We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Duc de Praslin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Le Duc de Praslin
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

This is a very nice hotel - clean comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff, and the restaurant serves very high quality food. It's close to the beach, shops, and other restaurants, and (if you like scuba diving) only 2 minutes walk from Octopus Divers, who are also excellent. They are also able to help organise trips to the other islands - for example, I went over to Curieuse for a morning to see the giant tortoises, mangroves and the old leper colony! I stayed here for a week in January 2013, and really enjoyed it - I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are going to Praslin.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    236
    51
    28
    17
See reviews for
212
646
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed 7 nights, longest of most guests.

This hotel offers very good value for money on Praslin and the great attitude from staff and the highly active owner family is what we remember the most. Rooms are impeccable, the hotel grounds are compact but still quiet and relaxing. It is basically a boutique sized hotel with around 0-6 guests hanging at the pool each day. Small and affordable "spa" ( 1 massage room). The buffet food is very nice but still buffet and they are refurbishing their premium restaurant, probably closed another month or so (check when you book). They have giant turtles next to the hotel in a range.

The hotel is 20m from the beach and there is a guy administrating sun beds but be advised this is not like an organised beach club solution - you put your plain sun bed on the public beach and that's it, there is no service or waiters etc. There is a very good diving center 100m from the hotel (people travel across the island to use it). Bus station is a short walk and takes you to the port or the national park for 5 rupees (taxi cost 150-200 to get a feeling). 

We had lunch at the Raffles and walked through the grounds of nearby hotels for references and it confirmed our notion of the value for money at le duc, in all aspects. (I would most certainly avoid staying at Raffles)

But do your research before choosing Seychelles in general as destination. For the same money you spend in Seychelles for a nice double room and extra bed for 1 child,  you can get pool villas in Thailand with amazing spa's etc.

Here are the main pros and cons

+ the destination is still unexploited, there are really not that many hotels still and few tourists. You rent a car, go to a beach and it can really be empty of tourists. That is impossible in most other tropical destinations.
+ all locals speak English and/or French
+ wine is cheap like in Europe!

- seychelles in general for tourists is expensive like Europe - a far cry from Thailand for example. Hotels, restaurants, car hire, excursions, bicycle hire, diving - all is European cost level.
- the service at restaurants in general is slow and not very attentive - you can not be in a hurry on seychelles (le duc was an exception on this item!)
- From dec to feb it is windy and poor sight in the water. We saw turtle when we dived anyhow :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Family_Bjorkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We had a great time in this hotel. We spent two weeks there at the turn of the November and Decemeber 2012. Hotel is located close to beautiful long beach. On the beach, there were just some tourists from the hotel in neighbourhood and a few local people. We enjoyed being on the beach alone. The walk along the beach takes about 45 min. On the other side there are typical granite stones in the sea and it is possible to go there. We took a beautiful photos there.
Accommodation was super. I don´t know what to write more. Comfortable big rooms, new furniture, nice bathroom and quite spacious terrace, which provides enought privacy. Small houses with rooms are situated in the garden as well as the restaurant. Aroud the restaurant is a small pool with carps. The pool gave pleasant mood especially during a dinner. We enjoyed every dinner. The cuisine was excellent. A care of employees was also very good. We had all that we needed.
In the garden there is also a swimming pool with clear watter. The garden is full of trees and palms, flovers. To the hotel aslo belong a fence with a large turtles, which is on the way to the sea. We went to see them almost every day. It was a nice stopover.

I recommend this hotel for those, who loves calm and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms in the small bungalow in the garden are placed wery good. There is also posibility of chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karol_na_PPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyfada, Greece
Level Contributor
243 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at the old section of the hotel. It was the best room that I have stayed. Stuff was nice and eager to help you. Breakfast was basic but the restaurant was very nice by the pool with huge fishes. They can offer waffles with syrup. The outside of the hotel was great with the second best beach on the island. Behind the hotel there is a bus stop where you can take the bus to the rest of the island very inexpensive, fare costs €0.30.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magistros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

We stayed 5 night in Le Duc de Praslin in February 2012. The rooms are the best part. They are big with comfortable beds, very nice bathrooms. Nice balcony. We were lucky to have stayed in a room just close to the swimming pool as well.

The internal area of the hotel is quite simple, but still nice. The restaurant is ok. Food is good, but not excellent. The Cafe des Arts restaurant is excellent though! Really nice, tasty food, but more expensive!

The staff was extremely friendly. And I recommend the message, it was the best one I did for a very long time.

Overall a really nice hotel in Seychelles. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caio_Grynberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed in Le Duc de Praslin for 3 nights on the first leg of our holiday in the Seychelles. We had chosen the hotel after a lenghty search on the Internet. And we were not disappointed with our choice, on the contrary. It is a small boutique hotel set in one of the most luxurious tropical gardens, evidently of South-East Asian inspiration. Every corner of the garden is filled with luxurious tropical plants and gorgeous works of arts are spread all troughout the garden. This garden, and the pool and restaurant set in the middle of it, are really the big draw of this place.
But the rooms are also wonderful. We had opted for the rooms on the upper level and we definitely recommend those. They are very spacious, are very well equipped with an en-suite bathroom visible from the bedroom, a walk-in shower of huge dimensions, and a well-furnished balcony from which one can spend hours admiring the garden.
We were also impressed by the check-in. Once we arrived by the taxi, arranged by the hotel, we were provided with a welcome drink and handled all check-in formalities from the comfort of a lounge chair near the restaurant, while our luggage was whisked to our room. It was a highly personalised service, the kind of you normally find in the 7-star hotels.
One little drawback is the lack of decent restaurants in the neighbourhood. We therefore recommend to take half-board as the food at Le Duc's restaurant is excellent.
There is a nice beach just 50 meters from the hotel, with good swimming possibilities and stunning views.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Le Duc is a wonderful property hidden in a lush garden full of palms,flowers and colourful birds and we could spend hours just sitting on our terrace and watching calming greenery and listening to the sea from the close beach. It is a small boutique hotel with great local staff, who greets you with that famous wide smile at restaurant for the breakfast :) wishing you a beautiful day !!!
Breakfast is very good. Cheff at the live cooking station is ready to prepare the eggs exactly as you like it and waffles. Plenty of croissants and danish pastry to choose from, yogurts, fruit and always something warm like noodels,rice, meet, beens etc.
Rooms are very spacious with huge separate shower,which could accomodate family of four :)
separate room with toilet and bidet.
The beach with super white sand is just a steps away and you find those leaning palms and turquoise waters, which you could see in all travel guides around the world.
If you are fed up with the beach you can just relax by the pool, surrounded by tropical garden
and sip some of the cocktails.
We are very busy couple from the hectic city so we search for small, private boutique hotels,which represents local culture and people. We stay faaaraway from big hotels as we find it impersonal and one has no connection with the land of your host. So if you would like to explore and feel real Seychelles, Le Duc is the right place to be.
Hats off to Robert (the owner) for building and running such a beautiful property !!!
A very specilal thanks to Le Duc great staff, who took excelent care of us.
Will be back soon.
M&M's

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maukyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.2 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Villas d'Or
Les Villas d'Or
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Duc de Praslin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Duc de Praslin

Property: Le Duc de Praslin
Address: Cote d'Or, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Duc de Praslin 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an 'out of this world' location combined with world-class facilities and amenities, it is no wonder that Le Duc de Praslin is often considered as the 'Jewel of Cote D'Or'! It is set on Praslin's outstanding Cote D'Or beach in the Seychelles. The turquoise sea lapping the fine white sand of Cote D'Or beach is your daily playground - just a few steps away from your luxurious retreat amidst lush tropical gardens. Your ideal dream holiday becomes a reality with the widest choice of luxury accommodation and exquisite dining options. Le Duc de Praslin offers the holiday of a lifetime with true Seychellois hospitality and exceptional value. Extensive improvements and new additions to its facilities have won Le Duc de Praslin many awards to position it amongst the best hotels of Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Le Duc de Praslin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Duc De Praslin Hotel Praslin Island
Le Duc De Praslin Island
Le Duc De Praslin Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing