We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but some annoyances!”
Review of Hotel Dar El Bhar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dar El Bhar
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
492 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Nice, but some annoyances!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights recently. Here's my mixed experience

We got a standard room, it was fine, nothing special, I was slightly disappointed - I thought the price premium wouldve gotten me a little more.

The staff was all very nice, and they really WANTED to make sure they gave great hospitality, but I think they just didnt know exactly what that meant. I mean we spent time at the Radisson Blu down the street, and the difference was huge - likely because all of the people at the Radisson were specifically trained on "Hotel Hospitality". But honestly the lack of this at Dar El Bhar made the staff awkward.

The restaurant is only OK.

Pool/Beach area are great.

AC was busted in our room, so they upgraded us for the last night - nice gesture and I appreciated it.

2 things really annoyed me. 1 - I was trying to buy something from a corner store and they didnt have enough change (I was trying to buy some water with a 10 dinar note - not like it was a 100 or anything wow) and he didnt have change. No problem right? Ill just go to my hotel. My hotel, after asking numerous places, bar, restaurant, reception, could NOT give me 2 5 dinar coins for my 10! It really bugged me.

Second thing. You cannot pay with a swipe credit card. In fact, our PIN credit card wasnt even working. Good thing I guessed that this wouldnt work and gave myself two hours to checkout, which involved walking 10 minutes to nearest ATM and making 4 transactions to withdraw 1200 dinar to pay for our entire stay. Oh, and the largest bill you get is a 20 note ha. Hotel didnt seem to realize that this was an inconvenience.

I didnt check prices, but if you could get a room for 2x the price at the radisson blu, id be worth it.

I am still mixed on whether I would stay here again...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilovecorndogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelbhar, Directeur général at Hotel Dar El Bhar, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
As General Director of the Dar El Bar Hotel in Djerba

I would like to comment on « Nice, but some annoyances ».
Your statement concerning my staff and their « awkward
hospitality » is unworthy. I believe that your comparision
with the Radison Blue is far fetched and out of context.
The Radisson Blue is an internationl hotel chainwhich
can accompany 12000 people, their staff are in-house
trained. The Dar El Bar is a family owned quaint hotel,
all staff are trained at the official Tunisian hotel school
and have all worked at the larger chains. We have only 27
rooms and we encourage a family atmosphere. Which by
the way Dar El Bar means the house by the sea.

The AC was not busted as we explained to you. For the
moment we are still heating until May as the nights can
get chilly. I believe that our gesture to upgrade made up
for your so-called inconvienence.
Second thing = It is clearly indicated that we don not
accept swipe cards (which are normally either Diners or
American Express). If your PIN card was not working than
that is a problem between you and your bank
nothing to do with the hotel. Most of our guests pay in this
manner.
As far as prices are concerned again with a comparision
to the Radisson Blue, there is no comparision! We are a
small establishment and privately owned. We offer a typical
Tunisian family enviroment. This all depends on what you
are looking for during your vacations.

I am available for any further comments.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    34
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
25
70
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have visited Hotel Dar El Bhar twice in the last month. We returned for the second visit purely because we were so delighted by the quality of service and attention we received from the staff. This is very unusual in most establishments in Tunisia. From the moment you enter the hotel you are made to feel like a VIP. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff go out of their way to try and help you feel at home. Everyone has a smile and all are charming - from the reception to the room service to the bar and the restaurant.

The hotel itself is very special. Nestling between the huge all inclusive 4 and 5 star places it is a little bit of paradise. The restarant where you have all meals has a wonderful beach side terrace where you can watch the range of activity on the beach - from camels, horses, para gliders - lots to watch but it never intrudes on the sense of calm tranquility of the hotel. (Ask them to turn of the music when you are sitting on the terrace and enjoy the sound of the waves).

The food is excellent (apart from the Breakfasts - unlike others on here I found the pastries a bit stodgy), but the chef loves his work and prepares good meals using local produce.

There are some things which are less good - the Saturday night live band is very tired and not great, reproducing western hotel mood music - but others enjoy it so each to their own.

Finally the place is a bit run down, the fabrics faded, the cushions worn a bit thin, some of the loungers a bit shaky but this does not stop it being a wonderful place to relax and enjoy all that Djerba has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the junior suites - they have lovely sea views and private terraces, but note that ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelbhar, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Dar El Bhar, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Google Translation
Cher StfParis12 ,

Nous tenons à vous remercier d’avoir pris le temps de nous transmettre vos impressions. Nous sommes enchantés d’apprendre que vous avez apprécié ce séjour au DAR EL BHAR Soyez assurés que vos commentaires élogieux ont été transmis à nos équipes.
Dans l’attente du plaisir de vous accueillir vous et vos proches à nouveau parmi nous très prochainement.
Bien cordialement !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights so really got a feel for the place. It has a very informal, relaxed atmosphere and we found it terrific value for money.

The rooms are charming and have a Tunisian feel to their design. There is a beautiful court yard and garden in the middle of the rooms facing inwards and there is a beautiful pool and grass area going all the way down to the beach.

The restaurant had nice food but when we arrived they just got a new chef who was learning the ropes a bit so to speak. The staff there were always very willing to cater to our every request and we felt they were genuinely happy to serve us.

The manager of the hotel especially was fantastic and made sure we always had everything we needed. We would highly recommend Dar El Bhar to anyone wanting a more relaxed, local experience to the big commercial hotels but still be located on the tourist road.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alwaysadventuringoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelbhar, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Dar El Bhar, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires et c'est grâce aux avis de nos chers clients qu'on est en train d' avancer, nous espérons vous revoir très bientôt a Dar el bhar

Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Very quiet, small hotel, located right on the beach. The room was nice but small for two adults and two kids. It has a SPA facility but it is being run independently from the hotel. Also there is another SPA facility about half a mile away from the hotel.
Very friendly staff. The cleaning crew is visible everywhere. There is a sport’s bar next to the pool and the beach. Great for daddy to escape to.

Room Tip: A room with sea view. This is usually more exprensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ibehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelbhar, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Dar El Bhar, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client, Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire ,et remercions tous les clients qui ont choisi Dar El Bhar pour passer leur séjour. espérons vous accueillir de nouveau chez vous ,a Dar El Bhar .


Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The hotel is situated right on the beach and has a beautiful swimming pool and a first class French chef and patissier! We had a very relaxing stay here and it was nice to be away from all the hustle and bustle of the big hotels on the rest of the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelbhar, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Dar El Bhar, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client ,

Nous vous remercions pour votre aimable commentaire et c'est avec un grand plaisir que nous vous accueillerons de nouveau parmi nous.

Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2010

What a pleasant surprise to arrive at this charming boutique hotel to be welcomed by friendly staff and such a wonderful atmosphere. The hotel is situated right on the beach and has a beautiful swimming pool and a first class French chef and patissier! We had a very relaxing stay here and it was nice to be away from all the hustle and bustle of the big hotels on the rest of the island.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexliverpoolLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Sidi Mehrez
2.7 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
1.8 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#3 of 103 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#10 of 45 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
5.3 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 45 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Djerba Les Dunes
Hotel Djerba Les Dunes
#6 of 10 in Houmt Souk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar El Bhar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar El Bhar

Property: Hotel Dar El Bhar
Address: Zone touristique, Playa Sidi Mehrez, Djerba Island, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Playa Sidi Mehrez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Playa Sidi Mehrez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dar El Bhar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dar El Bhar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dar El Bhar Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing