We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A paradise!Superb views!soul healing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aegagros Caldera Houses
Ranked #6 of 8 Megalochori B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A paradise!Superb views!soul healing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Staying at Aegagros Caldera Houses has been a wonderful gift after going through a long winter in Brussels. As soon as you land in Santorini your mind is sending you indications to shrug off all the negative backpack accumulated during the entire year and enjoy the experience. While arriving to Aegagros Caldera Houses you realise that your mind is flying away and you start to relax fully. We stayed at the studio overlooking the cliff and the caldera. I don't have words to describe it. I’ve never had a better wakeup call in the mornings as to look through the windows and observe the ships/cruises arriving to the port. I felt like in a life-travelling experience thinking how many writers could have been inspired by this beautiful scenery from the early morning to the late night. I could imagine Neruda, Isabel Allende, Mario Vargas Llosa, Gabriel García Marquez or Juan Ramon Jimenez getting inspired by the magnificent scenery…Not to mention the wonderful crew running this dream experience! As I walked in the houses I felt pampered by the super friendly staff. Popi and her team are always there to help you and to make sure that you are having a wonderful time. For those lovers of enjoying a nice breakfast with a super view, this is your place. Every day you will get a different variety of salty and sweet greek food as well as fresh juices and season fruits. Of course everything is Organic food, as we would call it nowadays...

In general, I would recommend staying at the Houses for the sunsets. Of course there are other places to enjoy the nice sunsets like at the Vlihada beach, Ammudi (others like Oia might be too packed). Furthermore, the sunsets at Aegagros are very special, perhaps one of the most quiet and spiritual views you could get in the island!

I was lucky enough to arrive in the middle of August when the Vendema party takes place. I step on the grapes and also observed how to produce the wine, it was a very nice experience.

If you are looking for an inspiring place where to get rid of the stress accumulated during a long winter or you are going through a difficult life experience, I really recommend you this place.
You don’t need to go to India or Asia to meditate and reflect about your life. Katherina can pamper you and give you a good treat with esthetical treatments, massages or also a Reiki experience.
BIG thank you to all the crew at Aegagros Houses!!!
Best,
Rebeca

Room Tip: Any both the houses are special. The studio or the the second floor rooms with a terrace are my favo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebekaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

You can take pictures of the view all day long, lounge on your private patio, indulge in the amazing food prepared by Anastasia or her wonderful mom, easily hop to different parts of the island, or just sleep in. Wonderful!! I can't recommend it more highly! (Family of five - 2 adults, three kids) Don't think twice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThorpFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We arrived in Aegagros Caldera Houses very early in the morning and it was as entering in a Paradise site....
It is situated in a wonderful place with a fantastic view. The house is really nice and you can see there is a deep attention to details; you feel like you are arrived in your aunt summer house.
Every house has his own terrace and tables and outside sofa were you can relax reading a book watching the sea view from the garden full of nice colored flowers.
Katerina, the owner, is a nice and wonderful person. She delighted us with her own made special breakfasts. Every day different Greek specialities to taste. She were at our disposal for any information about the island and I really thank her for her warm way to welcome us.
I really suggest to stay in Aegagros House to who want a relaxing, peaceful and outside touristic noise places.
For sure I will come back.
Thank to you, I will have great memories about Santorini island.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra_VRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We definitely couldn't find a better place to enjoy the magic sunset and caldera that Santorini is well known about it! Very peace and quiet, feeling the nature calling you and at the same time close to Fira for noise and fun.
Hospitality from warm people who really care about your needs and know how to make you feel unique by spoiling you with homemade bread, marmelades and much more goodies for breakfast. Clean and tidy rooms well decorated, each one totally different from the other! Definitely a place to visit in every opportunity!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athanasia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Well I stayed to Aegagros during Easter vacation and I must say I really enjoyed myself!! The room was perfect a combination of traditional and modern decoration!!The location is very nice the view is amazing if you choose to stay there do not forget to take your camera! Also I would like to add that the hosts were very nice and made me feel like home! I definitely visit Aegagros again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stavroula p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

The first time I visited Aegagros place, it was night when we arrived. The hosts welcomed us warmly and the first impression was very good.
But when I wake up next day, oh god, it was a big surprise the view I had in front of me when I opened the window: I stayed breathless!
And the breakfast a little later: fabulous!
And the overall stay for the whole week: wonderful! I felt like home. The hosts were always there whenever we needed something.
It is worthwhile to visit it!
Looking forward to go back again!

Room Tip: in front suites are large and sunny with fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dioni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

A small note to add to the raving reviews of staying @ Aegagros: the comfort of the houses, the quiet location, the kind of tourism which is promoted, the outstanding level of service and the wonderful sea view made it all worthwhile, and I must add that the excellent breakfast was exceptionally good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurore1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Megalochori
0.2 mi away
Suites of the Gods Spa Hotel
Suites of the Gods Spa Hotel
#5 of 7 in Megalochori
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alti Santorini Suites
Alti Santorini Suites
#2 of 7 in Megalochori
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Volcano View Hotel Santorini
0.8 mi away
Calderas Dolphin Suites
Calderas Dolphin Suites
#3 of 7 in Megalochori
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 82 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegagros Caldera Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegagros Caldera Houses

Property: Aegagros Caldera Houses
Address: Caldera of Megalochori, Megalochori 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Megalochori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegagros Caldera Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
have a look at our promo video on youtube (aegagros caldera houses) Aegagros Caldera Houses is composed of 5 independent houses in a 1 hectare vineyard: Two 90m2 Villas, two 55m2 houses, and a 50m2 apartment built right on the cliff of the caldera of Megalochori village. Aegagros Caldera Houses used to be our own houses where we, as a big family, used to spend our summer holidays. Therefore, each house is carefully furnished and decorated with objects and antique furniture of the cycladic tradition. The Houses have now been transformed according to the needs of our visitors, trying as always to maintain the traditional character of the island. What we want to offer our visitors is a unique holiday which cannot be found anywhere else. Our aim is to welcome you and make you feel like home. To introduce you to Greek hospitality as once described by Homer in Odyssey. As soon as you will set your foot at Aegagros Caldera Houses be prepared: because you will fall in love with every little detail that composes this villa, its location as well as the people that will take care of you. With direct onsite parking, the house is unlike most other caldera accommodations. Many of the houses located on the caldera cliffs do not have direct parking and must be accessed by climbing many steps on a footpath, a difficult prospect for weary travelers. You will appreciate the private parking just a few easy steps away from your door, with no stairs to climb. LOCATION Aegagros is built on one of the most beautiful spots of Santorini, and is surrounded by vineyards and beautiful gardens. The area where we are located is calm, quiet, with a breathtaking view to the Aegean Sea and the volcano of Santorini. Megalochori village is only 5-8 minutes walk away, a traditional and very beautiful village with its narrow streets where you can have a walk and enjoy a meal in one of the local taverns and restaurants. The beaches of Perivolos, Ag. Georgios and Vlychada are about 10-15 minutes drive away, and if you like hiking you can take an amazing walk from Aegagros all the way down to the cliff of the caldera, to the solitary beach of Christou Ta Thermi. Pyrgos village: 5 mins drive, Emporio village 8mins drive, Fira town 15mins drive and Oia 30 mins drive. SAILING EXCURSIONS We also organize daily trips to close-by islands and solitary beaches with our 18 metre sailing boat. Visit the beautiful and solitary beaches of Santorini that are approachable only by boat, visit Anafi island, enjoy the sea and the sun, an amazing excursion out in the Aegean sea and around noon either cook with your friends or family into the sailing boat or try out delicious Mediterranean food to hidden taverns that will be proposed to you by us... Keep in mind that such destinations are known only among few people that love everything about quality and personal contact! RELAX, AND OFFER YOURSELF AN EXTRA TREAT If anytime during your stay you would like to offer yourself some serious relaxation, just visit Katerina our Relaxation expert, in a special space arranged at the Aegagros premises that is made just for your inner tranquility and balance. Let yourself go over Katerina's miraculous hands: relax, inhale, exhale, and experience a rejuvenating sensation with your body and inner world. Choose among a variety of spa therapies like a Thai massage, a beauty spa, a reiki session, or even a colorful manicure or pedicure… COOKING WORKSHOPS Experience Greece from within: In two and a half hours you will taste, touch, learn and live an amazing experience through our Mediterranean Cuisine Workshop. By using organic products and vegetables from our front gardens and a selection among the finest local products of Santorini, we will share with you our precious culinary secrets that will leave your friends and family back home speechless! Come and enjoy the most creative, colorful and deliciously fun momentum of your holidays that will give you the chance to experience the 'know how' of the traditional and gourmet Cuisine of Greece. At the end of the workshop you can enjoy all these delicacies you will have prepared at one of Aegagros' beautiful terraces. Each dinner includes a starter, a main course, a desert and a bottle of our home made wine. A CULINARY JOURNEY We also provide a delicious full dinner for our guests that includes: a starter, a main course accompanied by our organic homemade wine, and a homemade all freshly made dessert. So if you wish to spend an evening over Aegagros and enjoy the sunset and the beauty of the surrounding environment let us know a day in advance and the culinary team of Aegagros will take care of all your senses! MAKE YOUR OWN ORGANIC WINE AND BRING IT BACK HOME WITH YOU One of the best periods to visit Aegagros Caldera Houses is the period of the wine harvest. Aegagros is surrounded by gardens and vineyards and every year in the middle of August we have the Vedema, the wine harvest season, a really festive period where the grapevines have given birth to their ripe, juicy, delicious grapes, and are ready to be handpicked after having been chosen one by one. And what’s more: the whole exciting and fun procedure of the wine stomping with your own bare feet, an amazing sensation accompanied by traditional songs and sounds! Of course such a fiesta always comes with a savory variety of local salty flavors and with our own chilled wine or Raki! Aegagros Villas are perfect for families or friends who are looking for a genuinely private and relaxing retreat focused on the natural beauty of Santorini, away from the hustle and bustle of crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aegagros Caldera Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegagros Caldera Houses Santorini/Megalochori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing