We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Calderas Dolphin Suites
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for couples”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Highly recommended for couples. Megalochori is less chaotic than Oia and Thira and closer to beaches and fab food. We were upgraded to a junior suite from standard which was a pleasant surprise. The rooms are tastefully decorated, with great views of the caldera.

Highs: The view, the quiet, and pristine condition of hotel room.

Lows, but not that low really: Breakfast is average so use it as a simple refuel to start your day. Don't expect a delicious spread. Also, my credit card was overcharged on the first day which caused a few problems but it was fixed eventually - this could have been my bank's or Caldera's fault - not sure which still.

Tips: Go to the wineries surrounding the hotel. Boutari is just across the hotel but definitely go to Gavalas for amazing wine. Also, get a vehicle to get around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KomiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    12
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
121
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for a week. The views from the pool and balconies are great. Very relaxing. The breeze that blows on shore means that you never feel too hot despite the 32-37C temperature.
The Rooms are to a very nice standard with effective and quiet AirCon and good beds and bathroom.
The Staff are all great. Professional and caring, polite and efficient. Bar snacks are served all day at the pool and made us very relaxed - even lazy.
There is a small village a 10 minute walk away which had some nice outdoor restaurants. The roads around Santorini are narrow and busy and rarely have footpaths. A torch or iphone with torch function very useful!
Mr K, the Manager, is very good and ably assisted by Ares, Christine & Maria - who made a winning team.
The hotel has around 16 rooms and has a mixture of Nordics/Germans and UK mainly as guests.
Excellent English is spoken by all at the hotel.
The hotel arranged for a taxi transfer from the Airport for €20 which took around 15 to 20 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment a few months before our stay by contacting the hotel administration directly via email and paying the full amount up front via credit card as a discount is given for early payment. When we arrived at the hotel we were told 'you have been moved to our sister property'. The man made it seem like a normal occurrence and nothing to worry about. On further questioning he said that he just found out last night that the people who were staying in our room currently were staying for another week so he had booked us into another hotel. Not good enough!! We booked that room and if the other people wanted to stay longer, bad luck. They should be moved to another hotel, not us. I suspect they offered to pay more so that is why we got moved. We eventually accepted the situation as we had no other option. The hotel we were moved to was lovely (Grand View), but it was a stressful start to our holiday and when I book a certain room in a certain hotel, I expect to stay there, not a different hotel. Be warned.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Peach_Peach_Peach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

hello all,
was in santorini greece in mid july when it was proper summer time and ofcourse i got my share of the sun and tan...
coming to the review the hotel is about 5-6 kms away from fira which is the main town on the island
but taxis are available at 10 euros one way or a bus which is about 1.60 euros and ofcourse we hired our own atvs at a cost of 30 euros a day and had a lovely time exploring the island.
the hotel is right opposite a cash and carry store so mostthings are available like milk water food etc etc.
its one of the best locations on the island to live in. the view is unmatched and i would compare it to the sunset from oia or fira. all rooms have balconies. we were upgraded on two rooms out of three which was a pleasent surpsie and we stayed at two of the best rooms of the property with attached pvt terrance and jaquzzi over lookign the caldera so it was really the gold coating to the trip
the whole hotel is managed by 3 -4 very efficient staff lead by mr Kiriakos i will fall short of words for that man he can do everything and anything right from being a receptionist to helping you with tour arrangements care atvs luggage breakfast in the room and any errand was always taken with a smile and never got a no for nothing he is really hard working and very good to talk to and a great help at the hotel. thrre cheers for kiriakos and his team
lovely breakfast only goes cold by the time its served inthe room so that is on negative other wise all positives
will surely live there again
we were in rooms 1 ,4,5 which were all superior rooms and the master suite on the first floor all with lovely views and good ammenitites the hotel has been newly renovated and have lovey rooms great beds super space well equipped bathrooms and kitchenettes in the room.
cheers untill again.

Room Tip: 1,4,5 all on top floors all rooms have balconies over looking the caldera and the pool. newly done u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PARAMRAJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

All is perfect in this structure! People working there are really kind and always available. Our room (a Superior Studio) was very nice, clean, comfortable, wide and with great looking on the amazing caldera! Also the swimming-pool offers a spectacular landscape during all the day and especially at the sunset. We strongly recommend choice of the Caldera's Dolphin to spend holidays in Santorini!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MViccaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansund, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for one week in the beginning of June. This is by far the best hotel we have stayed in. The view was lovely and the staff where both friendly and helpfull. If you want to enjoy the sunset and view in a quiet hotel in Santorini this is perfect for you.

Room Tip: We upgradet to a room with an own jacuzy and did not regret it. Beuatiful view of the caldera and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sveinung B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This review serves as a warning to those wanting to travel to Santorini.
We had researched hotels in Santorini and found a great location at caldera dolphin. Upon arriving and after signing our prepaid credit card receipt, we were informed that our room was over booked and we were going to be staying at a sister hotel, the artemis suites (see our review). We asked to see the room we were going to have as to compare to what we were going to get but it was occupied and unable to be viewed. We were told what we were going to get at artemis suites so we headed that way. The room was not indeed what we were told so after a few really disappointed looks and comments they put us in the room they originally said we where going to be in. We were told initially that we would be here for part of our stay an then return to caldera dolphin (the hotel we originally booked) for our last night. A call three days later informed us that this would not be happening and in fact we needed to move to another sister hotel the Regina Mare (see our review)for our last night which happened to be in a different city north of Fira. This all sounds horrible but we rolled with it and though it really sucked moving around it all worked out in the end. The staff of the dolphin made sure to help us every step of the way. As you read more reviews you will find that this is not an isolated incident rather a common practice in Santorini. We rated this hotel a 3 based on our experience. I would have given it a 1 but the help we received from the staff in leu of our troubles makes it a 3. FYI the newly renovated portions of the property look beautiful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Dinner-For-Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Megalochori
4.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.7 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
1.8 mi away
Volcano View Hotel Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calderas Dolphin Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calderas Dolphin Suites

Property: Calderas Dolphin Suites
Address: Megalochori 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Calderas Dolphin Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calderas Dolphin Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calderas Dolphin Suites Santorini/Megalochori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing