We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hide Away Holiday Apartments(Anse Volbert)(Great Value!)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Village du Pecheur(Anse Volbert)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Cote d'Or Chalets(Anse Volbert)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Cote d'Or Apartments(Anse Volbert)
US$225
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Aquario(Anse Volbert)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chez Bea Luxury Villa(Anse Volbert)(Great Value!)
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cote D'Or(Anse Volbert)
US$474
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$458
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Sun(Anse Volbert)
US$953
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$745
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,097)
Filter reviews
1,097 results
Traveller rating
702
276
69
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
276
69
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe des artssuperior roomtapas barhillside villahalf boardsmall hotelrecommend leanse lazioother hotelsfamily suiteseafoodgreat beachtropical gardenrooms are bigfour nightsnice poolwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 1,097 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in July 2012 as part of our honeymoon. Initial impressions were positive. The rooms and all facilities are located within well maintained gardens and the hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the main beach (beach ok - lots of seaweed and no bathing space and medium or high tide - much better to catch bus to Anse Lazio about 20 mins away)

Sadly Le Duc seems to be suffering from the Lonely Planet / TripAdvisor affect whereby prices get pushed up significantly on the back of good reviews, without any investment in customer service or infrastructure to justify the new prices (if you compare the prices in the guest info in each room with what's actually charged, you'll see that food and drink prices have gone up 20%!)

The rooms are spacious and clean with huge beds and a lovely balcony. however they are poorly designed - some windows have no curtains that fit so very bright in the mornings, the bathroom is open to the room, and also to other rooms looking into ours, so little privacy. To turn on the bathroom lights at night, the whole area lights up, thus waking those sleeping.

breakfast is very disappointing, with a limited selection. We'd recommend that you avoid the coffee (stewed) and omelettes (come out as scrambled eggs). Dinner is always a buffet (and trousers compulsory!), so if you want al a carte, best to walk into town. Be careful - this is down and unlit track and you need to cross open ground to get there and we never saw any security in the area to look after guests.

the pool area is small, and mainly in shade.

our shower didn't work properly and we spoke to the front desk on our first day. This was never mended despite asking twice more for it to be repaired.

Travellers beware! If you have not booked directly with the hotel or with a tour operator you are of no interest. We booked through Expedia and had a number of problems as a result. First, we contacted the hotel directly before we left on holiday and also from the hotel we were staying at before travelling to Praslin to arrange a free VIP pick up from the Ferry Terminal (as advertised on Le Duc's website). This never materialised and we were told when we got through to them to take a taxi instead and we'd be reimbursed. This cost €20 for the 5km journey, but when we arrived they refused to reimburse us. We also had an issue with the room as Expedia had booked us as a single occupant rather than double. This took days to get to the bottom of, with misleading and conflicting information from the hotel. Eventually they charged us the maximum possible additional rate of €70 a night.

sadly this is a no more than a 3 star hotel trying to charge guests 5 star rates. There are better hotels on Praslin and La Digue that will offer a much better experience. Avoid.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Rich_and_Sarah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertCotedor, Owner at Le Duc de Praslin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Just came back last week from a holiday as well and my lovely team who have taken so great care of Le Duc in my absence has put to my attention out of the hundreds happy guest over the short period of time that i was absent to only one complain which is obviously the one im replying now. Let take it step by step.
1. With the moon the tide changes and apparently the time that you stayed at Le Duc was quite a few days of high tide, but i wuld not agree "lots " of seaweed. With a 2 km of beach and only a few clients one must be very demanding to ask for more beach space
2..Le Duc is and will be always the best value 4 start hotel on Praslin island. its proven and atested by hundreds of clients that writes on trip advisor ect. Do you think we pay clients to do that..are all the good coments not real?? its your coments that clients will not beleive. Cant you see you are one out of so many good coments. Le Duc is an example to may other establishment in seychelles for the continued investment it does. We have just invested 150,000 euros in redoing our pool area of which you still not happy with. its the only Magna Pool in Seychelles.
3. Our Rooms are the most spacious and comfortable rooms as you say, and very modend thus some having an open plan Bathrooms aswas the case with your room , but maybe you are not used to saying in such modern environment.. I accept that. Oh By the way next to your bed there are about 4 individual switches for diferent lights and ambience, didnt expect a grown up to be taught how to use a few simple switch as we have never had this coment before.
4. In Regards to the shower... To our Knowledge nothing written in our maintenance logbook. Such a simple thing and you wait to write on trip advisor instaed of getting it sorted out at the hotel..Very strange
5. In Regars to Restaurant..We have two and not one. Reputed to be the best on the island. However you did not eat at the restaurants for reasons we beleive you were looking for the cheapest pizza around. Cafe des Arts is not buffet and alacarte with a wide selection and as for the main Restaurant Buffet is 4 nights a week only with 3 nights " table dote"
6. Finally..we have realised and has been confirmed by the Touroperator that you did book and pay for one person only and that you had all this planed up that you will bring your mrs and try to make her stay for free and when we found out , the reason for all your negative coments about us and frustration that you had to pay extra. Im sorry if your plan did not go accordingly but its unfair to criticise the hotel because we made you pay for what you did not pay initially.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The hotel is very pretty in every way, the staff is very nice and even handles extra orders perfectly (in my family there are 2 members with severe allergies, who when not able to eat the normal serving always got amazingly prepared extras without any fuzzing). A beautiful beach, not at all crowded!! - you even can feel its your own ;), is just outside the hotel and in addition there is a nice pool. The rooms are big, well furnished and very clean. I would come again, as I am perfectly rested and had an amazing time here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights here as part of our trip to the Seychelles. What a beautiful resort. The accommodation was excellent ,particularly the wonderful bathroom and the very comfortable bed. The villas are set in lush gardens around a modern comfortable pool area. There are only 15 villas so there is a tranquil exclusive feel to the place. Ponds full of huge colourful Koi fish and a little Japanese style bridge add to the ambience.
The staff were really helpful and friendly and the owner, Robert (incidentally of Irish descent), made a point of speaking to us every time he saw us to check that we were enjoying our stay.
The food was excellent and service first class. The young barman made us great cocktails and we would particularly recommend The Seychelle Queen! A local musician provided in house entertainment ,walking round the tables at dinner singing and playing guitar.
We had an amazing meal one night in Cafe Des Artes and would highly recommend the Sushi starter and the seafood platter, both gastronomic delights. The
Volbert beach , which is only a minutes walk away,is beautiful and we walked it's length everyday often only passing a couple of people. Beachbeds are provided by Le Duc.
We are already talking about our next trip to the Seychelles and Le Duc will be our number one choice. It really is perfect in everyday.
Thankyou Robert and all your lovely staff and Thankyou for the beautiful album you gave us on our departure. It will remind us of what a wonderful stay we had.

Room Tip: We had room 31'just a few steps from the pool,bar and restaurant.i think the upstairs villas have 2 bedrooms.ours was downstairs and had a lovely veranda area with plenty of comfortable seating.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chefereeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

First up we would like to thank the Le Duc de Praslin team for a lovely stay. After spending hours on accomodation research beforehand we decided to book the Le Duc De Praslin after reading all the good reviews. So much said, we haven´t been disappointed and the cuisine even exceeded our expectations.
Having arrived at the hotel after a rather distressing trip from Mahe to Praslin, we received a wonderfully refreshing and freshly mixed fruit smoothy. We stayed in one of the Superior Rooms on the first floor for one week. The room was spacious and clean (no insects what so ever allthough being surrounded by a tropical garden), a modern bathroom and a nice balkony with a glimpse of the ocean and a view of the nice and neat garden sanctuary. The beach and ocean were only a short walk away from our room, but unfortunately with alot of seaweed at this time of the year. Nevertheless it was a good place to swim and sunbath. We had beachbeds and someone who got rid of the seaweed on the beach in front of the hotel. Shops were in short walking distance.
Luckily we had half board so we came to enjoy the wonderful cuisine being either a four course menu or a buffet (the four course menu being better than the buffet). One night we had our dinner at the Cafe des Art beachfront restaurant with that little extra service and charme.
We indulged ourselves in the 25min complimentary massage in the hotel spa and allthough check-out time was 10 o´clock we were allowed to keep our room till we got picked up for our flight back home at 5pm. What more can you say!!!

Well, the only downside was a (water) leaking toilet in our room which was fixed at once after being reported to the (always helpful, friendly and striving) reception, but leaking again after a short while.
We made trips to the surrounding islands, with La Digue being the most beautiful. If you plan some boattrips we would advise to ask for Rolly located in front of Berjaya Resort (9:00-9:30am every day). A nice, honest and reliable guy who will give you a good price (speak directly to him, don´t book with one of the "beach boys"!).

Room Tip: Superior Room, first floor!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Just got back from the Seychelles, where we spent 5 nights at Le Duc de Praslin. We just LOVED it, from the first til the last minute. A warm welcome upon arrival, and a continuous friendly and very professional service troughout the whole stay. The hotel and garden are beautiful and so pleasant; the pool is crystal clear; the size of the hotel and number of rooms are ideal: you are not a number, and thanks to the way the hotel is built and the professionalism of the staff you have enough intimacy to spend a relaxed holiday with the people you are traveling with. The beach is at 1min walking distance, very convenient and worth the very short walk through the hotel garden, where nature will spoil you with something new every day. Garden, rooms and all facilities very well kept and clean! The food is just amazing. The variation between buffet and set menu in the evening is ideal; the quality and freshness if the meals remain top. Again, kitchen staff always present to explain to you what's on the menu of the day. The director is very friendly, is keen to know how the customers are doing, has eye for details and present/accessible for staff and guests. I'm trying to think of something of something 'negative', in order to make my comment more credible, but i can't. Honestly speaking, congratulations to management and staff. Very well managed hotel, keep up the good work! You make the difference by your eye for detail. Omnipresent Pleasant subtelty...

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurenceg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews