We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cafe des Arts
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cote D'Or(Anse Volbert)
US$393
US$367
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Le Duc de Praslin(Anse Volbert)
US$810
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Sun(Anse Volbert)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Acajou Beach Resort(Anse Volbert)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Lodge(Anse Volbert)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Ocean Bay Guest House(Anse Volbert)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
17
11
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
11
5
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We went for dinner only. Service was excellent, and staff very helpful and friendly. Good menu selection, but found prices to be very high in comparison to similar establishments in the area. Being a beachfront independent restaurant I found the "long trousers recommended" advice for men to be somewhat unnecessary and pretentious, given that Praslin is a relaxed holiday island. OK - not beach or board shorts, but smart shorts should be perfectly adequate. Food was good, but a little over-ambitious.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mulqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

Fantastic decor. Very clean. Just on the beach. Best food in Seychelles. Expensive (like everything in the Country). Elegant and chic. Don't go there if you want to be casual.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2008

Attitude is everything. My wife and I stayed here for one night, and took advantage of the semi-private "dinner on the beach". Perhaps we were still in awe over being in the Seychelles, or that our vacation was coming to an end -- but we absolutely loved this hotel.

The room itself was clean and comfortable. The style said "you're in the tropics, Baby!" The staff were very accommodating and helped us with all our queries about Praslin.

If we ever are fortunate to visit the Seychelles again, we will be looking-up Cafe des Arts.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank here_in_calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2006

Our experience did not match the many enthusiastic descriptions we found on the web and which made us book at the Cafe des Arts. This little guesthouse is often described as 'charming', which may be true to the extent that the owner has very nicely decorated her own apartment, which serves as a sort of restaurant in the evenings. We were rather disappointed by the one-star standard it is offering and found this place overpriced, compared to other resorts in the Seychelles of the same price category.

Before coming to the Cafe des Arts we had stayed at a wonderful resort (Le Domain de l'Orangeraie) on La Digue, which we shouldn't have left for Praslin in the first place. We would recommend to go to Praslin only for a day-trip from La Digue (if at all) and not the other way round. The athmosphere is so much more relaxed and nicer on La Digue, you don't need a car as on Praslin, you can go everywhere by bike, the beaches are much better, accommodation not as expensive and better value for money than on Praslin. It also does not have this feel of run-down tourist destination as most areas of Praslin have.

But back to the Cafe des Arts: We stayed at the 'beach-bungalow' for something like 4 nights and then moved to the 'garden-bungalow' for another couple of days. The beach-bungalow is kind of semi-detached, from the main building and lies directly at the Cote d'Or beach. Cote d'Or is one of the nicer beaches of Praslin but due to fact that it is lined with resorts, it feels crowded and does in now way offer the seclusive feeling you find on La Digue.

The beach-bungalow is quite a dark and worn-out room with a bathroom and a terrace. The view to the sea from the room's terrace is indeed very nice but the downside is that you share your terrace with the owner, which opens its part of the terrace to the other guests as well as other people for dinner in the evenings. So don't think you can just sit on your terrace in the evening on your own and enjoy the romantic view and the sound of the waves, you'll have to keep up with people coming in and out of the restaurant, passing in front of your terrace. But you may end up eating with the other guests the 25 $ per head menu anyway, since there are not so many other good restaurants (except for Laurier, which can really be recommended) in the neighbourhood.

The rooms in the garden-bungalow, which is situated right behind the main building, are nicer, but then again, we found them overpriced compared to the standard, plus they offered some nasty surprise with little insects crawling out from the matress to keep us awake at night.

To sum up our experience with the Cafe des Arts, we would have immediately left after the first night, wouldn't it have been for the rather severe cancellation policy that did not leave us much of a choice. If you want to stay in Praslin I'd rather try something else, perhaps around Anse Lazio, which is the nicest beach on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Hiroshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2006

This small "hotel" is really the best value for money in the Seychelles. Escpecially the garden room. A big spacious room with outdoor shower and veranda and private garden.
Breakfast is served on your private veranda and if you want dinner can be served here as well.
The beachroom is almost on the beach. Only a small
wall ( for protection for high-tide) is between your private garden and the beach. The other rooms are also
very nice but are a few meters inland and do not have seaview.
Close-by are a few restaurants and some some shops.
From the beach you can take a watertaxi to Anse Lazio
(One of the best beaches in the world) or to other beaches or Islands.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank FranciscusG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews