet music on some evenings, but generally speaking this hotel should be recommended more for couples than for kids who look for some evening entertainment or friends.
The hotel offers a small gym and an internet room at €3/hour.
Overall valuation is positive, especially so considering the lower cost compared to other accomodations.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fabiobol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

I stayed in Acajou hotel for one week in October 2008. It is surrounded by well kept tropical garden and located in quiet area. There is buffet style breakfast with good choice of food.Rooms are spacious and have fridge. Clean beach towels are provided every day. I would advice to take travel kettle and some tea and coffee.Local shops have limited choice, you can only buy powder milk. Also torch is recomended, because there is no street lighting outside hotel. Beach is clean and not very busy. There are sunbeds and umbrellas for guests staying in the hotel. I would stay there again. Ella from Surrey

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EllaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We stayed 3 nights in Acajou for our honeymoon. Compare to the Benjarya in Mahe, this is much more romantic and peaceful. The rooms are elegantly decorated with tropical theme. Bathroom is spacious. Our unit has a balcony that overlook the ocean. The beach (Cote' Dor) right in front of the hotel is my favorite beach in Seychelles. There is very little waves and makes it a perfect beach for swimmers. There are very few people and water color is turqoise. It's a picture perfect spot like what you see in the post card. Breakfast was served with lots of homemade juices, pastries and chef made omelette. The ground is very well mainteined with tropical plants and flowers. We saw beautiful birds and lizards in the garden. The only thing we disliked was the front desk. They weren't the most friendly people we met. However it was only for 1 day, the other 2 days were not bad. Hotel manager was very friendly, and we really liked him.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sac2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews