We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience in Greece”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Our stay in the hotel was fantastic from first to the last minute. We came to the hotel from Mykonos, Kivotos hotel, and I could not even imagine to get such a good service. Initially we got the room which was not very well located – windows were on a road side so it was pretty noisy there – but the next day manager kindly offered us an upgrade to huge suite with personal Jacuzzi. Perhaps the only minus of the hotel is that you have to drive 10 min to the beach. However, given the hotel provide regular shuttles this does not make life more difficult. After we explored the island I understood that there are no better places to stay in Santorini.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

We had a fantastic trip here. Our room was wonderful and the property was stunning with lots of charm. The service was outstanding - the best I've had anywhere. The staff fulfilled every little request. This place is very special and quite a surprise!

SC

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed at the Vedema for 2 nights, on SPG points. As Platinum with SPG, we got upgraded to a nice suite, with a hot tub and a great view of the mountain and the wineyard.

We also got a complimentary bottle of white wine, which was great.

Upon arrival by ferry from Crete, the driver was waiting for us with our name well displayed. As we were the only guests arriving on that ferry, we were on our way to the hotel very quickly.

We had a quick lunch by the pool and we were on our way to the black sand beach with the free shuttle from the Vedema.

The hotel is very close to the small city square of Megalohori where we found plenty of opportunities for food!

We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We had a very nice 3 days stay at this hotel. Great staff, attentive management. As SPG platinum, we had a very very nice upgrade. We also received a complimentary bottle of wine. Fresh fruits in the room and at the gym. The latter is well equipped. Nice pool, though a bit small for the size of the hotel. The only thing we did not like that much is its location. Indeed, the hotel a bit far from Fira, Oia and the beach, although it offers complimentary shuttle to Fira and the beach at least 4 times a day. Overall, good experience, but it has a price : 500 euros per night !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAC_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

If you are looking for a hiddden gem this is the place folks. A wonderful spacious resort with all 5 star ammenities hidden in unique spot in Santorini. We arrived very late at night and we were greeted by handsome Alex the General Manager with champagne. There was a complimentary cheese and meat platter waiting in our room together with a bottle of wine courtesy of our late arrival.

Our room was spacious with a huge bathroom and private balcony. Concierge service provided by the two girls Lenera and Thodoia was excellent from renting a car, restaurant suggestions and a boat cruise which was the hilight of our stay. The even booked our boat tickets to Mykonos without us breaking a sweat. The complimentary shuttle to the beach and the town was handy and a nice touch. Breakfast was awsome with a wide buffet selection and a local character. We loved the cream pie and spinach pie. We ate at the cellar top on one evening . Food is very modern and delicious and the service by Dionysios was excellent. Dont forget to eat at Raki taverna across the road. Food is delicious. We did not like Fira that much. The place is overcrowded and dirty especially on days that many cruise ships dock. The black sand beach was a great spot and Vedema have their beach part which was great and very convenient. Overall we had a wonderful stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janie4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Okay, granted we used Starwood points to stay at this hotel free. And, granted after we complained repeatedly the manager upgraded us to a wonderful suite with a private pool and hot tub ... but it seems that wouldn't happen if we didn't complain aggressively.

First, some good features of the hotel include the free shuttle pick-up and shuttle to their section of the black beach, and into town. It is nice having access to the beach. Also, free laptops in the lobby is a very nice feature.

But, the air conditioning in our room was broken (no fun during late June) and the hotel acted like this was news to them at first. I suspect it wasn't. They did the same when we said a coffee pot was broken. We were told no relacements exiisted. But, after more calls a new one miraculously appeared, So, if you have an issue - be prepared to make noise about it.

The hotel will push their restaurant. We didn't eat there and we told by folks who did that the food was average and the cost very high. Instead there is a small restaurant (Raki) about a 90-second walk where we had delicious mussels for about $15. We were told Lady Gaga sat at our table a few weeks earlier.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JesseSlome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amousios, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at Vedema Resort. Your comments are essential for the improvement of our services and we have taken into consideration the issues you have raised.

We are very pleased you have enjoyed our complimentary shuttle service to the beach and the capital as well as the complimentary use of laptops in our business center section.

Referring to the air-conditioning issue in your Suite, kindly note that despite our efforts we were unable to fix the air-conditioning unit; therefore we have decided to upgrade you to our highest room type the Olympian Villa for the remaining of your stay. It was my personal gesture of good will as per the very amicable conversation we had together at the Front Desk.

However reading your review we feel that we are being penalized for resolving an unfortunate technical issue by offerring a double upgrade as a gesture of good will for the inconvenience you have experienced.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to Vedema Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alex Mousios
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Based on the information available from SPG, the hotel's site, and the Luxury Collection brand, I thought this was going to be a stellar experience. However, I wasn't pleased with what I received. For reference, I stayed at the Arion Astir Beach and the Grande Bretagne in Athens (both Luxury Collection) before the Vedema. I left and was penalized under the cancellation policy.. that's how motivated I was to leave.
1. The hotel is further from the main towns, has no views, and is difficult to access. The "complimentary" shuttle was infrequent and stopped too early in the day. Taxis were difficult to come by to get back to the hotel.
2. The private beach was more like a reserved chair at a public beach. The shuttle to the beach was also infrequent with odd timings.
3. The rooms were noisy with little keeping anything from the outside from intruding on your privacy.
4. The air conditioning was more like a less than hot breeze and was not remedied despite complaints to the management.
5. The stories of being mislead or misdirected to over-priced, low quality restaurants and attractions (e.g. tours, cruises) just poured from other guests without the slightest prompting.
6. The manager was pompous and arrogant and was only interested in talking after I compared the hotel to the Grande Bretagne (amazing, no questions, prompt service), other hotels (Mandarain, Four Seasons), and that I would be giving feedback to a influential groups who direct bookings to their resort.
7. The only good point about this place was the desk staff who helped me book into another hotel and get a taxi to leave. They have a special place in my heart.
I left this location after one night and moved to the Aigialos in Thira where the location, hotel, service, and stunning setting were beyond my wildest dream.
In summary - if I hadn't left the Vedema, I would not have experienced the amazing and unforgettable afternoon in Santorini I had at the Aigialos (top 5 moment of any trip I've ever taken in my travels around the globe).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bpresnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amousios, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at Vedema Resort. Your comments are essential for the improvement of our services.

Kindly allow us to underline the following regarding your feedback:

- Vedema Resort is located in the picturesque village setting of Megalohori in the heart of the vineyard region of the island. We do not advertise as a resort with cliffside views neither as a resort situated in the capital of Santorini.
- The shuttle service is a complimentary additional provision for the convenience of our guests and it is running on frequent scheduled times during the day, to both Fira the capital of the island and our private beach facilities. We were very surprised that you have used brackets for our complimentary shuttle since we do not charge for the service and it is indeed complimentary.
- Our private beach facilities consist of 20 umbrellas and 40 sunbeds including a bar and restaurant which is substantial enough for the convenience of our guests. Additionally the facilities are exclusively for the use of our guests and are free of charge.
- Referring to your comment regarding tours, cruises and restaurants please be advised that we recommend over 20 restaurants in the island so we can satisfy all guest perceptions and expectations from traditional local Greek cuisine, to fine dining and the feedback from guests over the years has been exceptional. The same applies for cruises and wine tours. Both have been the number one activity in Santorini as someone can check by looking on Trip Advisor.
- We believe your review is an outcome of our early departure policy, as you clearly stated upon check out that you would be writing a long review on Trip Advisor if we proceeded with early departure charges.

Kind Regards

Alex Mousios
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Megalochori
6.5 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
6.7 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.6 mi away
Calderas Dolphin Suites
Calderas Dolphin Suites
#2 of 7 in Megalochori
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
1.4 mi away
Lilium Villas Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini

Address: Megalohori, Megalochori 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Price Range: £254 - £548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away within the medieval village of Megalohori, the enchanting Vedema, A Luxury Collection Resort, has evolved from a 400-year-old wine cellar into an authentic, Cycladic-styled property. Vedema houses 46 spacious suites and villas, all with their own terraces and some with Jacuzzis or private pools. Dedicated to the needs of seasoned travellers, this family friendly resort encourages a sophisticated and relaxed philosophy for its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedema Hotel Megalochori
Vedema Resort Santorini
Vedema Hotel Santorini
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini Megalochori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing