We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely overpriced, badly run, pretentious hotel”
Review of Le Duc de Praslin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Duc de Praslin
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Definitely overpriced, badly run hotel.
No hot water, or -if any- just a few drops.
The smell of humidity was unbearable.
Part of the hotel doesn't get the Wi-Fi signal.
Some rooms don't have windows, just doors (which you cannot leave opern because of the mosquitoes)
Some staff at the reception are very rude and unwilling to solve even easy problems. The service is below the international standard.
You can find something better for the same price or less. Don't trust the review on the Lonely Planet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank aletokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Director of Sales at Le Duc de Praslin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

We thank you for your comments and disappointed that your have a negative view of our hotel. We strive to provide the best service and we know that we cannot satisfy everyone at 100%. However, reading your review, we feel that you might be talking about a completely different hotel...
This contrasts starkly with comments made by Italian clients on 1st and 9th Sept who enjoyed their stay with us...
We will be delighted to allow you to renew your experience in order to change your perception. So if you are planning to come back to Seychelles we will gladly offer you a few nights stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
There are newer reviews for Le Duc de Praslin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon in the Seychelles. My husband and I were made very welcome and offered a refreshing juice drink upon arrival. We were earlier than anticipated and the hotel kindly offered us to join breakfast too.
We didn't have to wait long before we were shown the honeymoon suite, which was beyond our expectations. A beautifully decorated ground floor apartment with lounge area on the front porch. As well as this, we had an enormous bathroom with a deep tub, an open shower area and a separate toilet room. On top of this, we also had a small private back garden with open air shower!
The breakfasts were delicious and we were offered a range of pastries, cereals and fruit. We enjoyed a bbq buffet dinner on our first night which was delicious too.
As far as service was concerned, staff were always in the background making sure our every need was met - even our beach towels were changed during our step out to dinner!
Upon departure, we were offered good wishes for the remainder of our holiday and given an artisan made album where we could store photos upon our return home.
Wonderful location within a two minute walk from the beautiful Anse Volbert, which is great for swimming but not as great for snorkeling or diving (we chose La Digue for this).
All in all, an amazing honeymoon experience!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LittleMissMinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Oh my! How lucky were we to stay here! The place, the staff, the food, the location and even the entertainment were brilliant.
We stayed here for eight nights and we had a fantastic time. We drank and ate when we wanted and it was a great experience. We relaxed at the poolside our entire stay and we were uninterrupted by the staff or other guests. A late afternoon drink an early evening drink it was so relaxing I would recommend Le Duc to anyone and everyone.
Mr Robert and his team cannot do enough for you. They are at your service 24 hours a day. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were very, very good.
In short, we had a superb time and we will return!!!
Close to the beach, other eateries, shops ( minimarts) and ATMs. Give it a try! About 15 mins from the ferry terminal which cost 250 rupees.

Room Tip: Main rooms are worth asking for.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in a superior room for seven nights in July 2014.

Our room was spacious and nicely decorated. The toilet, however, was not clean enough, and we did not like the fact that there was no door between the bathroom area and the room itself. The balcony is unfortunately only semi-private, meaning not completely separated from the neighbour’s balcony (see photo).

Le Duc’s website clearly claims to serve dinner as buffet four times a week following different themes. We emailed to Le Duc prior to our booking to make sure to find enough choice at the buffet and the menu-style dinner as we are vegetarians and they answered there would be a good variety of vegetarian food on both the buffet and the menu. So fine, we were really looking forward! But then…..what a disappointment – we spent seven nights at the hotel and got the buffet only once (different cold and warm dishes, following none of the themes announced). We were told that buffet is only served „when the booking situation allows it“, meaning at least 20 guests with booked dinner. We felt really cheated by this –the website indicates something different, and this is what you believe when booking half board. So be aware that they do not keep to their announcements! Getting the menu instead of the different buffets was such a great difference – a choice between only two starters and only two mains for non-vegetarians, no choice for us as vegetarian, no choice for the intermediate course (always soup), no choice for the desert. And really tiny, tiny portions. On top, food quality all in all was not more than average.

When talking to the resort manager (owner Robert’s wife) about it, she just told us we could order a main of our choice if we are not satisfied, but they will definitely not do the buffet....... Our recommendation: Book the bed & breakfast rate only and decide on site if to additionally do the dinner, depending on what is really presented.

We felt almost the whole staff to be tired and unmotivated, and not very willing to help.

We were doing different excursions during our stay on Praslin, but also wanted to spend time relaxing at the hotel’s pool and beach. The day we decided to do so, a staff member sprayed the garden and whole resort area with a horribly smelling and for sure not very healthy herbicide/pesticide - he was carrying a gas mask while doing it! Chemicals were smellable all over the resort until the rest of our stay the next day. When trying to escape to the nearby beach, we encountered the construction site at Cafe des Arts (restaurant also belonging to the hotel) which produced a lot of noise and dust from morning to late afternoon. Relaxing at the beach was impossible.

Last, but not least: the wifi connection is free for only a limited time per day (2 hours) and the internet is unbelievably slow (you can take a nap while the site is building up). And although otherwise claimed by the hotel, there was no internet access in the room, so be prepared to always go to the lobby.

This all is for sure not what you expect if you book an accommodation like this. Our conclusion: although the room and gardens are for sure nice and the resort has the potential to be more, it was all in all definitely too less for the high prices they take per night and the dinner deception is without any doubt simply a shame.

We would look for something else next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family and I spent 14 days in the Seychelles in January 2014. We booked two double rooms at Le Duc on Praslin for the main part of our trip. This decision turned out to be the best of our trip to the Seychelles.

As you can tell from other reviews and pictures, the Le Duc is a stunning, unique resort/hotel with incredible views. Here is what I think really sets this hotel apart from others:

Views STUNNING: The view from the beach is breath-taking. While there certainly is a lot to see and do on Praslin, you will not feel guilty at all if you want to spend the day sitting around at the pool.

Food FRESH/TASTY/INCREDIBLE: A real, actual breakfast is included in the rate with the best coffee we had in the Seychelles. Dinner could be eaten at the hotels restaurant or at the Cafe des Arts which is located right beside the beach. Both places served an absolutely fantastic dinner of local cuisine ( fresh grilled fish, etc.) The Cafe des Arts served us the best meal we had during our entire stay in the Seychelles. We always had live music with great voices during dinner and all in all a great time.

Service/Hospitality GREAT/EASYGOING: This is what truly sets Le Duc apart from the other hotels in the Seychelles. The managers are incredibly thoughtful, professional hosts who have created a beautiful, welcoming hotel. They and their staff anticipate what you need before you know you need it. They graciously share their local knowledge and can arrange pretty much anything you could want or need. They also are wonderful, genuine people who are friendly while respecting your space. The manager even invited us on a trip to the new apartments which are located in the hills and we were able to have a look inside and enjoy the view from up there. (Great place to stay for the next time)

Rooms BIG/CLEAN: The two double rooms we booked were connected with a balcony which was great. The rooms are very big and 100% clean, there is nothing to complain about. We were handed fresh towels as many times during the day as we wanted to. We could also use the towels at the beach where we had beach chairs reserved for the hotel guests.

The Seychelles is a very unique location and you are going to have to travel a long way to get there. Why go all that way and stay in a chain resort when you have an option that's so much better? You can spend a much, much more money at Four Seasons or the Hilton, but I am certain you will not have as unique and enjoyable experience as you will at the Le Duc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovetravels007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel located directly at one of the most wonderful beaches of all Seychelles islands.

GREAT: Very friendly staff, spacious rooms, excellent and large bathroom, clean, close to the beach, food was very good, very good à-la-carte restaurant, nicely integrated into the landscape, it's also very nice that the management employs only Seychelles inhabitants as their staff.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Brightman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here from May 2nd to 9th which covered my 50th and our wedding anniversary. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and a surprise birthday cake was on our table to greet us at breakfast on the day, we had not made a point of highlighting the date. The coffee was good as was the breakfast selection, my fresh omelettes exactly what I wanted
We stayed in one of the older Creole style chalets which for us was perfect, authentic feeling with a covered verandah to sit out on and about a minute's walk to the beach, and five to the dive centre that Sandie used.
Can not comment on the evening meal as we tended to eat out early and only one course so buffets are too much for us.
The location is great, the hotel well maintained and run by Robert and his staff and we would have no hesitation on returning or recommending it.
Thank you for a relaxed stay

Phil and Sandie Hardwick

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglishExile64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.2 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,039 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Anse Volbert
391 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Les Villas d'Or
Les Villas d'Or
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Duc de Praslin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Duc de Praslin

Address: Cote d'Or Beach, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range: £230 - £605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Duc de Praslin 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an 'out of this world' location combined with world-class facilities and amenities, it is no wonder that Le Duc de Praslin is often considered as the 'Jewel of Cote D'Or'! It is set on Praslin's outstanding Cote D'Or beach in the Seychelles. The turquoise sea lapping the fine white sand of Cote D'Or beach is your daily playground - just a few steps away from your luxurious retreat amidst lush tropical gardens. Your ideal dream holiday becomes a reality with the widest choice of luxury accommodation and exquisite dining options. Le Duc de Praslin offers the holiday of a lifetime with true Seychellois hospitality and exceptional value. Extensive improvements and new additions to its facilities have won Le Duc de Praslin many awards to position it amongst the best hotels of Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Duc de Praslin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Duc De Praslin Hotel Praslin Island
Le Duc De Praslin Island
Le Duc De Praslin Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing