We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality price ratio...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Duc de Praslin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Duc de Praslin
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Cordemais, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good quality price ratio...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

For a 4 stars hotel, this is a good deal.
Service was nice. Foods was of a very good standing. Our room like many others was too close to the bar & dining area, so you always have to close curtain for you room privacy. They should be thinking to put wooden blinds.
The beach is nice, tough I would say the high tide in August was covering it by around 5 pm.
You can take a bus from there easily to go the Vallée of Mai and Anse Lazio...
You can go to the island cruise like Cousin and Curieuse.
Overall, it was a nice place.

Chuong & Karine

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxNumero11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    236
    51
    28
    17
See reviews for
212
647
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abberton & Langenhoe, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed at Le Duc De Praslin for 12 nights at the beginning of August. Le Duc has 27 rooms, most of which face the hotel gardens and pool/bar/restaurant area. Being a small hotel, Le Duc provides a limited number of services compared to larger hotels, which is exactly why we chose it. If you want to be spoon-fed daytime and evening activities and entertainments, look elsewhere. If however you’re looking for a very well run, well located, relaxed and friendly hotel, read on.

We stayed in a superior grade room, all of which are excellently furnished in a modern, clean, style but are also very welcoming and comfortable. The modernity of the rooms has not been overdone – the decoration, fixtures and fittings strike an excellent balance of contemporary but functional. Our room was meticulously cleaned every day, as was the rest of the hotel and the gardens. On this point, here are two observations that give insight into the importance of cleanliness and tidiness at Le Duc:

i) when we arrived, we noticed one of the staff sweeping (what I assume was sand) from a stairwell area with a paintbrush, in the manner that an archeologist would sweep sand from a fossil;

ii) Every day without fail, gardens and paved areas were swept what seemed to be continuously, despite the fact that to the casual eye there seemed to be very little that needed to be swept away

From our room the beach was a slow walk of just over one minute - as you walk past Cafe des Arts to reach the beach, it never actually feels that you are leaving the hotel itself. From viewing the beach from the sea, the offset of Le Duc (and most other hotels along the Cote d’Or) maintains the natural landscape of the coastline - only interrupted by one hotel towards the north-west end of the beach.

We found the service of the hotel to be consistently excellent from every member of staff. Robert, the owner, works tirelessly to ensure that guests are looked after. I’ve rarely seen an owner play such visibly active role in the day-to-day running of a hotel. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for Robert – on one occasion when the restaurant evening sitting was fully booked by lunchtime he still arranged a table for us, and he did this personally. His commitment to his hotel, staff and customers is a credit to him.

Every member of staff always offered a smile and a welcome – make some time to speak to Jones at the bar or George, who carries out hotel maintenance. Both are gentlemen in the truest sense of the word.

We dined at Cafe Des Arts on a number of evenings and would fully support other reviewers' comments regarding the quality of the food. Having worked in the city of London for almost 20 years I have dined in a number of high-end restaurants - Cafe Des Arts is comparable with many of them, and better in a number of cases. Yes, ppp is more expensive than other restaurants, but after each meal I considered it money well spent...

...which brings us onto the subject of value. I'd advise anyone visiting the Seychelles for the first time to accept that cost of dining is more expensive that you might initially be anticipating (budget at least 30% over what you originally plan) - Le Duc De Praslin/Café Des Arts is not an expensive place to stay/drink/dine when considered in the context of the Seychelles as a whole. Personally, I consider the cost of our room & breakfast stay (preferring to have the choice of where to eat in the evenings) and dining at both Le Dauphin and Café Des Arts was good value. As they say – you get what you pay for.

A few of other points, as an observation to previous comments:

i) during our 12 night stay we never at any point in time saw the television in the bar actually switched on.

ii) we only spotted one cockroach during out entire visit to the Seychelles, and that was on a different island...

iii) there was rarely, if ever any music that could be heard from the restaurant area whilst we were in our room - we did however hear on a couple of occasions the sound of muffled evening 'entertainment' (what sounded like poor pub karaoke) downwind of the Paradise Sun hotel further up the beach. We only heard this from the beach though, not from our room.

iv) we only dined in the Dauphin restaurant a couple of times (the food being good here also), however we didn’t find the duo who perform on occasional evenings intrusive. Roger, the singer, is also happy to allow ‘guest singers’ – so get up there and sing yourself if you think you can do a better job ;)

In summary - our choice of this hotel for our visit to the Seychelles was based on location, the small number of rooms and previous Trip Advisor reviews. The positive feedback is completely justified. If you're looking for a well-located, well run hotel & restaurants with genuinely ‘personal’ customer service, faultless cleanliness and an overall sense quality, I'd thoroughly recommend Le Duc De Praslin.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCW_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed at Le Duc at the end of our honeymoon. It was a brilliant way to end the holiday. It is located just behind one if the most stunning beaches I have ever seen in my life. We were lucky enough to stay in the honeymoon suite which was huge and beautifully appointed. We spend many happy hours relaxing on the balcony in the "love seat!" We had two amazing meals at Cafe des Arts and if you are staying at the hotel it is defintiely worth eating here as the food was probably the best we had in two weeks in Seychelles. One small grip was that even though we had paid for half-board and on booking had been told we could eat as Cafe des Arts, in fact, when we ate there we were just given EUR40 off the final bill which just about paid for a starter...that said, we had a lovely honeymoon meal there which was included in the package...I would highly recommend this hotel because of its location, but also because of its friendly staff - also the cocktail bar is great too!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starlight21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a 12 day holiday on the island of Praslin in the Seychelles and stayed at the Le Duc de Praslin hotel. The Hotel is truly magnificent and the levels of customer service and friendliness of the staff were fabulous. You always felt that as a customer you came first and this was emphasised by the owner/Director Robert Payet, personally speaking to all guests during the evening meal and also being around the hotel most days. The cuisine was without doubt the best we have ever experienced on a holiday and the Creole buffet was a real highlight. We have travelled to most parts of the world but believe that the Le Duc de Praslin Hotel has one of the finest levels of customer care of any hotel we have been to.
The Anse Volbert beach is approx a 2 minute walk from the hotel and is a magnificent beach for swimming and is really safe for children. I also dived with Whitetip Divers and would also reccomend them if your thing is diving.
The hotel also has a associated restaurant attached which is called the Cafe Des Arts which has a truly fabulous setting and again the food was absolutley fabulous! a very memorable evening if you want someting really special.
The hotel has recently been up-dated and the superior rooms are really superior! I would really recomend to all would be travellers to opt for half-board as this is tremendous value for money. The Hotel is quiet in the evenings, with Jones the barman preparing fabulous cocktails, so if you want a lively evening this hotel isnt for you but if you want a hotel with superb surroundings and levels of quality and food this has to be one of the best hotels around!!

Nick & Sue - July/August 2009

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick53Solihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalesund, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We stayed 8 nights at this hotel after 5 nights on La digue. Very nice rooms with garden view, but the mirrors & glass doors could have been cleaned better. 2 min walk to a lovely beach, and free sunbeds for the hotel guests. The hotel has two restaurants, Café des Arts is located by the beach and has great food, service and atmosphere. It's known to be the best restaurant on Praslin, so it's a bit expensive, but well worth a visit. The problem is the other restaurant Le Dauphin, which is located next to the reception. Here they regulary has live entertainment with a guy with guitar & digital jukebox, and a woman with a terrible voice. Together this sounds like karaoke, and is played way too loud. The service is variable too, the first night they forgot us and we didn't get the starters until 1h15min had gone by, but after that it went good. The biggest problem was sitting 3 meters from the speakers of the live entertainment and had trouble both ordering and having a conversation. The prices aren't very low either, but not higher than other places on the island, we just got spoiled at La Digue where the prices was 20-30 euros lower for a dinner for 2. All in all the hotel is worth a visit, just go somewhere else to eat the nights when they have live entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fruitbat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertCotedor, OWNER at Le Duc de Praslin, responded to this review, 8 August 2009
I greatly appreciate tripadvisor and i think it very positive for my hotel Le Duc de Praslin as we are rated no 2 on Praslin island because of the good reviews the clients write about us. But at Time as you are well aware there are funny clients that exagerates. The main reason i write is that i believe that the tittle that you have put out of this review is harsh and not true. Le Duc "dauphin Restaurant"is one of the best Restaurant on the island and Cafe des Arts our Beach Restaurant is known to BE the best on the island and thats a fact from all the previous reviews that clients have written. Please check past reviews and this client himself has confirmed this.....So i ask you change the tittle Nice Hotel with Restaurant Problem....we really do not have a restaurnt problem when we have amongst the two best restaurant on the island. Everyone else enjoys the music a waiting for the starter 1 1/2 hours is not true at all. I await to see a more appropriate tittle to this review. Thank you Robert Payet . Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

We went to Praslin between June 23rd - July 4th 2009 for honeymoon. Praslin island has a good location for island hopping and daily boat tours. We stayed at the Hotel Le Duc De Praslin (http://www.leduc-seychelles.com/) for 10 days.

The Hotel Le Duc de Praslin is on Cote d’or Beach which is one of the most beautiful beaches on Praslin. Le Duc De Praslin has a beautiful garden and spacious rooms. So nicely decorated that you enjoy spending time at the room and get rest in the big comfortable balcony sofa. The bathroom area is very spacious and clean. They come and make the room twice a day which is very rare in Europe and incredible service. We stayed in superior room (The price difference is worth it comparing to standard rooms believe me).

Apart from the room, the hotel has great food at nights. I definitely recommend staying half-board because there is no many places for dinner except the other hotels. And most importantly Le Duc’s kitchen is far good from a summer hotel restaurant, they service amazingly rich dinner, sometimes open buffet but a really good one. The kitchen is clean. We enjoyed the dinner every night and never get bored to eat at the same restaurant since the menu changed every day and the quality was surprisingly good. Also enjoy the coctails at the bar of Le Duc: Seychelles Queen, Cherry Blossom and LeDuc Passion, they may color your night with tasty fruit aroma.

Besides we ate two nights at Café des Arts Restaurant which belongs to the same owner of Le Duc. It is a seaside restaurant with a beautiful view of cote d’or and specialized on seafood (Monday closed, dress-code and reservation recommended but don’t take dress code too seriously it is not a snobish place just deserves nice clothing and trousers for a nice summer evening romantic dinner). I recommend the Seafood Trio which is a delicious plate. Also taste the red snapper when you got the chance otherwise you may get tired of eating Job Fish outside on tours and/or at lunch… The quality, service and the ambiance is really nice at the Café des Arts but a little expensive, you are on Seychelles after all…You may have a chance to meet Mr Robert (the owner of Le Duc and Café des Arts) who is very polite and friendly. He may also give some useful information about the island, tourism, nature etc. The reason I mention him is also you will see him working with the staff very often, he is always keeping an eye on the business which is good and effective on the hotel business in terms of customer satisfaction.

As for the lunch, Le Duc has a invariable lunch menu so you may consider to try other places sometimes. But never think about going to the restaurant called Pizzeria. That place is very dirty, lots of disgusting fly on your food, bad service and high prices. It is just a tourist trap in limited restaurant options around.

As for the excursions, I recommend taking the three island tour Cruise, Cuisine and St Pierre. That was the most enjoyable tour we took and a great chance to discover the nature of Seychelles. You meet the giant tortoises who are very friendly not like the ones you see in cages, they behave really friendly and interesting on their own habitat. You will also meet the friendly geicos, rare birds and tropic fishes on the way. The botanical view is beautiful and walking is fun too.

We also recommend taking the La digue boat&bike tour (prefer bike), it is also a full day tour but if you choose boat and bike you will be by your own without a guide. It is pretty easy to find your way around and the bike makes it more enjoyable.

For the Anse Lazio beach and the Vallee de Mai (coco de mer trees) visits, you can arrange a visit by your own, there is no need to attend any tour. Don’t skip Anse Georgette which belongs to Lemuria Resort with the golfing fields. The beach is very nice to spend one day, but I didn’t like the hotel (the beach is far 15-20 min walk and they don’t arrange any golf cars, they accept 10 outsiders everyday, I think they almost cut a forest to get golfers here but the snobbish ambiance is definetely irritating) anyway my husband (aka repairman beklan, I was reading one of Paul Wilson’s thrillers these days:) found a golf car and we didn’t have to walk all the way down and had a nice day at the beach.

It was a great honeymoon and a wonderfull summer holiday, we were very happy with our beach & hotel le duc de praslin.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozlembeklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

We spend 8 days on this hotel in the beginning of June.
The Hotel was recently refurbed so the rooms had that 'new' vibe, very trendy, all in very good taste, spacious, a great bathroom with a huge separate shower and a very nice tub.
It is in the middle of a beautiful garden, it has a small lake with a lot of Koi fish, very nice.
The balcony had a stretching chair for 2 which was great to chill out after a day at the beach close by, which by the way is probably one of the best beaches of Seychelles. Only downer of this beach is that you will probably be asked 10 times a day if you want a taxi boat to visit other islands, which is a must do, specially La Digue, that is amazing, but book with the ‘certified’ guys.
Anyway, back to the hotel, it has a small pool, but again very nicely setup in the middle of the garden, and besides, who needs a pool when you have the calmest turquoise blue ocean 2 minutes way from your room?
Just a word of advice, if you are planning on having meals at the hotel, be prepared to spend a lot of money, the food is great, sure, but is just not cool to pay 100 Euros for a dinner for 2 on a daily basis.
Anyway, for something special, try the Café des Arts, which is a restaurant right outside the hotel and from the same owners. It's worth it. The restaurant is lovely and the food is delicious.
There is also another restaurant very close by, which is much more affordable and the food is not bad.
All in all, this hotel is one of the best places we have ever stayed in. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.2 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Villas d'Or
Les Villas d'Or
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Duc de Praslin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Duc de Praslin

Property: Le Duc de Praslin
Address: Cote d'Or, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Duc de Praslin 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an 'out of this world' location combined with world-class facilities and amenities, it is no wonder that Le Duc de Praslin is often considered as the 'Jewel of Cote D'Or'! It is set on Praslin's outstanding Cote D'Or beach in the Seychelles. The turquoise sea lapping the fine white sand of Cote D'Or beach is your daily playground - just a few steps away from your luxurious retreat amidst lush tropical gardens. Your ideal dream holiday becomes a reality with the widest choice of luxury accommodation and exquisite dining options. Le Duc de Praslin offers the holiday of a lifetime with true Seychellois hospitality and exceptional value. Extensive improvements and new additions to its facilities have won Le Duc de Praslin many awards to position it amongst the best hotels of Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Le Duc de Praslin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Duc De Praslin Hotel Praslin Island
Le Duc De Praslin Island
Le Duc De Praslin Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing