We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A birthday surprise”
Review of Natalia's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Douliana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Natalia's House
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“A birthday surprise”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Wonderful, beautiful, romantic, peaceful and quiet house and the whole village. We all three were more than satisfied. Vasso made us welcome with such an extra kind hospitality. She was like a good godmother from a fairytale, who made our stay very comfortable and easy. The breakfast that Vasso made herself, was generous and versatile. And there was also opportunity to swim in a pool. Unfortunately we had only one night to stay there. Next time we'll stay longer, so that we can experience more of the village. I can heartily recommend Natalia's House for anyone, who long for beauty, peace and quietness.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeva-Maija T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Natalias House is set in the tranquil and beautiful village of Douliana. If you want peace and quite this is the place to stay. Vasso and Andreas are wonderful hosts, when we arrived (after a 2hour delayed flight) Vasso had prepared a delicious lunch for us. Our home was a charming, spotlessly clean, traditional little house, with a beautiful terrace and garden. Our fridge was filled with fresh fruit, the best tomatoes I have ever tasted, Raki, milk, juice all the essentials that we needed. We stayed for a week but next time plan to stay 2.
There is a local taverna only 5 min walk away, tasty locally produced food in quite setting.
The location is prefect, a car is essential, but there are goods walks to do around the local village. There are lots to see and do in this part of Crete, Imbros Gorge, Monastery Katholiko, Aptera there is too many to mention.
The Cretan people are extremely friendly and hospitable.
Vasso and Andreas thank you, for making our stay so special and we will be visiting you again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I can only comp the review of SCSEngland. Vasso's hospitality is amazing. We spent a week here celebrating my good friends wedding which took place on the nearby Taverna.
One evening Vasso made arrangements for us to got to have a wine tasting (and making) in a nearby village which was a very memorable experience. There is quite steep and narrow, but beautifull mountain road which leads down to the child friendly beach at Almyrida, takes about 30-45 minutes to walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johholmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Natalia's Houses, Douliana,Crete.

We had a great time. The house was nicely decorated , very clean and perfect for a family. The hospitality was perfect and we felt like home. the location of this wonderful tratitional village was just 30 min. from Chania.

Thank you Vasso for your hospitality and we certenly want to visit you again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evanthia1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Natalia's House, set in the quiet "off the beaten track" village of Douliana is a secret we don't really want to tell the world about! However, Vasso and Andreas really should be congratulated on their wonderful accommodation and hospitality, and if you want a holiday that is away from the tourists, quiet and with first class "homely" accommodation this is a must to visit. A car is obviously essential, enabling one to visit the west part of the island - the major cities on the northern coast (Chania and Rethymnon) easily, and about an hour and a half away, the beautiful south coast. A small beach just a couple of kilometres away was very quiet, and with a couple of larger villages about 10 mins away for groceries, this is a perfect location. Vasso is so welcoming. On arrival we were going to go and get provisions to makes ourselves a meal - oh no! Vasso is cooking and insists we join her. Beautiful home cooked Greek food. This was the beginning of an excellent week. The house we stayed in was perfect. Excellent welcome pack, which set us up for excellent breakfasts (including her superb homemade marmalade). Four poster bed with mosquito net, "proper" shower - although we're more than happy with Greek showers - and hairdryer should you need it! Beautiful gardens in which to relax and listen to the cicadas and goats going about their business. Small pool, crystal clean, with sun loungers as well as a couple of sofas, plus tables/bar area. Always really quiet, relaxing and intimate. There's a very good traditional taverna about 4 mins walk away. Perfect for us but if you want a pizza that was also on offer - home cooked (they also did a delivery service!). There was another taverna right next to Natalia's House, but whilst there this had closed down. The mini market that Vasso runs has the essentials and if, as we did, you run out of bread, she'll give you hers! In conclusion, an extremely clean, charming and stylishly traditional home from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCSEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Following on from many of the reviews already written about this charming property, we have to agree: what a lovely place to stay! Set in the bucolic village of Douliana (a small window onto the more rural side of North coast, Western Crete), my husband and I awoke both of our two mornings to the sound of goats' bells drifting up from the valley below & the smell of wild thyme wafting through our window. Vasso, the incredibly kind hostess, did everything she could to make our stay an unforgettable one, from coming up with interesting itineraries for us (we enjoy wandering off the beaten track) to providing, free of charge, bread and cake to round off one of our self-catered evening meals (there are, though, also two village restaurants just a short, balmy evening's stroll away!) As we were staying in early June when the property wasn't full, we also received an upgrade to one of the larger - and immaculately furnished and spotlessly clean - 2-bedroom cottages. 2 nights really wasn't enough time here...!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloway, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We recently traveled to Crete,Greece for a wedding of a family member.We stayed at Natalia's where we were instantly welcomed like family by the Lurakis family. Their warmth,generosity and hospitality were unsurpassed.The beauty and comfort of our villa felt like home away from home. The mountain scenery from our balcony was amazing. After freshing up we were treated to a traditional Cretan meal by our warm and wonderful host Vasso. We can't tell how much we miss that food,I try to recreate it but it just not the same. The following night Vasso hosted a village party for the Bride and Groom to be. Everyone from the village was invited and everyone came.The music ,the food,the drink, the celebration is one we will always remember.The wedding was amazing,Vasso preformed the ceremony,and did a great job I might add. Crete has to be the best place on earth to get married the beauty of the island mixed with the beauty of the ceremony was the best ever.I consider Vasso a lifelong friend and will recommend her House to everyone I know,it is truly that wonderful. I can't wait to return! Love you all and miss you more! XXOO

Room Tip: If all the rooms are as nice as ours was you have nothing to worry about,honestly they are beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douliana
0.0 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#22 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forum Suites
Forum Suites
#1 of 4 in Chrissi Akti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minos Village
Minos Village
#13 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Douliana Villas
Douliana Villas
#2 of 3 in Douliana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natalia's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natalia's House

Property: Natalia's House
Address: Douliana, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Douliana
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Douliana
Hotel Class:3 star — Natalia's House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Natalia's House Douliana, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing