We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good beach, funny staff and pleasant hotel”
Review of Djerba Sun Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Djerba Sun Club
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“good beach, funny staff and pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My trip started badly, was not initially chosen this hotel ... however due to overbooking we were put in this hotel. The late receipt by dawn brought no good impression and in the morning the sea water and part of sandy in the hotel's private beach was "almost prohibitive" due to a enormous concrentation of algae. After several complaints from many guests on the two following days the beach was finally clean. Daily we had a visit of several horses and camels along the beach for tourists who like to walk with them, which has become typical and an excelent background for these holidays. The distance to the beach is about 5 min walking inside the complex. Also the food on the first day seemed very precarious and the idea that I was to be at the time of Ramadan, but that idea was quickly contradicted with a enough quality and also showing some variety in dishes buffet and show cocking presented. The animation team is very fun, making a great show alls nights and various activities during the day in the pool and on the beach. The better rooms are located in the villages within the large complex, are simple but spacious with shower and with a modern air conditioning, however the window frames of the roof remained entire stay without being repaired. The hotel have 2 swimming-pools, one biggest and other normal. The hotel staff is polite. In short, I liked and would back, bearing in mind that we are talking about a 3-star hotel in Djerba, Tunisia, and in time of Ramadan.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Epifânio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    518
    233
    90
    71
See reviews for
378
368
88
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Last year, we were in 5 stars hotel in Mahdia. This year we have chosen 3 stars hotel in Jerba island. Here is our review.

Room:
When we arrived we got the room with traffic view. The room was not good for us, so we changed it next day. We got a very nice room which was situated near the small pool, and with a view on the big pool also, one balcony and one terrace. TV with French, Arabic, German, Polish channels. No safe, fridge and hair dryer in the room. Rooms were daily cleaned. Towels were daily changed.

Food:
Be prepared for Tunisian food. For someone is good for someone not. Everything tasted the same for us. Breakfast is ok – croissant, chocolate cakes, French baguette, cereals, milk, cafe, jam, butter, vegetables, apple, peach, cheese, frankfurters, …
No water in plastic bottles, only big bottle of water but you can fill up your own bottle.
You should drink some alcohol in the morning before a first meal to avoid stomach problems. If you get the stomach problem, buy the tablets in the pharmacy. Good and fast busboy service.

Beach:
Sandy beach, clear blue-green sea, no palm on the beach. Beach bar – no alcohol in the bar, on the right side of the beach is a ruined old hotel, that is not good, break sun chairs, free windsurfing and water bikes and volleyball.
Sometimes the green and dark seaweed is on the beach, in the water. It is an island and nature, so you should be prepared for these days.
The sea is cold in the morning but very hot after lunch. Every day the sea was different. It depends on the weather. It is an island.
If you go to the beach, you must cross the public road. The security man is on the entry. Hotel beach is closed after 19:00.
Horse and camels are on the beach. Ride a horse and camels, it is a nice experience.
A lot of water sports near the hotel beach as parachute, water scooter…

Entertainment:
The night animations are only for french speaking, disco club was closed, british pub was opened for a disco, but the bar is very small for a dance, billiard is in the reception hall.

Used languages:
If you are french and german speaking it is good for you. A few people are english speaking.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Tarabulus, Libya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

It's a nice place, well located, focused in an all-in concept to mass tourism. The check-in was very bad, I was waiting for 3 hours and they were saying that sorry we do not have avilable rooms and do not rely on booking by internet and they said I have to call the hotel one day before to find out about my conformation, we arrived by 2h15m AM and the restaurant is prepared to serve us a little snack (we are about 2 persons), after check-in. The rooms are very small, ; our don't have bathtub but a shower. The.food was awful .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashraf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa Sidi Mehrez hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

It´s not a bad hotel. Clean enough, food OK. Its concept is based on mass tourism, for foreigners who want to have a ´taste´ of the arabic world, without spending much money. To me, it sounded too artificial, even the entertainment team trying to make Europeans feel like home there. It could be fun if you´re travelling with a group of friends. For couples, I suggest trying somewhere else. There are better places in Djerba for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maa34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jutland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel absolutely deserves its 3 stars - perhaps even a fourth. The rooms were nice and the food of a fine quality. Ofcourse you must be prepared to eat Northafrican food and not fishfingers and chips, but we all found it wery tasty and wellcooked. We found the staff very service-minded and kind. The only bad thing we have to say is about the sunbeds, they are really avfull, but as I started: Absolutely good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 7700Jutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I was invited there by a friend that has been there many times. Its my second time to a " All Inclusive resort". I feel a little bored in them with out any sense of adventure. I had just finished a two month adventure in India with a month in Paris and was ready for relaxtion. This was a great way to end a three month adventure. the food was basicly the same every day with something different added every day. The entertainment in the club was great. the aminators are great and are funny and very entertaining. with out them this resort would be boring. They have games all day interacting with the people The skits at night are are pretty funny even if you do not understand french. french is the main language in the club.
I understand the aminators are paid only 300 euros a month and they are there from sun up to sun down entertaining. They should have a general big tip box for everyone. But from what I understand that would not work as top level people would take the money any way. The only person I saw with a tip plate was the bar down stairs that give's out the free beer and coffee and sodas. I understand the day care is paid only with tips and people are very cheap. I heard one french lady left a 3 Euro tip after a week of caring for her child in the day care .staff are great and helpfull. Shopping- bargin for everything! Do not give the first asking price . Most of the stuff looks like its made in India or China anyway. look under the bar code or price.

Room Tip: They seem to have a varitey of options from basics to suites. There are two areas to swim,one seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slukaduka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

If you have read some of my other reviews, you may have noticed that I normally don't give negative reviews. This is unfortunately not the case this time. I've stayed at quite a few hotels and resorts, and experienced the All-Inclusive concept before. This time all my negative assumptions about eating boring tasteless food in cafeteria-like surroundings unfortunately were spot on!

The rooms:

Simple rooms with a bed, a chair, a small table and a non-working 14" television. Everything has seen better days, but I guess it's OK for a 3 star hotel, but it was not very clean. There are only 2 power outlets (one for the TV and one in the bathroom), but they don't work unless you are in the room. This makes charging cameras, laptops etc. difficult. The bathrooms have a bathtub.

The food:

The buffet is really low quality, and probably the worst I've seen. Normally I enjoy trying local food, but this was so boring and tasteless that I might as well just have stuck my tongue out the window. Everything tasted the same, and nothing contained spices what so ever. Everything was overcooked and most of it was even served cold. The bread was so dry that I wouldn't even feed it to the birds! The cakes were pretty good though, and the breakfast was OK with eggs, pancakes, salad (?!) and croissants. The restaurant only serves wine, water and other soft drinks. If you'd like a beer with your meal, you'll have to get it from the lobby bar, and that's pretty annoying. The same thing goes for a cup of coffee after dinner. The wine served is not very good, but some may find it OK.

The beach:

The beach was not very clean, but that may be different in the summer. Besides the garbage it seemed nice.

The pool areas:

The large pool was nice, but the animation team was a bit annoying. They play loud music most at the day, and arrange silly games and shows. The sunbeds are totally worn out, and if you have no intention of breaking your spine or ribs, then please don't use them! There is a smaller pool area as well, with no music and entertainment, and that's where we stayed most of the time. The sunbeds there were just as poor though.

The surrounding area:

If you like going out at night this is certainly not the right place. Besides a large casino nearby, there is absolutely nothing to do! No bars, shops or even a café... There is a marked in Midoun about 6 kilometers from the hotel. A taxi is approx. 4 TND in the daytime and double at night. If (when) you get tiered of the buffet, the casino next to the resort has a great restaurant. It’s a very nice place with first class service, very good food and affordable prizes. We had Chateau Briand for 4 persons and two bottles of nice local red wine and a large bottle of water for 150 TND. Please give it a try if you ever visit Djerba.

Conclusion:

This was my first time in Tunisia, so I really can't compare Djerba Sun Club to other hotels in the area, but I'm sure I will not come back to this place. Please note that I’m not the kind of person who pays for a 3 star hotel and is expecting a 5 star resort with gourmet meals. I will recommend everyone to find another hotel in Djerba to stay in or - even better- to go somewhere else!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lasse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Sidi Mehrez
2.7 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#10 of 45 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
5.4 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 45 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#3 of 103 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
0.2 mi away
Djerba Holiday Beach
Djerba Holiday Beach
#2 of 3 in Playa Sidi Mehrez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Djerba Sun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djerba Sun Club

Property: Djerba Sun Club
Address: Zone Touristique, Playa Sidi Mehrez, Djerba Island 4179, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Playa Sidi Mehrez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Sidi Mehrez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Djerba Sun Club 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Djerba Sun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Djerba Sun Club Hotel Playa Sidi Mehrez
Djerba Sun Hotel
Hotel Djerba Sun
Djerba Sun Club Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing