We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Those bad reviews are absolute rubbish”
Review of Viva Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viva Mare Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Eftalou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I am in Alkaios hotel right now and I can tell you that those bad reviews (that almost put me off when booking) are absolute rubbish. Let me explain why (I will share now some quick impressions and come back with another review after the whole stay at the hotel) :

1. First of all, the entire hotel is excelently placed right on the seafront. Unlike 99% accomodations on Lesbos (and on most greek islands), which have a road (in most cases that's the main road!) between them and the beach, Alkaios is actually a beach hotel. This is very important for families with small kids but also for anyone who doesn't like to watch and listen the cars passing by all day long.
2. The architecture is beautiful, the terrain is very well used and from the rooms and the restaurant you overlook the pools, palm trees and the sea (a splendid little gulf). The very criticized (in some reviews) beach is actually small and cozy and PRIVATE, the water is clean and the algae brought by the sea are far from being a nuisance. (at least in this period)
3. The distance from the hotel parking to the parking in Molyvos (where you have to leave your car anyway) is exactly 1600m on the road, measured by me with my car's odometer. From there you have another 200m to the main commerical road in the town. Granted, it's not going to be a pleasant walk if you do it in the blazing heat of the afternoon but it's actually quite nice in the evening. Most important, there is a sidewalk on one side so you're not going to risk to be runned over by cars. Also the hotel offers free rides on a bus 4 times a day.
4. Whoever said that the food can't be eaten must either have some interest in downplaying the services offered by the hotel or have totally unrealistic expectations from an accomodation in this price range. As we speak, the rates on booking.com for a double room with seaview in Alkaios in mid July (full season) are 60 euros with breakfast included and 79 euros with all inclusive. That means you pay an extra of 9.5 euros per person (and nothing for a kid up to 12 years who stays in an extra bed) for lunch and dinner plus drinks, snacks, icecream and so on). No one who has at least above average intelect will expect free cocktails and spirits in this price range.
As a matter of fact the food is better then expected (as I said, the bad reviews almost put me off when I was making the booking). The tzatziki is one of the best I've eaten in the whole Greece (and I've visited most of Greece) and generaly speaking the greek courses are well made and tasty. Again, I'm not someone with low expectations (you can check my other reviews) but you need to be mentally challenged to expect fresh srimps at 9.5 euros/person/day for the difference from all inclusive to breakfast only.
5. I have a very good eye for details and indeed if you go on hollyday to check out if the repairmen placed well the silicone on the bath tub joints you're going to be disappointed in Alkaios. Someone like me would probably need 10 minutes in order to take 20 photos that, if posted here, would make everyone believe that the hotel is a ruin. HOWEVER these are absolutelly minor details that only someone with serious issues would pay attention to while being on his summer vacation. When staying in Alkaios you need to see the bigger picture, not that unscrewed handle of one of the drawers in the room.
The hotel is NOT falling apart as some people suggested here and on booking.com, the pools are clean and well maintained, the rooms are nice and clean. All the shortcomings (except for one) mentioned here are just MINOR details that can be fixed within minutes.

The ONLY thing that the hotel needs to replace asap are the doors. The locking mechanisms got upgraded (with card, self locking, shock absorbers and so on) but the doors are plain wood and offer minimal soundproofing. In real life this ammounts to the guests hearing the mechaninsm of the neighbouring rooms closing quite loud.
Good thing is that the people currently in Alkaios are not the agitated type that enter the rooms at odd hours during the night, but if you're a light sleeper you're definitelly going to wake up when the most matinal neighbour exits his room.

Generaly speaking I'd say that Alkaios offers excelent value for money, at least when booked directly or trough booking.com. Maybe the people who were complaning so bad got ripped off by some travel agencies...
Will be back with more details after the end of my hollyday.

P.S. DEFINITELLY get sea view rooms. The pic is taken from the balcony of my room, between the palm trees you can see two of the pools.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Optimvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

This beautiful hotel with a breath-taking view across the Aegean Ocean and Turkey in the background is luxurious, ideally situated and very well maintained. The many pools are cleaned on a daily basis and as with the rest of the hotel are beautifully clean and well maintained. The food is excellent and varied to cater for most tastes. The room is comfortable with a balcony overlooking the pools and Ocean. The people working at the hotel are friendly and engaging. A free lift into Molyvos and back offers the opportunity to explore the beautiful surroundings, enjoy the wonderful scenery and the various shops and bars. Molyvos and its people are enchanting and the hotel offers a beautiful relaxing atmosphere. Beautiful small birds compliment the surroundings and a bar by the pool completes the experience. Thanks to all concerned!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Very nice hotel in a beautiful location.
clean rooms and quite comfortable.
the view from the room was great.
The breakfast was excellent. (one of the best i have ever had in a hotel)
It is actually a 4 star hotel and not 3 star that it appears in booking.com.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel, great for a peaceful relaxing holiday. The views are amazing, the whole island is beautiful but from our room balcony and many other areas of the hotel you can see the coast of Turkey across the sea. The rooms are a little small but it did have a flat screen tv and DVD player. The bathroom has a drain (with cover) in the middle of the floor but this is because wet rooms are standard in Greece, they don't usually have shower doors but it looks like they have put one in to satisfy the guests (commenting on this as some other reviews mentioned this) and the rooms are very clean. Pools are beautiful, cleaned every day and it was very quiet when we went so no morning rush to claim a sun bed. The hotel is family run with a few English / Dutch staff working the bars. All are very friendly and couldn't do more to help. The only thing I have to say is that a nicer beach would make this hotel perfect (its a very small beach covered in dried seaweed which I suppose can't be helped). Molivos is beautiful and must be visited. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Firstly would like to say that Thomas cook are not doing a great deal in promoting this beautiful hotel that is located in an outstanding place where the view is breathe taking. More people need to come down and check this place out, highly recommended. The house keeping is great, staff attend and cater for your needs whatever they may be and are most welcoming. There was a good variety of food available, however on an evening there was plenty of broad beans as one of the options. Catering staff were always present, great service. The spa was sensational, again one to try however that costs a mere five euros for as long as you like, small price to pay for what you are getting. The gym is pretty small but it gets the job done. Overall, the stay at this hotel made my holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aliya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Positives: Nice location with lovely views of the coast of Turkey! Staff is friendly and very helpful. Free shuttle bus to Molyvos four times a day. Buffet style meals with plenty of choices, soft drinks, wine, beer and ouzo. Plenty of sunbeds around 2 pools plus a kid's pool, and a small sandy beach strip.
Negatives: Very uncomfortable beds. Small bathroom with a deep drainhole in the floor. I lost my footing a few times before I figured out not to step into it which was kind of hard as it was perfectly centered on the bathroom floor.

Room Tip: Room tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view if you don't want to overlook the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank labyrinthguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The hotel position perfect the hotel staff all so friendly and welcoming the cleanliness of the hotel again spotless all the pools cleaned everyday along with all the surrounding areas you could not wish a nicer place with any amenity needed . A couple of moans but not really enough to warrant a complaint with the tour operator 1 the food could be counted as a little bland with a few more herbs and spices it would be so much better 2. All the advertisement showed a flat screen tv and jacuzzi baths in all rooms which is not the case (probably a little petty in my part) 3 and the worst in my view dont expect the local rep to turn up could not be bothered to attend the hotel during our 2 week stay he could only be counted as pretty useless so dont expect much from him . Apart from that a wonderful time with wonderful staff in a fantastic setting just dont rely on the thomas cook rep

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank richJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eftalou
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Resort Hotel
Sunrise Resort Hotel
#1 of 6 in Eftalou
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panselinos Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Malemi Organic Hotel
Malemi Organic Hotel
#3 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
203 reviews
24.5 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Vatera
98 reviews
4 mi away
Clara Hotel
Clara Hotel
#2 of 13 in Petra
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Mare Hotel

Address: Eftalou Molyvos, Eftalou 811 08, Greece (Formerly Alkaios Hotel)
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Eftalou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Eftalou
Price Range: £36 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Mare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel “Alkaios” one of the best hotels in the island of Lesvos, is situated 1,4 kilometres from the ancient village of Molyvos, 1,2 kilometres from the hot springs of Eftalou, and 4 kilometres from the harbour of Petra. It has its own private beach of about two hundred twenty metres long, six swimming-pools (two of those ideal for children), and twenty three square meters of surrounding area, with two playgrounds, two lounge areas, restaurant and bars. The upgraded services plus the superb location of the hotel, combined with a dramatic view of the Aegean Sea, qualifies it as the best choice for enjoying your vacations, vacations that you will never forget.Room descriptionAll rooms are equipped with anatomic beds with double layer mattresses (soft-hard), and have balconies that offer an amazing view of the Aegean sea, or of the garden. Furthermore, all rooms are equipped with all technological facilities such as: A/C, T.V., D.V.D., wirelless Internet Access, telephone, and doors with magnetic lock.All bathrooms are made of marble, with hidden lighting,and some of them are equipped with Jacuzzi bathtubs, or hydro-massage columns that will offer you moments of relaxation in your personal space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Viva Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Mare Hotel Lesbos/Eftalou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing